We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food”

Sala Bai Restaurant School
Ranked #54 of 877 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$11
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian, International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Sala Baï Hotel & Restaurant School was founded in 2002 by the French NGO Agir pour le Cambodge. The school entirely and exclusively meant for young Cambodians coming from underprivileged families. In 2015, more than 1300 young Cambodians, with a 70% priority to girls, have been trained. They have all found a job within 1 month after their one-year training. A few years later, their average salary goes from $250 to $350 which enables them to reach the emerging Cambodian middle-class. The vocational training taught at Sala Baï is definitely the fastest and most efficient way of fighting poverty and human trafficking. But without your support, nothing would be possible. By coming to our training restaurant, you already make a great difference, with the pleasure to enjoy high-quality food.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
213 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We went here for lunch and it was simply fabuolus. This is a school that trains disadvantaged Cambodian kids to be employed in the hotel and restaurant business. The service is excellent, the place very clean, and the food is simply fabulous. Have no idea of the price since we went there with our small tour group.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank barbara361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    59
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We were lucky to catch this restaurant on the last day for the year. We had really attentive service and whilst my first choice for starters wasn't available I was very happy with my alternative. The presentation was really impressive and when you consider what they are doing here this is worth supporting.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J0hn1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
1 review
“Very tasty and clean”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

If the school's mission and history isn't enough to get you to visit then let me assure you the food is. We had the set three course menu and each meal was delicious! The mango curry chicken was devine. The salad with seafood and beef was also very yummy (and yep, the prawns were fresh). The staff are friendly and happy to help. The bathroom is very clean. Be mindful staff are in training for their future - so be kind. Only gripe is no bank card facilities or ATM, so take cash. Grab yourself a cookbook or apron to help the school students before you leave - we did!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lunch for a Cause”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

The restaurant Sala Bai is open for breakfast and lunch on weekdays. They have a 3 course menu for $10-$12. The food is beautifully presented and fairly good. However there are very few choices. The catch is that the restaurant and adjoining hotel uses profits to train 100 disadvantaged young people in the hotel and restaurant industry at no cost to students. Service is formal (but novice) and the students get support and feedback. A good enough meal and a nice cause.
They accept US dollars and take cash only.

Helpful?
2 Thank AbqErica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sala B, Responsable relations clients at Sala Bai Restaurant School, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you very much for your comment. We usually propose a la carte menu during the year except at the moment.
As there are only 3 weeks left before the final exam, we propose one menu with 4 choices among appetizers, main courses and desserts. These dishes are those the students will be asked for performing for their final practice exam and so by having lunch at Sala Bai, you are helping them to train few more times before the D-Day!
Therefore thank you very much about it and we will be very happy to welcome you another time between October and May so you can enjoy our A la Carte menu as well!
All our best,
The Sala Bai team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippines
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“There's room for improvement”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Sorry, I know this restaurant is supposed to be training young Cambodians but the food needs improvement. We went out of our way to look for this restaurant. We came during lunch and most of the dishes in the menu were not available anymore. It is not an extensive menu in the first place, there was just the right number of dishes. We ended up choosing what was available - club sandwich for a child and 2 sets of "beef salaman" which unfortunately was tough and difficult to chew. The menu also did not indicate that this dish, supposedly a curry based dish, had peanuts, an allergen. Apparently, diners are already supposed to be aware that most cambodian dishes have peanuts.....

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank KeenSeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sala B, Manager at Sala Bai Restaurant School, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you you for your comments that you had also shared with us by email right after your visit. As we replied you already, as a school we do appreciate any remark from client as it helps to improve their training on daily basis and after your first email we debriefed our trainers accordingly.

Concerning the lack of choices we do understand your frustration and it is true that as we are in low season and we had no reservation prior, our chef ordered less food supplies than usual. As a NGO we really care about costs and not spoiling food too much. We are sorry if you had to suffer from that.

We hope anyway that it did not prevent you to enjoy your stay in Siem Reap.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sala Bai Restaurant School also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Sala Bai Restaurant School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing