We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolutely beautiful place to stay with fantastic staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
River Village Manor
Ranked #38 of 507 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2011

From the moment you see this place it gives you that feeling you have just arrived home.
Matt the manager went out of his way to even let us check in hours earlier than we should have at no extra cost and it's things like this that give you a sense that you are more than just a guest but a friend instead.
We stayed at this fantastic peaceful place located near a river for seven nights in a deluxe room which was large,very clean and comfortable, free wi-fi in rooms,safe box, T.V. mini fridge and were sorry to have to leave after our seven days in Siem Reap.
This truly was the best holiday we have ever experienced and all thanks must go to Matt and his wonderful staff for the service they provide which was over and above expectations.
The food and service was excellent and the trees and surounding gardens give it that tranquil feeling.
Mr.Lay was our excellent tuk-tuk driver every day and night and "Ms.Thyda" was our terrific tour guide (which Matt had organised for us as well) . We had such a good time with these two that we invited them out to dinner with us almost every night.
As you can see, Matt the manager goes over and above giving the best advice, using the best possible staff,tuk-tuk drivers and guides and that made for a holiday we will never forget and we can't thank you enough Matt and can't wait to return next year.
A big thank you to Avi the cook for taking special care of us.(keep off the red wine though Avi)

Keep up the fantastic work Matt.

Room Tip: No tips as you won't find a bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graeme_maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2011

Room is clean.Food is Great.Remember the first day we arrive was about 10p.m.We were like exausted.Matt and his stuff not only kept the room for us but also served us with a quick and delicious meal.Matt had all his time with guests.organise honest tuk-tuk driver and help us to make our plan.Thanks to Matt for giving us a wonderful holiday.We really enjoy it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bauer j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

This is great place. Having travelled extensively around south east asia and east asia I was really impressed with the great atmosphere and helpfulness. You really feel like the boss and staff are old family friends. I felt totally safe, welcome and at home. Have a beer on the terrace enjoy a relaxed breakfast, or just a chat. The tuc tuc driver is fantastic. Altogether an amazingly good value gem.

Room Tip: The front two, ask Matt for Lara's or Indy's room and cause a chuckle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bummelnlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

This was a great guesthouse! The staff were excellent and Matt the manager was extremely informative and helpful in best planning our time. Matt can easily organise a tuk tuk driver (or guide if required). Mr Vana our driver, was very hospitable, providing us with water or an umbrella as needed. He was also happy to recommend places to stop, eat or shop. We were assured by Matt that their drivers do not work on commission. We believe him as we were never taken to an artesan market or silk factory etc etc.

The included breakfast is simple but delicious, toasted baguette and fresh fruit. There are other options available at additional cost, including an extremely tasty banana pancake! Vegemite is also on hand if you need it. We also tried dinner at the hotel on our last night, which was as good as any restaurant in town.

The guesthouse is a US$2 tuk tuk ride to Pub Street, or about a 20min walk. During our stay the main street/old market was mostly underwater, so we used the tuk tuk option to get us in/out. Food options in town are varied and the foot massages at Master Feet were awesome!

We stayed for 5 nights and tried to make the most of every moment! 3 days in Angkor, 1 day to Tonle Sap and the last half day spent quadbiking (Quad Adventure).

Coco and Charlie are also very entertaining... you'll see what we mean.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wooli3s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We stayed at River Village Manor in July 2011 for 3 nights and cried when we left. We felt we had made lifelong friends. Matt, Mr Sy and the rest of the staff were charming, helpful and so very friendly. The hotel was clean, homely and offered everything you really need, it was not in a touristy area but we didn't go to Cambodia to stay in a sterile 5 star hotel. From the moment Mr Than our tuk tuk driver met us at the airport we felt we were staying with family. Mr Than is one of the sweetest men you could what to meet. Matt is hilarious and always up for a chat, you can feel his genuine love for his new country and concern for his staff, which is why they work hard and are so happy. I'd recommend RVM to anyone. I can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kimberley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

After an average experience in Vientiane it was great to get to Matt's place again and enjoy the quality rooms, helpful and friendly service and great location next to the river village. Matt and his staff really make you feel right at home and give good advice as to what to visit, where to eat etc.
A hotel in Siem Reap would need to be special to beat this one in terms of quality and value.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank GraemeW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

My boyfriend and I traveled to Cambodia and stayed at the river village manor for several days. We can't say enough about how helpful and kind the staff and Matt were. I was a bit nervous with being in cambodia and all the flooding, but thanks to river village manor it was one of my favorite parts of Asia. We would definitely stay there again, and feel grateful for the positive experience.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CaptSkinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.5 mi away
The Rose Apple Boutique Bed & Breakfast
2.2 mi away
Bunyong Homestay
Bunyong Homestay
#1 of 507 in Siem Reap
230 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mallen d'Angkor Boutique Hotel
Mallen d'Angkor Boutique Hotel
#27 of 507 in Siem Reap
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Pleasant Villa
The Pleasant Villa
#72 of 507 in Siem Reap
43 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bloom Garden Guesthouse Villa
1.3 mi away
Golden Mango Inn
Golden Mango Inn
#9 of 507 in Siem Reap
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Village Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Village Manor

Address: East River Road | Slokrum Commune, Village Trang, Siem Reap 0000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 507 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range: £17 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — River Village Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the River Village Manor, Siem Reap most charming guesthouse. Family Friendly and Family run, our lovely three-story guesthouse is located on the Siem Reap River, and is an easy 20-minute walk or 5-minute tuk-tuk ride along the tree-lined river into town, or a short 20-minute drive to Angkor Wat. Why not borrow one of our FREE bicycles? its a great way to view Siem Reap and the Temples of Angkor. We have 10 spacious suites for you to choose from. Each one includes an en-suite bathroom, some with large bathtubs, individual air conditioning, cable television, new 32" flat-screen TVs, free FAST Wi-Fi and our famous complimentary full breakfast. All rooms are beautifully designed with original Khmer features which have been well maintained over the years, making River Village Manor unique and arguably one of the best preserved guesthouse in Siem Reap. Siem Reap as a wonderful, rewarding place to reside, and we'll happily assist you with whatever you need to make your visit unforgettable. With our combined experience in the hospitality business, and a love of meeting new people we'll help you make the most of your time in Siem Reap. We look forward to welcoming you to Siem Reap and the River Village Manor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your River Village Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Village Manor Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing