We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money in a friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel
Ranked #190 of 373 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2010

The owner and the staff of the hotel are very friendly and helpful and provided us with good information . They looked for good guides and taxi for us. We liked the atmosphere of this boutique style hotel very much. They cleaned the hotel all the time. They provided us free taxi service to the city of Siem Reap (about 4 km).

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 293919Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

288 - 294 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2010

The hotel is not far way from the downtown, it takes 7 minutes in tuc-tuc come and go to the Old Market, Pub Street or Night Market. They have a private tuc-tuc service always available at the door of the hotel.
The place is like a big pagoda, wooden inside: floor, walls, stairs.
The zone is apart from the noise of the town, AC in the room is quiet.
You can rent a bicycle and reach Angkor ruins in 10-15 minutes (4 km aprox).
You can use the swiming pool after the hot of the day and the walk though the ruins, it is refreshing and revitalizing.
If you want to stay near ruins (for bicycle rideres), and hide away from the noise of the downtown it is your best choose.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jiglesgom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

Me and my girlfriend stayed at the Shining Angkor for three nights in november 2010. At first, when we arrived in Siem Reap, our driver hutled us to check in to fancy and expensive hotel down town. Being late in the evening and raining cats and dogs outside we agreed to stay for one night. But early the next day we phoned the Shining Angkor who picked us up 20 minutes later - free of charge of course. At the hotel we felt in an instant that this was the place for us: we got a bigger and better room with a balcony for the same price as the promised smaller one, and the interior of the hotel was traditional cambodian wood work and immediately gave you a welcoming feeling. And last, but not the least, the staff were everything we expected from the cambodian people when we first started to research the country: worm an welcoming and always looking for ways to make your stay as nice and comfortable as posible. They were with out a doubt the friendliest and most helpful staff we have ever met!

The hotel is situated in the north of town wich makes it perfect for those who wants to stay close to the temple area. One day for example we rented bikes and cycled to Angkor Wat, wich took about 20 minutes. Great.
With the hotels own tuk tuk it took about 10-15 minutes and costed 1,5 $ to reach the central parts of Siem Reap (the driver is a great guy btw, you'll love him!).
During night time unfortunately there was roosters and dogs making noise outside the hotel, allthough if you would tell the night staff about it I guess they would probably fix that to :)

All in all we are pleased to recomend this hotel, a really nice place to spend your holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jomhod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2010

This hotel looks new. Very nice carved woodwork everywhere. Clean, large pleasant room. Good full breakfast included. Swimming pool. Very pleasent staff, trying hard to please. Located in a quiet area but with free Tuk Tuk rides and return to the market area, Pub street etc. Airport pickup and drop off included. Easy arrangements for tours of Angkor Wat etc. I don't see how you could do much better. Good price. Great service.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank netsuki1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Me and a friend stayed in the Shining Angkor for 3 nights in July 2010. We booked online and I was so relieved when I emailed a query about whether they could pick us up from the airport, the reply came back very fast! My friend and I arrived at different times (7am from China and 5pm from Hanoi) so they made 2 complimentary airport pick ups which was very much appreciated!

We paid $35 a night and there was always a Tuk Tuk available to take us (for never more than $1) into Pub St/Markets.The location is about 5 mins by Tuk Tuk from town area. We had breakfast included with our stay - everything tasted nice, no complaints about the food whatsoever. Traditional coffee with condensed milk was yum.
We booked 2 Tuk Tuk tours through Shining Ankor (Tonle Sap and Ankor Wat) quite cheaply and they catered it each time to where we wanted to go.

Our room was very nice and clean and relatively large compared to other hotels we stayed at during our time in Cambodia. It had its own balcony and Wifi service in the room (a lot of other hotels say Wifi but then when you get there it is only available in the lobby). They also had a computer with internet access available.

All staff are friendly and will greet you with a huge smile and really go out of their way to help you which is the best part about this hotel. They also have relatively good english speakers. Kim was fantastic in organising tours catered to how we wanted, and even arranged our next lot of accomodation for us in Phnom Penh.

The entire place smelled like wood which I found really nice because there was traditional Khmer wood everywhere.

Only slightly negative thing was that they were building a swimming pool at the time of our stay. We didn't mind about the noise because it was during the time we were out and about anyway. Don't let this put you off because it would be completed by now!

Such good value! I'm so glad we settled into our Cambodia trip here. I am returning to Siem Reap in the future and will definitely stay here again. Thank you Shining Ankor!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingPinkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

The hotel announced in some places as "boutique hotel" which definately sets your expectations to high for this hotel, which is a basic hotel but with a real "boutique" level service. Staff is great in a familiar way and cannot do enough to help you with whatever you might need. Do not expect to much of the "hardware". It is basic but taken all the wood used in the decor it gives an origianal feel to it. No bar, restaurant or lounge. (swimming pool was being built while we were there. Should be ready by Aug 10.
Well situated on the way to the Angkor temples and away from the Siem Reap downtown.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krisbcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Stayed in the Shining Angkor for 3 nights in Jun 2010. Booked across the net and had no previous experience of the hotel. Pleasantly surprised! The rate for the 3 nights was US$117 including breakfast, airport pickup and a free tuktuk return trip into town or to your first temple.
Location - about halfway between Angkor Wat anf Siem Reap town centre. Not much in the immediate hotel vicinity, however the tuktuks are cheap, safe and reliable. The hotel will organise a tuktuk and driver for the day for $15 ($20 if you intend to go to the further temple complexes) - the trip into Siem Reap's 'Pub Street' was $1.50 - and about the same for a street tuktuk back to the hotel late at night (don't forget to negotiate the price first!).
Rooms - nice and more than functional - a balcony runs around the first floor offering an immediate outside space to sit and chill. The staff make a real effort, everything is clean, neat and tidy. There was cable access on the TV for news addicts like us. Internet access was provided free via a desktop station on the first floor. Decor - they do like their wood - but modern and fine (I've been told to say pretty). Downside to the room - only warm water through the hot tap - but no great hardship, it's hot enough outside most of the time.
Staff - friendly, accessible and try to be helpful. English is broken but we were never not understood.
Food - only did breakfast during our visit. It is well cooked, basic and filling. The downside - the coffee was NOT good, bitter and grainy.
Overall - very good value. Quiet area but close enough to the attractions and the night life in town. A good hotel with good staff - who actually make an effort. A great find!
Additionally they are building a swimming pool at the front of this little place which will certainly enhance its visitability (when there were guests actually in the hotel, or standing outside waiting for transport - the workers all stopped in order not to disturb the guests - hotel estimate pool will be finished by end of Jul 2010).

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.8 mi away
Mudra Angkor Boutique Hotel
Mudra Angkor Boutique Hotel
#149 of 373 in Siem Reap
176 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel The Angkor Crescent
Hotel The Angkor Crescent
#251 of 373 in Siem Reap
1 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
#78 of 373 in Siem Reap
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Asanak D'Angkor Boutique Hotel
Asanak D'Angkor Boutique Hotel
#180 of 373 in Siem Reap
131 reviews
1.7 mi away
Laysung Boutique
Laysung Boutique
#117 of 373 in Siem Reap
280 reviews
1.6 mi away
Auberge Mont-Royal d'Angkor
Auberge Mont-Royal d'Angkor
#158 of 373 in Siem Reap
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel

Address: 560, Group One | Kok Chok Commune, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 373 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: £19 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shining Angkor Boutique HotelJust as the name implies, Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel indeed shines as the new boutique hotel in Siem Reap, Cambodia. It is a 21 rooms classy, traditional yet contemporary hotel nestled in a very quiet residential district midway to the famous Angkor Wat temple and the City Center of Siem Reap. Located in Siem Reap, Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel is a 5-minute motorbike ride from Angkor Wat. It has an outdoor swimming pool, restaurant and offers a free one way shuttle service to the city centre daily.Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel is 1.6 km from the Angkor National Museum and 2 km from Angkor Shopping Centre. Free pick-up services are provided from Siem Reap International Airport.Traditional Cambodian décor and hardwood furnishings feature throughout the non-smoking guestrooms at this Siem Reap Boutique Hotel. Each offers views of the greenery, and is fitted with a TV with cable channels. Guests can enjoy a body massage, or rent a bicycle to explore the area. With a 24-hour front desk, the hotel provides car rental services and free parking. Travel arrangements can be made at the tour desk. The restaurant serves a fine selection of local and European dishes. Outdoor dining options are also available.Clean and spacious with Khmer-style decor...All rooms are clean and spacious and include high quality cotton duvets and feather pillows, complimentary wireless Internet access, bathrobes, slippers, bottled water and bathroom accessories. The decor is traditional Khmer style with contemporary elements and elegant accents. The management and staff at Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel also strive to offer it's guests immaculate service to make every stay at Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing