We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Pool, Big Musty Rooms, Expensive Drinks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Terrasse des Elephants
Ranked #185 of 374 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My husband & I stayed here for 3 nights. The room is large and very unique. There is zero privacy when it comes to the shower so don’t get a room here if you are shy. It was perfect for my husband & I on our honeymoon though. Although the room is large it smelt AWFUL! It was terribly musty, so much so it was hard to fall asleep. It felt like you were choking on the musty stench. The rooftop pool is clean & refreshing after a long day exploring Angkor Wat. The drinks however are very expensive. The hotel is in a PRIME location, only 2 minute walk from the night market. All in all, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshleyB196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

If this is in your budget, do yourself a favor and stay here. Nowhere else in the world for this kind of money will you experience such outrageously interesting room designs! Flip thru the photos, take a look- you will understand what I mean. In Siem Reap there are ton of places to stay, but why not stay somewhere unique? Big block hotels, blah! How about having in your room a gigantic Bayon faced water fountain, lilly pads floating in a pond with a bridge that crosses the pond leading to the shower, monkey statues holding up the woven palm frond ceiling, and half wall paneling filled with intricate bas relief design?

And the rest of the hotel, beautiful. Sweeping staircases, balconies, terraces, a rooftop pool, all in grand style. Oh, and there are elephants everywhere. Elephants! How cool is that! Really, forgo all the rest, stay here, take lots of pictures, and let all your friends faces light up with jealousy over the sheer awesomeness of this place.

And the location? The best. Two streets away from Pub Street, the river, the Old Market, and both Night Markets. But quiet. And did I mention Elephants? Lol. We stayed three nights, and on the last day they let us shower in a room after a day out in Angkor before departure. Very nice!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1dancing_fool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

When finding this hotel online I couldnt go past it, the pictures were beautiful and reviews great. We had a superior room, (201). The room was like something out of a story book. We travel often and never before have we stayed in a room with so much character. The room was huge, with a king sized bed. It contained a separate sitting area and a separate door leading out to a balcony area, which in turn led to our private entrance into the restuarant below. Our room was maticulously attended to morning, and night for a turn down service. Fresh fruit and flowers were placed in our room each day, as was bottled water. Breakfast was plentiful and lovely, restuarant food was lovely and reasonably priced. Staff were attentative and helpful in anyway they could be. The pool area was a lovely area to sit back with a book and relax. Wifi didnt work in our room but we had a good connection poolside and in the restuarant. Perfect location, minimarts, travel agents and plenty of cheap spas across the street and a short easy amble to day markets, night markets and pub street.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I wanted to write a review immediately as I've just left. It wasnt super cheap (I was travelling solo which is never cheap if you want your own room!) but as I only had 24hrs in Siem Reap & was staying there en route to London I wanted to get someone nice.

it didnt disappoint... well not immediately. Unfortunately the fountain in my room wouldnt stop dripping & the staff moved me immediately. Then though my new room's a/c wasnt great so I just couldnt sleep (jet lag was a killer!) & also the hot water didnt work at 6am when I woke up for Angkor Wat.

The staff were really nice though & did their best to accomodate. This has an awesome location, a decent breakfast (tho small) & a pool on the roof which is cool if sunny. They also helped w a driver for Ankgor Wat. I'd stay here & make sure everything in your room works!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamesrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We spent 5 days here in a superior room - really like a suite - king size bed with an extra room with couch and table (which had fresh fruit on it every day) there was also a balcony off this that had a majestic staircase down to a wonderful sitting area with lots of couches and fans - you felt like you were back in the 1920s in the French colonial times. The room service was great with lovely meals sent within 20mins delivered to where ever you wanted - usually the pool area. The pool on the roof was great - the food in the restaurant was great and not a lot more than what you'd pay at a similar restaurant in The Alley. The location was amazing - 2 minutes and you were in the thick of it - the night market, the day market, the Alley Street or Pub Street. Rooms are quiet and quirky and a little dark, but this added to the atmosphere. Mattress was firm/hard - but staff fixed this by putting blankets on top and you had to ask for a hairdryer - but not a problem it was always at the door in a minute or so. The staff were only too helpful. You also should try the absolutely wonderful "coffee scrub followed by the honey massage" in the spa next door - magical - followed by ginger and honey tea. Divine.

Room Tip: The water feature in the bedroom/bathroom can be turned off - there's a switch on the wall near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viv H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This hotel is right on the heart of siem reap with lots of restaurants and bars steps away, right behind the night market, the staff is super friendly and assited with all of or tours, pick up from airport etc, we'll stay there if we come back to Cambodia for sure!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maferli99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our four nights in the Terrasse des Elephants. The hotel rooms are certainly quirky and the whole feel of the hotel has a welcoming feel about it. We booked a standard room, and our one real regret was that we didn't book a rooftop room as others have suggested, as I think that would have been perfect. The service in the hotel was excellent and the meals we had were of a very high standard, although the continental breakfast became a little repetitive by the fourth morning, as there was no change whatsoever from day to day. My only other criticism was that the room did have quite a musty smell when you came in from outside, and the towels were quite threadbare. That said the rooftop pool is a wonderful oasis and the hotel is in a fantastic position - so close to everything. Would highly recommend it if you like something a little different from the norm

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#135 of 374 in Siem Reap
564 reviews
0.2 mi away
Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel
Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel
#102 of 374 in Siem Reap
930 reviews
0 mi away
Ta Prohm Hotel
Ta Prohm Hotel
#173 of 374 in Siem Reap
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Reaksmey Chanreas Hotel
Reaksmey Chanreas Hotel
#191 of 374 in Siem Reap
179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tan Kang Angkor Hotel
Tan Kang Angkor Hotel
#274 of 374 in Siem Reap
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#74 of 374 in Siem Reap
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrasse des Elephants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrasse des Elephants

Address: Sivatha Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#132 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £29 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Terrasse des Elephants 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is very conveniently located in the heart of Siem Reap town. Surrounded by galleries, boutiques, restaurants & cafes, the central bus station, the Old Market (Phsar Chas) and the Pub Street, our hotel guests have everything in just 3 mins walking distance. The hotel is a perfect place to start your explorations of one of the world's architectural wonders, the famous temples of Angkor. The hotel is approximately 6km from Siem Reap International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Terrasse des Elephants reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrasse Des Elephants Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing