We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll be fascinated by this beatiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel
Ranked #179 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2010

You'll never regreat staying on this hotel. It's really close to every attraction, the staff is amazing they really help you to put together an itinerary. The rooms are really nice. We were really glad we stayed there.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaK_80_PERU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

295 - 301 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2010

From the moment we arrived at the airport we were treated with friendly attentive service from the staff of this small hotel. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was lovely with a large balcony, comfy beds and WIFI. Breakfast good and cheap tuk tuk short runs to Pub Street for evening meals always available. Kim was our tuk tuk driver for three days and proved to be a godsend when planning Wat days! Super place.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madre-maquina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2010

Highly recommended. Best value for money hotel we've ever stayed in. Don't expect The Sheraton, but in many ways (not just price) I'm glad we choose this place and not one of the more high-flutin places.
Lovely decor. Wooden motif. Staff very competent. Always smiling, never pushy. They'd recommend a tour or restuarant but never trick you into taking theirs. We took their tuk tuk down town and then called them from the restuarant to come and pick us up - all free of charge.
They also didn't accept any tips (even those left on the pillow for the cleaners), which was great for us coming from a land (Japan) where nobody tips and has no idea whats appropriate to give!
The food at breakfast wasn't fancy, but adequate and the location is ok but not great (we got lost once trying to walk back once from town (30min walk) as its not on the map the hotel provides. But the place is only 20mins from Angkor Wat by bicycle.
Don't bother with tours, guides or tuk tuks. Do you homework the night before (the guide pamplets the hotel provides are more than adequate) and rent a couple of bicycles from the hotel ($2 for the day). The roads are easy to follow, pretty decent and its all flat land. A pleasure to slowly cycle round and yo don't have the hassle of some guide with you all the time. You can do the Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom and Ta Prohm circuit in a day easily.
The room was wonderful.. Beautiful teak furniture and a Khmer vibe. The orchid on the bed each day was a great touch. And internet access is available, but only one computer on the 1st floor landing. They also take you back to the airport in plenty of time by car, all included in the price too.
We'll stay here again if we go back. No hesitation in recommending the place.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Intercontiliga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2010

The rooms are beautiful, clean. And the service there is quite good. The breakfast is very delicious.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seba_singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2010

We stayed at the Angkor Shining Hotel for 4 days and when we arrived they wanted us to pay our stay upfront, which we found very strange. The hotel is located 20 minutes from the airport and around 20 minutes from downtown.

We did not enjoy our stay because we found the hotel staff very deceiving. They would tell us that we should not take any taxi (tuk tuk) from the street because the drivers are known to be drunk and can cause us harm. We found out that it was not true; they just wanted us to their take own transportation because they get a commission. At the end of our stay, we could not trust anything they say.

Also, they were forcing their tour guide on us, again because they get a commission, and when we refused they failed to book us another tour guide, which we asked. They suddenly forgetting our wake up calls in the morning. It is a nice hotel but when I am back to Cambodia I will stay someplace else. There are several other beautiful hotels in the area.

Also, if you need a tour guide, call the tourist office a week or two weeks in advance of getting to Siemp Reaps. They have a limited number of tour guides who are bi-lingual. Do Not hire the angkor shining hotel tour guides because they do not speak English very clearly or any other languages.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
2  Thank boston1aa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a great stay. The staff are so welcoming and the rooms are comfortable and quiet. We felt completely at home. Beds are comfy for SE Asia and the balconies are a nice place to have breakfast. Only downside is you cannot walk to Pub Street area, but the tuk tuk is always available and will get you there quickly. Definitely recommended. Throughout our stay in SE Asia, this was one of our favorite hotels and is good value for the money.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sskgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2009

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights and were treated very well. The rooms were decent sized but the lights could have been brighter. The staff managed to supply us with a tour guide and private car/tuktuk. Our guide Alin was excellent and knew exactly what times to visit the temples to avoid the masses! We were alone in a few of the temples we visited! Would highly recommend starting off early and finishing early when visiting temples. It gets so hot! The Hotel is not close to the main nightlife but the hotels tuktuk driver would come to collect us at an alloted time. There is no room service apart from breakfast which is nice and made to order to your room. It was very clean and we liked the fact there were no shoes allowed indoors.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMistry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
#66 of 361 in Siem Reap
653 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kralanh Petite Villa
Kralanh Petite Villa
#167 of 361 in Siem Reap
40 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mudra Angkor Boutique Hotel
Mudra Angkor Boutique Hotel
#158 of 361 in Siem Reap
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Angkor Spirit Palace
Angkor Spirit Palace
#188 of 361 in Siem Reap
450 reviews
0.6 mi away
Samatika Villa Boutique
Samatika Villa Boutique
#228 of 361 in Siem Reap
53 reviews
0.8 mi away
Achhariyak Angkor Boutique
Achhariyak Angkor Boutique
#154 of 361 in Siem Reap
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel

Address: 560, Group One | Kok Chok Commune, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: £21 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shining Angkor Boutique HotelJust as the name implies, Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel indeed shines as the new boutique hotel in Siem Reap, Cambodia. It is a 21 rooms classy, traditional yet contemporary hotel nestled in a very quiet residential district midway to the famous Angkor Wat temple and the City Center of Siem Reap. Located in Siem Reap, Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel is a 5-minute motorbike ride from Angkor Wat. It has an outdoor swimming pool, restaurant and offers a free one way shuttle service to the city centre daily.Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel is 1.6 km from the Angkor National Museum and 2 km from Angkor Shopping Centre. Free pick-up services are provided from Siem Reap International Airport.Traditional Cambodian décor and hardwood furnishings feature throughout the non-smoking guestrooms at this Siem Reap Boutique Hotel. Each offers views of the greenery, and is fitted with a TV with cable channels. Guests can enjoy a body massage, or rent a bicycle to explore the area. With a 24-hour front desk, the hotel provides car rental services and free parking. Travel arrangements can be made at the tour desk. The restaurant serves a fine selection of local and European dishes. Outdoor dining options are also available.Clean and spacious with Khmer-style decor...All rooms are clean and spacious and include high quality cotton duvets and feather pillows, complimentary wireless Internet access, bathrobes, slippers, bottled water and bathroom accessories. The decor is traditional Khmer style with contemporary elements and elegant accents. The management and staff at Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel also strive to offer it's guests immaculate service to make every stay at Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing