We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service... Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel
Ranked #164 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Great service... Highly recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

The staff made my stay in Siem Reap a memorable one. I truly enjoyed my stay there, and they took care of everything, including pick-up and drop-off and arranging for my tours around the place - while I was there. it was also reasonably priced - I got it for USD 30 per night through a deal.

I highly appreciate their services, and would definitely recommend Shining Angkor to my friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mj_0983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    120
    40
    16
    5
See reviews for
71
125
35
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2011

My wife and I just spent seven nights at this hotel. The Shining Angkor and all its rooms are tastefully decorated Khmer style with an accent on comfortable and homey wood furniture. The restaurant is a pleasant place for breakfast with its two smiling waitresses. Plus it serves up some of the best red, yellow and green curry in town. The hotel keeps on hand a squad of trusty, safe-driving tuk tuk drivers. These super guys will take you anywhere you want to go in Siem Reap. Their services can be hired for the entire day at a reasonable cost. All the staff are top drawer..the best we've seen in all the hotels we've stayed. Vannak and Sodah manage this place with only your comfort and happiness on their minds. We will stay at this hotel whenever we return to Siem Reap.
También recomiendo El Shining Angkor para los huéspedes que hablan español porque Sodah además de hablar inglés también habla español. Staying at The Shining Angkor was like staying at our own home or with friends...Thank you, Shining Angkor.....

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganDRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2011

If you want a truly delightful and worry-free experience in Siem Reap and Angkor, visit the Shining Angkor Hotel, mid-way between Siem Reap and Angkor Wat. It is a lovely but very affordable place to stay, and the staff is very helpful and kind. The rooms are lovely and comfortable, the hotel offers a free breakfast, and free transportation to and from the airport. Also, they are extremely helpful in arranging transportation and giving great advice about what to do in the area. Really, it has just been a delight. . . . . . . Consider this a rave review. I will certainly come back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank st0kesly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peregian Beach, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

Stayed for 9 pleasant days. All staff were friendly and helpful. The front office staff were knowledgable of non-typical places to see, local services and prices, and had very high level English skills. The lobby was furnished with beautiful hand-carved furniture, statues and murals. Everything was spotless. Our accommodation was roomy, beautifully furnished and decorated, and very good value. Hotel is in quieter location outside of town and near main entrance to Angkor Wat. Only $1.50 into town by tuktuk.
On the downside: The boss lady was a bit gruff but warmed to us. She was sometimes gruff to her staff as well and lightly struck one of them in our presence. Food was very good but sometimes a bit slow in coming. Laundry service was expensive but they got our socks clean and white for the first time on the trip.
We purchased a hand-carved wooden statue from the boss lady's factory shop. Very well done, best quality we could find anywhere, and at a fair price. The staff carefully wrapped it for shipping.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoomerJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

Shining Angkor Hotel and staff were excellent. The hotel was very relaxing, clean, and had an interesting collection of well made hand crafted khmer furniture and statuary. The owner of the hotel owns a nearby crafts shop that specializes in wood and marble carvings. On site work at the craft shop was interesting to watch.

The hotel has a very good location being situated between the town and the temples. Tuk Tuk rides into town and the temples were always available, at a reasonable rate.

The staff at the hotel were superb, providing similar service of a concierge at a 4 star hotel. Plane and restaurant reservations were all promptly taken care of in an efficient manner. Special requests and restaurant service were excellent.

All-in-all, our experience at Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel was exceptional and highly recommended.

Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eastsidedockside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

I have stayed at SHINING ANGKOR on two occasions now. Once in August 2010, for 5 nights, and again, for 6 nights in January 2011.

The hotel staff are very attentive, and I was hapy with the cleanliness of the rooms and , most importantly, the comfortable beds.

The hotel is about 3 km from Pub Street area, so, a tuk tuk is required should you wish to go there .

I was in Siem Reap to see the temples, and Shinging ANgkor Hotel is located within a 10 minute tuk tuk ride from Angkor Wat

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gearsau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inbaly
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

Who needs a large corporate stay, when they can have a nice boutique environment; one that actually appreciateds your business?

We traveled for 3 weeks, stayed at 8 different hotels, and BY FAR the Shining Angkor was our favorite. First off, the hotel is very authentic and spiritual. Secondly, the staff is amazing. They truly go out of their way to help you out (i.e. booking bus tickets for you, etc.). In fact, a staff member even personally walked us (on his off hours) to the nearby killing fields (how cool is that?...please tip them if they do this for you) and explained some history to us. The rooms were accomodating and cozy. The breakfast and overall restaurant was amazing. There was even this sweet lauging server that we wanted to take home (she was just so sweet). The owner's nephew is running the hotel and it is nice to whom your money is going to and how nice and appreciative they are of your business. There is even a pool and free wifi. Lastly, it is right next to Angkor Wat and some of the other main Wats...isn't that why we all go to Siem Reap to begin with (just saying)?

THIS HOTEL DESERVES TO HAVE A MUCH HIGHER RATING THAN IT CURRENTLY HAS.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inbaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.7 mi away
Angkor Boutique Tropic Hotel
Angkor Boutique Tropic Hotel
#127 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kralanh Petite Villa
Kralanh Petite Villa
#148 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mudra Angkor Boutique Hotel
Mudra Angkor Boutique Hotel
#151 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Auberge Mont-Royal d'Angkor
Auberge Mont-Royal d'Angkor
#132 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kiri Boutique Hotel
Kiri Boutique Hotel
#128 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
#53 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel

Property: Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel
Address: 560, Group One | Kok Chok Commune, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shining Angkor Boutique HotelJust as the name implies, Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel indeed shines as the new boutique hotel in Siem Reap, Cambodia. It is a 21 rooms classy, traditional yet contemporary hotel nestled in a very quiet residential district midway to the famous Angkor Wat temple and the City Center of Siem Reap. Located in Siem Reap, Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel is a 5-minute motorbike ride from Angkor Wat. It has an outdoor swimming pool, restaurant and offers a free one way shuttle service to the city centre daily.Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel is 1.6 km from the Angkor National Museum and 2 km from Angkor Shopping Centre. Free pick-up services are provided from Siem Reap International Airport.Traditional Cambodian décor and hardwood furnishings feature throughout the non-smoking guestrooms at this Siem Reap Boutique Hotel. Each offers views of the greenery, and is fitted with a TV with cable channels. Guests can enjoy a body massage, or rent a bicycle to explore the area. With a 24-hour front desk, the hotel provides car rental services and free parking. Travel arrangements can be made at the tour desk. The restaurant serves a fine selection of local and European dishes. Outdoor dining options are also available.Clean and spacious with Khmer-style decor...All rooms are clean and spacious and include high quality cotton duvets and feather pillows, complimentary wireless Internet access, bathrobes, slippers, bottled water and bathroom accessories. The decor is traditional Khmer style with contemporary elements and elegant accents. The management and staff at Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel also strive to offer it's guests immaculate service to make every stay at Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing