We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly friendly and welcoming guesthouse, perfect to help you settle in to Soem Reap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Seven Candles Guest House
Ranked #12 of 496 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazingly friendly and welcoming guesthouse, perfect to help you settle in to Soem Reap”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Seven Candles. Staff were so helpful at helping us plan our stay and Kalyan in particular was very welcoming. The rooms were very comfortable, and the whole place had such a relaxed feel to it. Breakfast was amazing too! Thank you for having us!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JIOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    84
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
75
191
88
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

i love this place! I have recommended it to so many friends who have passed thru Siem Reap and this time I went back to stay there again. its founder Ponheary also runs her own foundation that benefits the lives and education of children in siem reap and rural communities around it. the new discovery this time was that Marina makes a KILLER vegetable curry on the upstairs lounge - probably the best curry I've ever tasted in a while (ever?).

the family that runs and owns it is very knowledgeable about siem reap and also all pitch in to help out the foundation. they also have the BEST tips on restaurants and places to take kids, and all those really helpful tips because of how long they've been running this place successfully.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmmsoymilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I can't say enough positive things about Seven Candles. Clean and comfortable rooms, cozy and inviting common areas, friendly and helpful staff, delicious food, AND you are supporting a wonderful foundation helping the rural children of Cambodia get an education. I will never stay anywhere else when I travel to Siem Reap.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lora G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed at Seven Candles as a solo traveller and I found my whole stay fantastic! Wonderfully friendly and knowledgable staff, great food, clean, safe rooms, low noise, great amenities and bathroom. Clean and well maintained. Liked the free water bottle refil available in the main areas so that I wasn't using plastic bottle after plastic bottle and leaving it in the rubbish fills of Cambodia. There is a little bit of street noise, but nothing that you can't sleep through and I'm a fussy sleeper, I think the swishing sound of the fan above my head blocked it out come night time.

Probably one of the best part of staying at Seven Candles would be that you are helping the Ponheary Ly Foundation to keep education the underpriviledged children of Cambodia break the cycle of poverty. Gotta love that. Lots of feel good factor. Can't recommend this place enough. Wouldn't complain about anything. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you like a quiet room, maybe ask for a room towards the back of the building. If you don't li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anouk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caronport, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights recently and I really enjoyed it. The place has a community and cozy feeling to it and the staff are quite friendly. It was great being able to use my balcony when I needed some downtime. They also provide free water (which is a plus) and free pick-up. It may seem far from everything but honestly, it is only a 10 minutes or so walk to the central downtown area. Likewise, I felt quite safe here as I was a single person travelling by myself. Lastly, it should be noted that they do not allow people to bring in prostitutes. Very family friendly :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynnea-E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at the Seven Candles Guest House from 15/7 till the 18/7 2014 and this place deserves every bit of bragging. Rooms were clean, equipped with basic amenities but its striking feature were the staff of the guesthouse. They go the extra mile to make you feel at home, wanting to help you in every way they can.
In every room there are brochures about activities in siam reap as well as a very well documented recommendation on eateries in and around the area. (This came is extra handy being the foodies we were :) ). Make sure to chat up with the staff as they all have amazing stories to tell. All in all, a wonderful stay with heart warming people. Will surely come back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed at Seven Candles for 3 nights in June 2014. We appreciated the staff arranging a tuk tuk to pick us up after our bus from Phnom Penh and we also used their tuk tuk services to get out to Banteay Srei and the River of 1000 Lingas, as well as a second trip to Angkor Wat and surrounding temples on our last morning. The staff were all kind and courteous and the breakfast options included my on of my favorite dishes of the trip: the Cambodian pancake. We found the walk to town easy but it's also easy enough to take a tuk tuk if you're worn out from walking around temples. Lastly, we took advantage of the laundry service they offer, as well as the pool at the Frangipani down the block. Great place and friendly family-owners!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Riversoul Residence
Riversoul Residence
#4 of 356 in Siem Reap
159 reviews
1.1 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#41 of 356 in Siem Reap
486 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Rose Apple Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Babel Guesthouse
Babel Guesthouse
#7 of 496 in Siem Reap
688 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mango Rain Boutique Hotel
Mango Rain Boutique Hotel
#5 of 496 in Siem Reap
373 reviews
0.4 mi away
Siem Reap Rooms Guesthouse
Siem Reap Rooms Guesthouse
#10 of 496 in Siem Reap
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Candles Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Candles Guest House

Property: Seven Candles Guest House
Address: 0307 Wat Bo Road | Sala Kamreouk, Siem Reap 092848695, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 496 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Seven Candles Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location 8 minutes walk across river to Old Market. Good AC and fans, en-suite baths with hot water, cable TV, DVD players and free movie selection, mini fridge, free wifi, and free bikes. On-site laundry service, free airport transfer on arrival. Tour guides and drivers onsite. Convenience store on the corner. Good local restaurants up and down the street, nice local vibe and close to everything. Seven Candles is home to the Ponheary Ly Foundation and three generations of the Ly family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Seven Candles Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Candles Guest House
Seven Candles Guest House Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing