We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chillax in the cool with a coffee”
Review of Common Grounds

Common Grounds
Ranked #8 of 23 Dessert in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Common Grounds Cafe is a social enterprise that believes in:Creating a friendly Atmosphere,Producing high quality coffee & pastries, Serving delicious Western & Asian food,Providing Strong Wi-Fi & Cold Air ConditioningTogether as a Staff, We believe in:Empowering potential with opportunities,Providing benefits, English Classes, &fair salaries Building strong character & integrity,Developing future leaders By donating 100% of our profit to Common Grounds' parent organization, People For Care & Learning, we are working towards a hopeful Cambodian future.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
212 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Chillax in the cool with a coffee”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Good spot for a cool down and a coffee with wifi and familiar surroundings if you like starbucks style. Worthy causes are supported by this cafe.. Note they are a daytime option really closing by 8pm.

Helpful?
Thank cossiefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    62
    20
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
114 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Visited multiple times during our SR trip!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

So good! The coffee, the food, the air con, the wifi. It's a must visit if you are craving western food in SR. Or coffee. Or pastries. Or Asian food. It's just good.

Helpful?
Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great place for coffee and bites.”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We were there during the evening about 4-5pm,the cafe was facing the afternoon and evening sun so it is rather hot in the cafe.However,we are having a good time relaxing and using the free wifi for updates after one whole day of exploring.Food are great, coffee is fantastic.Internet is fast and most importantly crew are friendly.This cafe is doing it not for profit but to help the schools and children in Cambodia,every penny you spend will be in good hand and worthwhile.Also last note, nice and very clean toilet.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Besteverthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder Creek
Level Contributor
104 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Another Great SR Training Restaurant”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Siem Reap has many NGOs and several of them operate training restaurants to help young street men and women train for careers in the culinary tourism sector. During our 11 days here we tried many of them.

Common Grounds was our favorite breakfast brunch place. We went there several times after early morning rounds of temple visits. They are a cyber cafe and provide good wifi and adequate plugs for your laptop.

But the food and coffee are the main draw here. They make a mango cashew nut shake that is to die for! I went back twice just for that one. The museli with homemade yogurt is excellent.

I had a cheeseburger one day for lunch that was good by SE Asian standards though not as good as the one I had at Le Malraux. The coffee is very good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RedwoodResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A haven!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The staff here are what really makes the place, they are just so good and welcoming! The coffees are all great, a variety of muffins, nice music, good air con - it's the perfect place! If you want to experience a Khmer environment, it's not that - it's like costa or Starbucks but way better because it's independent!

I must admit - the food is nothing that special - it's best for coffee and cake!

Highly recommended though!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Common Grounds also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Common Grounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing