We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazingly friendly place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cockatoo Resort & Spa
Ranked #74 of 485 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazingly friendly place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

This was by far my best stay while in Cambodia. Very tastefully arranged, relaxed and very friendly place. Meeting Peter and Virgil was the highlight of my stay - they are super helpful, great communicators and last but not least interesting and sophisticated people (something that the general atmosphere of the Cockatoo Resort also reflects!).Traveling solo, I was particularly delighted about such company and good conversations.
All in all very pleased with my stay, wouls love to come again!

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank mashenka_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    39
    12
    0
    6
See reviews for
25
58
59
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed at Cockatoo Resort for 5 wonderful nights. From the moment we were picked-up from the airport until dropped off 5 days later all our expectations had been fulfilled. Not only are Peter and Virgil the perfect hosts, they’re even more importantly kind, thoughtful and truly interested in making your time in Siem Reap all that you wish for. Both are interesting and well travelled, Peter is a photographer and Virgil a writer so lots of great conversations. The Resort is beautifully appointed with spotlessly clean rooms, gorgeous pool and garden (perfect after a busy day of sight seeing). Delicious breakfast, and evening meal, if you give Virgil a little notice. We had a wonderful dinner with Virgil and Peter and some other guests and it was like sharing a meal with good friends. All requests are happily arranged from tuktuks, tours to laundry. Will definitely stay here again and highly recommend to other travellers. Thank you so much Peter, Virgil, Tarzan and Rita for being so amazing!!! We left with smiling faces and happy hearts

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

This was my second time at The Cockatoo and enjoyed it just as much as the first 3 years ago.
My room was at the poolside which was a great setting to enjoy the beautiful gardens and pool.
Hosts Peter and Virgil were great as was Tarzan who drove us about to Siem Reap and The floating village. Lovely breakfast and all in all great value for money

Room Tip: The cottages or poolside rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scotty186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartsville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

So we were recommended this property by a colleague from work and I am glad we stayed here. The Cockatoo is not far from the Night Market (7-8 min walk or a $2 tuk-tuk ride) but the walk is through what seems to be a residential and resort area. Once you walk into the gates of the property, we understood why it was recommended so highly. The grounds were just beautiful. It is a home and so it definitely feels like a "home-away-from-home." We stayed in the cottages and they were just lovely. It was definitely big enough for two people. Peter and Virgil really made the stay that much better though. I actually stayed on the property much more than expected because I had a great time just chatting with them as well as the other guests. The suggestions that Peter and Virgil offered up were excellent and spot on. Tarzan lives up to his name and seems to be a genuinely happy guy-you see him about the whole property, as well as driving the tuk-tuk around. Breakfast was delicious and always served with a smile. In fact that is pretty much all you see (apart from the landscape) is smiles!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeut1722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

This was our second trip to the Cockatoo and won't be our last; it's like visiting old friends. Peter and Virgil have the absolute low-down on where to visit, who the best guides are, and how to get the most from your trip to Siem Reap. Try a photographic tour with Peter, who can show you the authentic Cambodia, and enjoy delicious food prepared by the masterly skills of Virgil. We enjoyed a wonderful New Year's Eve barbecue by the pool and consumed an immoderate amount of keenly priced red wine from Peter's carefully chosen selection. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SirCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We had a wonderful time at The Cockatoo. We spent New Year's and of course a few days before and after here and truly enjoyed our time. Peter (who is actually a professional photographer), Virgil (who is actually a writer) and their lovely staff treated us not just as guests, but as friends, and really helped us feel at home - from a really delicious meal at arrival and celebrating New Year's together, through suggestions and help on where to go, what to do and see in Angkor and Siem Reap… We truly enjoyed listening to their stories and connecting with other guests (many of whom extended their stays, unfortunately we couldn't given time constraints). The resort is well laid out, tastefully designed and furnished, and the rooms are nice. Yet this is not your average resort, it is a very special, personal experience and not too big either, which just adds to the home feel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyWhoTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

A boutique sized B&B located far enough from the noise and hustle and bustle, yet close enough to walk. Virgil and Peter are very hospitable owners. Peter helped organize an authentic cooking class and he made some local less touristy suggestions of places to see such as the floating villages. Virgil showed his true passion at not only making the guests happy as well, but also at cooking. When I booked my room, there were only 3 nights available, but Virgil personally remembered I had hoped for more, and he personally offered additional nights that became open. So 5 nights were well spent. The owners cared about everyone's happiness at the hotel. I now wish I planned fewer daytime excursions so I could have spent more time at their pool. What's also great about it is even on the days it was full, it didn't look crowded. It is so secluded that some tuk tuk drivers don't know where it is, but here is what I did: For my arrival, the hotel organized the pick up. Then the next morning, I walked to town, and noted names of hotels nearby, and then had future tuk tuk drivers bring me there, at which point all I had to do is point for them to them continue driving onto the hard to notice cul-de-sac road the hotel is on. I plan to stay here in the future.

Room Tip: Some rooms were right next to the pool, so ask if you prefer one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chefjohnnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.4 mi away
Steung Siemreap Hotel
Steung Siemreap Hotel
#97 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.7 mi away
Frangipani Villa Hotel, Siem Reap
0.3 mi away
Central Indochine D'angkor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.9 mi away
Hotel Somadevi Angkor Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Mango Rain Boutique Hotel
Mango Rain Boutique Hotel
#12 of 485 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.0 mi away
Petit Villa Boutique & Spa
Petit Villa Boutique & Spa
#53 of 485 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cockatoo Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cockatoo Resort & Spa

Property: The Cockatoo Resort & Spa
Address: # 104 Wat Damnak Village, Siem Reap Cambodia, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 485 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cockatoo Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cockatoo Nature Resort & Spa is a luxury resort, which is located in a quiet place in spite of the short walk to the old market, and Angkor Night Market. The Japanese owner has built the new building next door which called the Cockatoo ANNEX, opened in January 2016. There are modern facilities as cable TV and spacious room with a balcony, bathtub, Tea & Coffee Maker, safety deposit box, Wi-Fi, and Swimming pool. It has two floors only. We have a Cambodian staffs who can speaks a basic Japanese & English for"hospitality". Stay with us you feel like home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cockatoo Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cockatoo Resort & Restaurant Hotel Siem Reap
The Cockatoo Resort And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing