We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Suites and Sweet Resort Angkor
Ranked #179 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The hotel is charming, and the staff were very eager to please. We loved the minimalistic room decor, and the little plunge pool that came along with each villa.
We had really miscalculated how far the resort was from 'downtown' so we were left bound to the timings of our hired car. There is absolutely nothing in the vicinity, and unless you are ready to brave the stray dogs in a dark lane, popping out for dinner is not an option. This is of course nothing to do with the hotel - they will even call a tuk tuk - but since we prefer to be able to walk around the hotel area, this was something that we should have researched a little more on.
However there were some things that we felt really needed improvement...
1: the place is overrun by geckos - large and small....and we found it difficult eating our dinner under the eye of a particularly spectacular specimen in the dining room on the night of our arrival.
2: the food, both quality and the choice (the lack of it).... Especially considering that you need to travel by tuk tuk for 10 mins to the nearest restaurant....so not really a possibility if you want an afternoon or late night small snack!
3: the Wifi did not work in the rooms during our stay - apparently something to do with the rains.
4: the vanity lights are very low....mood lighting is fine....but carried a bit far when the bathroom is dim!
All in all, the stay was made good by the quality of service of the staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walkalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western S, Owner at Suites and Sweet Resort Angkor, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Valued Guests,
Thank you for taking time to post this review. We noted some good points and some disappointment. Anyway, we are happy to note that over all "your stay was made good" by the quality of service of the staff".
Unfortunately during your stay we had strong rains and flood around the vicinity and maybe it caused some disagreements. We take advantage of this response to inform all our guests to alert us immediately during their stay if something is not satisfying.
1. Actually, our resort is nearby town and this is mentioned in all advertising website or agencies. Indeed, such a concept ( villas around the pond ) could not located in the center. This is the specificity of our property and guests generally loved to stay in a peaceful and green environment. Most of time the driving distance by tuktuk/car to downtown take 5-6 minutes. For sure in flood condition it could take longer .
2. In Cambodia, gecko are every where even in down town. They feed flies, mosquitoes that is why you did not see any. Moreover, they are inoffensive.
3. Food. So sorry... as French owner it is one of my priority to provide tasty dishes. Maybe we failed that time?
4. For the vanity lights, if you told us we could had lamp shade.
Once again, thank you for sharing your opinion. It's always valuable for us to improve our property.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    36
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
38
100
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We were at this resort for 5 days for our first trip to SiemReap/Angkor Wat. Everything about this place is perfect, from the large villas with their private pools, and fresh handmade breakfast every morning and a quiet location about 10mins away from the centre of town. Since there are only 18 villas, the resort is not crowded at all and it is very relaxing. For going to town, the hotel staff will arrange a tuktuk to take you to town for dinner, massage, shopping etc and they will also pick you and bring you back to the hotel when you're done. The friendly hotel staff will also give you recommendations. I would like to specially thank the hotel manager Ms Kris and the staff (unfortunately I couldnt note down his name) who took pains to retrieve one of my handbags I had left in the resort room while checking out, and only discovered this when I was checking in at the airport. Not only did they retrieve the bag, they also came to the airport and handed over the bag to us, all in a space of about 30 mins after I discovered the missing bag. Truly exceptional and personalised service, something which is hard to find in other hotels nowadays !!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western S, Manager at Suites and Sweet Resort Angkor, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Valued Guests,
It is our pleasure to know that you and your wife had a wonderful time during your stay at Best Western Suites and Sweet Resort Angkor.
And it is always our aim to satisfy our guests whatever it take once they leave.
A truly personalize and tailor made service we are providing and we make sure that all our guests are VIP.
Thank you so much and we are looking forward to see you once again on your next trip in Siem Reap. Definitely all your feedback will inspire us more for the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I love this hotel,
Very cute, only 18 villas with the small private pool for each of them.
Most of the time, the owner will be there to welcome you personnaly and share with you good tips to enjoy your stay in Siam Reap.
If you are done with standards check-in, and frozen smiles, that's the place to go

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilippeAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western S, Manager at Suites and Sweet Resort Angkor, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear valued guest,
It is our aim to treat each of our guest as VIP.
Thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to see you again on your next trip trip in Siem Reap.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goma, Democratic Republic of the Congo
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Had a wonderful stay at this beautiful and peaceful place. True that it is quite isolated from everything. Most tuktuk drivers in town don't know where it is and it's not easy to explain. So your tuktuk driver will probably have to wait for you while you have dinner/drink in town. But otherwise, it's a truly lovely place. Staff are always smiling and very friendly, and the tuk tuk driver, Pich, introduced by the hotel was just great. Very patient and helpful. The private swimming pool was perfect after wondering around the temples under the burning sun. Can be quite cold at night but really wonderful during the daytime.

Room Tip: Rooms far from the restaurant have pools with more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western S, Manager at Suites and Sweet Resort Angkor, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
It is our pleasure to know that you enjoyed and you love to stay in our resort.
Thank you so much and we will pass your appreciation to Mr. Pich the tuktuk driver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel for two nights on our round the world trip to give ourselves a lil treat. We got it at a discounted rate, but it is easily worth double it's full price. We arrived to the owner greeting us and showing us to our room, a very gracious man, even brought us incense sticks. The bungalow we stayed in was very spacious, the private pool was awesome, everything super clean. We did not even see one mosquito while here, and the place sits on a lily pond. The staff is more than accommodating, they offer the best help and service that I have ever experienced anywhere. There are too many good things to say about this place, you must stay if given the chance.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jdy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western S, Owner at Suites and Sweet Resort Angkor, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Guests, It was our pleasure to greeting you in our resort and so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Have a great time in your world tour ! Warmest regards. Christian (Owner).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paget Parish, Bermuda
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Our whole stay was perfect from start to finish . We arrived late at night and the hotel had someone to pick us up in a rainstorm and bring us to the hotel . Next morning we had a lovely breakfast and we went exploring . The whole team were great and organised Horse riding , elephant rides and everything else we wanted to do . The TUK-TUKS were the best part of the trip ..and to have a free trip each night into town was great . For the price we paid we couldn't have wished for more . The room was an excellent size with everything in it . Outside we had a small plunge pool which was great after a long day in the sun . I must admit was worried about mosquitioes as we had a large pond in the middle of the hotel and all around each room but this didn't seem to mean anything and neither of us got bitten . One morning we actually slept till noon and Christian ( the owner ) went into the kitchen and helped cook us breakfast ! need i say more ...The hotel is well outside of Siem Reap which is actually quite nice as it is quiet and only a 5-7 ride in the tuk tuk ...and to be honest that's the best and most fun part of the day , taking a tuk tuk ride so we enjoyed being out of town . We did have a massage one day at the hotel . They came out town and gave both my wife and i a massage on our king sized bed at the same time ! interesting but all very well done and at a great price . All in all i have nothing negative to say . The whole team of people at the hotel were very helpful and extremely nice to deal with . Thanks very much Christian and your team . We will be back next year .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julesbda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western S, Owner at Suites and Sweet Resort Angkor, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Guests, you were our first guest from Bermuda but we felt only extremely positive turbulence from you as both of you were very kind with all the staff. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in Cambodia in our resort. We are waiting for your next visit. warmest regards, Christian ( owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

What a great place to stay,short trip from town to the peace and quiet of your private pool suite.Great food all day.Breakfast is not your trays of food thats been there since 6am.Its cooked fresh once you have ordered.
Anything you want while feeding the fish below you.(well I did)
All staff are fantastic,from Kris in the office to Jimmy the"will do anything" to make your stay unforgettable.
Special thanks to Christain(the happy Budda)Owner of Suites & Sweets.
I don't think he will mind me saying that !!!
We will be back

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemma11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western S, Owner at Suites and Sweet Resort Angkor, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Dear guests and friends,
Many thanks for your very kind review. I will inform the staff about your good comment. We have keep modest at anytime. Your review is very encouraging. Indeed our motto is to provide a very personalize service and with some guests we create friendship . This is our reward. Special thanks on behalf of happy Buddha!!! Hope to see you again. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
2.5 mi away
Templation Hotel
Templation Hotel
#23 of 356 in Siem Reap
183 reviews
2.2 mi away
Reveal Angkor Boutique Hotel
Reveal Angkor Boutique Hotel
#99 of 356 in Siem Reap
141 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tanei Resort & Spa
Tanei Resort & Spa
#98 of 356 in Siem Reap
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Palace Residence & Villa
Palace Residence & Villa
#148 of 356 in Siem Reap
120 reviews
1.7 mi away
Apsara Residence Hotel
Apsara Residence Hotel
#77 of 356 in Siem Reap
203 reviews
2.0 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#40 of 356 in Siem Reap
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites and Sweet Resort Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites and Sweet Resort Angkor

Property: Suites and Sweet Resort Angkor
Address: Phum Krous, Khum Svay Daungum, Siem Reap 93160, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#107 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#124 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Suites and Sweet Resort Angkor 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive BOUTIQUE HOTEL & RESORT in Siem Reap - Angkor. 18 spacious, stylish and charming SUITES ONLY, each with a PRIVATE SWIMMING-POOL surrounded by an exotic wooden terrace, facing a romantic traditional Khmer pond.Suites and Sweet Resort Angkor is secluded and private, avoiding the hustle and bustle of the nearby town, yet conveniently located less than 10 minutes drive away from the main entrance to the famous Temple complexes of Angkor and only a few minutes away from downtown Siem Reap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Suites and Sweet Resort Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites And Sweet Resort Angkor Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing