We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel
Ranked #163 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Varna, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Cosy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

A clean and comfortable place to stay. We did not have an access to a balcony ( a triple room). It turned out to be a problem in Cambodia as a whole. Balconies seem to be a luxury! Despite this fact, we had a pleasant stay. The staff are helpful and friendly. We did not feel isolated or in trouble. The hotel is a conveniet starting point for the temples and you'll spend most of your time on the temple grounds anyway.
The interior is traditionally decorated. The restaurants are 2 km away and by tuk-tuk it costs 2dollars.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Creamy7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    120
    40
    16
    5
See reviews for
71
125
35
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

Just got back from my trip to Cambodia, and stayed here at this hotel with friends. It may be a small-size hotel but nothing beats the personal service that comes with it. One staffer, Mr. Khim, stands out especially. His advice on where to go, what to do, what to take contributed in giving us a very seamless trip in Siem Reap. I've been to several countries but the hotel staff here is definitely one of the best.

I am also such a coffee lover, and for the first time in my life, I tasted the most amazing coffee in the world! And I thought the best coffee is from my country (the Philippines), that exotic Civet Cat coffee (Alamid coffee). It beats out the competition as well (Starbucks, Coffee Bean, etc) with its rich taste and aroma. We looked forward to breakfast each time because of the unlimited, wonderful coffee. We fell in love with it so much so that my friends and I just had to request one of the staff to buy us each a kilo of the special coffee from their supplier to take home to the Philippines.

Also, Shining Angkor is conveniently located midway between Siem Reap and the Angkor temples. I am certainly looking forward to coming back to Cambodia and staying again here at this hotel.

Thank you, Shining Angkor, for a great experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camarie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

Cambodia!? I had no idea what to expect. When I arrived at the hotel, I was immediately impressed with how clean it is. After 3 weeks in Thailand, its EASILY the cleanest hotel I have been in. Spotless really. My room is the cheapest version I think, but it is nicely appointed.

The staff is VERY kind, each and every one of them. The food in the restaurant was quite good as well. I highly recommend this place. It is a bit far from the Night Market and that scene but its a quick tuk tuk ride away. I rather enjoy having some distance from all that energy.

If I have one complaint, its that the shower head is very low. Like 4 feet from the ground. Also, it seems you get about 2 gallons of hot water from the rather small water heater. There is a bathtub but not enough hot water to come close to filling it. Rather useless.

Wi-fi Speedtest results (speedtest.net): 1.29mbps down /1.82mbps up

Wi-fi is free and although not the fastest, it worked. I watched a movie one night and the signal dropped about 10 times for a 10 seconds or so.

As for Angkor Wat, its a $5 tuk tuk ride each way. No big deal.

If you're thinking of staying here, do. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardPryde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013 via mobile

Small amd nice hotel, located at mid way between Angkor Wat and Seam Reap city center. The area is very quite and at a walking distance from the Children Hospital "Kantha Bopha", where you won't want to miss the Beatocello performance. Pool is quite small but nice and there is free wifi. Breakfast is quite limited, as you are supposed to order only one dish (no buffet). Staff is helpfull but could be more friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r0bert0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

A very good family room with comfortable beds. Very good value for money!!

The hotel was perfectly located between Siem Reap and Angkor Wat. Airport transfer was included both ways. Very easy to arrange tuk tuk and other transportations both to Angkor Wat and other places,

The reception was very helpful in organizing the different trips we wanted and also rented bikes. It was very easy and fun to explore the Angkor area by bike.

Good breakfast. Outdoor swimming pool , with limited place to sunbathe. The hotel restaurant was Ok for breakfast, but had quite limited selection for other meals. It was much nicer to go into Siem Reap for dinner.

The only suggestion we can make to this otherwise perfect hotel is to equip the rooms with kettles so that you can make your own coffee and tea.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PGOhlsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

We were picked up promptly by a very smiley tuk tuk driver at the airport, that couldn't have given us a better first impression of Siem Reap. On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by extremely friendly staff who brought us water that was most welcomed. The hotel itself is charming, very traditional decor which was equidistant between the temples and town. We were disappointed to learn that we had 2 x single beds, no balcony - despite booking a double room. When they apologised and said we would be moved the next day we were happy, however when we mentioned moving the next day the staff looked slightly perplexed and to save the hassle we just stayed in the room we had been given - we may have pushed further if we were planning on staying in the room more than we were. Whilst in Siem Reap my partner lost his iPhone - the staff helped us call places we had visited to see if it had been handed in which was incredibly helpful given our Khmer and international phone call rates! I would recommend this hotel if you want a friendly atmosphere, being near both the temples and town and comfy beds!

Room Tip: Check with the hotel prior to arrival that you are definitely getting what you booked
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lstage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

This was a fantastic place to stay in Siem Reap! I found the city itself to be little strange in its struggle between modernity and the home of the worlds largest and perhaps most interesting temple complexes. The price was very good - the city itself was expensive. Perfect location between the old market and Angkor Wat. The rooms were very comfortable and super clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebiG2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vannak, Manager at Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for your value time to write down your value recommendation on tripadvisor about our services and staffs. We are very happy to know that you had a fantastic stay during in our boutique hotel and also very appreciated your review and promise to provide friendly service to you again and also our future customers. Our teams would like to thank you and hope you will come back visit Siem Reap again. On behalf of our team, i wish you have a good luck and success in life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.7 mi away
Angkor Boutique Tropic Hotel
Angkor Boutique Tropic Hotel
#126 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kralanh Petite Villa
Kralanh Petite Villa
#146 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mudra Angkor Boutique Hotel
Mudra Angkor Boutique Hotel
#152 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Auberge Mont-Royal d'Angkor
Auberge Mont-Royal d'Angkor
#131 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kiri Boutique Hotel
Kiri Boutique Hotel
#127 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
#53 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel

Property: Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel
Address: 560, Group One | Kok Chok Commune, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shining Angkor Boutique HotelJust as the name implies, Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel indeed shines as the new boutique hotel in Siem Reap, Cambodia. It is a 21 rooms classy, traditional yet contemporary hotel nestled in a very quiet residential district midway to the famous Angkor Wat temple and the City Center of Siem Reap. Located in Siem Reap, Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel is a 5-minute motorbike ride from Angkor Wat. It has an outdoor swimming pool, restaurant and offers a free one way shuttle service to the city centre daily.Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel is 1.6 km from the Angkor National Museum and 2 km from Angkor Shopping Centre. Free pick-up services are provided from Siem Reap International Airport.Traditional Cambodian décor and hardwood furnishings feature throughout the non-smoking guestrooms at this Siem Reap Boutique Hotel. Each offers views of the greenery, and is fitted with a TV with cable channels. Guests can enjoy a body massage, or rent a bicycle to explore the area. With a 24-hour front desk, the hotel provides car rental services and free parking. Travel arrangements can be made at the tour desk. The restaurant serves a fine selection of local and European dishes. Outdoor dining options are also available.Clean and spacious with Khmer-style decor...All rooms are clean and spacious and include high quality cotton duvets and feather pillows, complimentary wireless Internet access, bathrobes, slippers, bottled water and bathroom accessories. The decor is traditional Khmer style with contemporary elements and elegant accents. The management and staff at Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel also strive to offer it's guests immaculate service to make every stay at Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing