We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very unique, but a few caveats”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Terrasse des Elephants
Ranked #174 of 342 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very unique, but a few caveats”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Terrasse des Elephants Hotel (Terrasse) was booked as a centrally located hotel with a unique decor (very much Angkor/Khmer themed). We arrived and were greeted by the very nice staff with a welcome drink. We went up to the room and it was quite comfortable.

Located on the second floor (warning: NO Elevators), we had a "living room" area (sans walls), a balcony with a table, the bed with the mosquito net (which you WILL use) and the Khmer styled bathroom with the shower at one end, fully exposed, the fountain in the middle and the sink to the side.

Here are the pros: The Hotel is very centrally located to Pub Street and the Night market. Basically, those areas are several streets (in grid fashion) that are packed with bars and restaurants that cater to foreigners. It's not bad, and if you want to avoid tuk tuks to get there, this is the place. However, with such proximity, you will get noise. On New Years eve, I was hearing the music loud and clear in my room. Another pro is the unique decoration, it's very particular as it is all Khmer decorated. So that's a plus. The included breakfast is good and the rooms are very spacious. Additional pro: I told them it was our honeymoon and they greeted us with a very beautiful flower arrangement in the room when we checked in. Bonus points for them.

Cons: First of all, be aware that Siem Reap has a serious mosquito problem. So the room is not exempted from this and you will use the mosquito net. This isn't the Hotel's fault per se although they could do better with insect repellants. The beds were not the most comfortable thing in the world either. They weren't bricks, mind you, but they could have used an additional padding as I could feel the coils on my back. I slept well (but I can sleep anywhere), but it's definitely not a "Sheraton Bed".

Bottom line: You want a nice hotel with walking distance to Pub Street? Look no further. You want a place where you can kick back and avoid the Siem Reap noise? Avoid this place. Go a bit further up the road to the hotels that are near the Sofitel and Angkor Century hotels. That area seemed to be much quieter.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid additional stairs, go for the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JvidalF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    117
    49
    15
    17
See reviews for
41
219
38
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Ok so we booked this hotel as it was brilliantly positioned for pub st. which we had been recommended to visit while in Siem Reap. On arrival we were greeted by nice staff and was given a refreshing drink. We was then taken to our room which was very different as in the way the room was set out. These are very open plan as in the shower is in full view with no screen. There is a large water feature between the shower and the sink in the room and when you flick a switch water runs down from the top to many levels. I suggest you do not switch this on as we had to endure 3 days of a dripping water noise even though it was switched off. The water feature sits in a type of pond which everything including the shower and sink is elevated above. Sadly this left a bad damp smell in the room which you can do nothing about even when burning an oil lamp. The rooms are decorated to resemble the temples that are situated in and around Ankor Wat. We had arrived late so showered under a very temperamental shower and went out for dinner. Lots of beggers and prostitutes around pub st and don't fall for the milk scam like we did. Hundreds of tuk tuk, drivers from the moment you walk out of the hotel, that constantly ask you for tuk tuk even though you've just said no to the man next to him. We Should of read the posts about cambodia and siam reap in the forum on here before we travelled to be honest. The next morning we spent a day by the pool as we had organised temple trips for the next day.
The pool is a joke, it's On the rooftop and the noise and pollution from all the traffic makes this an undesirable spot if you want to relax. The decking around it is falling apart a serious injury will occur here at some point in the very near future. Even as the barman (who was non-existant and I had to hunt round for someone to get us a drink) brought us our drink the boards were flipping up as he walked over to us causing even him to trip. Forget even having a massage or spa treatment up here as it's next to the pool and traffic and horns beeping constantly is not my idea of relaxation. Didn't eat in the restaurant as it didn't look too inviting. So to sum up we would never stay here again but to be honest I don't think we will come back to Siem Reap ever again. Reasonably priced but don't get too excited about staying here.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Willsmeister9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed for 4 nights int this hotel which is good value for money. Rooms are large with aircon on both floors. Staff we're very friendly but some could hardly speak English, although there was usually at least of them that could in the open dining area. Breakfast was very average but the pool area was great. Situated right in the centre of town, so getting around was easy

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satosing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed 5 nights in the deluxe room with garden view. The room is very comfortable on 2 floors, there is a fountain in the room, the bathroom is very original, ..
A possible improvement: the mosquito net which is not well placed above the bed and you have it on you during the night.

The swimming pool on the roof is very pleasant. You wouldn't imagine that you are 50m from pub street. Because, yes, it is really well located, 50m from pub street!

The breakfast is "à la carte" and not a buffet. You have to choose between continental, khmer or american.. We would have preferred a buffet.

The price is quite high, we paid 107 dollars for the room. But after all, we think it's worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christophe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
191 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Traveling to Siem Reap to see Angkor Wat. Stayed 2 nights and found the place by trip advisor and since we liked the reviews decided to book here. They were waiting for us when we arrived as guests who booked on an online engine. They didn't speak perfect english but between hand signals and cash we paid our stay and were escorted to our room. There is not elevator, so careful if you need assistance up the stairs. We stayed on the top floor, in front of the pool. It was a beautiful view. We fell silent when we were let into the room, it was 2 tiered, the top tier being the bathroom shower (at open air) and the sink. The bottom was the bed and the bathroom. It was crazy beautiful, looked like an old temple. And of course I should mention we had a pond in our room. I was worried at the beginning about possible mosquitos but the room was air conditioned the entire time. We had a bottle of white wine near the pool bar at sunset, it was spectacular. The lobby helped us plan our sunrise and Angkor wWt tour! It went spectacular! Stayed here 2 nights. Didn't order anything from room service because the hotel is located in the middle of town, literally 2 blocks from pub street and all the amazing restaurants and 3 blocks from their local market. The only down side of the hotel was that we saw 2 lizards in our room, but to be honest, it's Cambodia ! You learn to deal. Had massages in front of the pool - open air, with my best friend and 2 other friends who came for the trip. A little crazy but something you do once in your life !

Room Tip: Ask for a room in front of the pool! Ask for a room with a jacuzzi as well!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anabellepaulino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We didnt stay here in the hotel although we did wander up to see the rooftop pool and bar which looked pretty cool.

We were attracted to eat here mainly because the building looks so charming. We had a very nice Khmer lunch here and the price was reasonable although not as cheap as others only 50m away. They did seem to be struggling to deliver a professional service on the day we were there. A large group of Americans had the delivery of their meals spread over about half an hour. We had to wait a while for our lunch but we were in no hurry and enjoyed the colonial atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pahSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I'm here for ten nights starting December 3. The location is in the middle of the action. Lovely not to have to walk far at night to get to the best dinners and nightlife. Though new, the hotel has the feel of a grand colonial hotel in an exotic location from a bygone era. Sweeping curved staircases of crafted wood, multiple levels of grand dining areas set every night with white cloth and sculpted napkins by a small army of uniformed waitstaff. Grand common areas. When you arrive, you might enter into a side lobby and use the back staircase. I always used the grand central staircase when the luggage was put away. It takes you all the way to the ancient ruins themed pool and massage area complete with temples and incredible lighting at night. Gratis breakfast includes a variety off a menu that you can pick and choose from french omelettes, freshly baked croissants, the freshest of fruit artistically presented to a variety of other Asian, Continental and Western choices. It's fine dining, not the grubby affair found at some of the guesthouse buffets. An added bonus for the walkers and joggers is that it is a block from a river path that takes you to the palace gardens. I've done hour -long three sunrise jogs. Even Pub Street is empty early.

Caveat is to stay on the lowest floor if you are mobility challenged. I'm on the top floor overlooking the pool. The themed showers are a step up and so is the sink. If you want flat and an elevator, this isn't your hotel. If you want dreamy, romantic and fun, you might be very happy. The staff has been wonderful. Most do speak good English. Many are young so they tend to think and talk quickly. I've asked to repeat a couple of times to capture the English.
They clean the room twice a day with a turn- down service restocking the free water bottles. Fresh fruit everyday in all the rooms. Mini-mart across the street.
Read up on the Elephant Terrace ruins at Angkir Tom. It will help you identify some of the replica themes and murals throughout the hotel. So glad I still have five more nights. I am in a deluxe rooftop with a jacuzzi. For the people who comment on smells in Asian hotel rooms in developing countries, try keeping the sink and tub stopper closed. It could be sewer gases. The hotel is so lovely and grand that tourists often stop and take pictures from across the street. The front area is great to sit and watch the vitality of Siem Reap bubble.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sijambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Reaksmey Chanreas Hotel
Reaksmey Chanreas Hotel
#185 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#109 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ta Prohm Hotel
Ta Prohm Hotel
#164 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Steung Siemreap Hotel
Steung Siemreap Hotel
#101 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tan Kang Angkor Hotel
Tan Kang Angkor Hotel
#261 of 342 in Siem Reap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#67 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrasse des Elephants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrasse des Elephants

Property: Terrasse des Elephants
Address: Sivatha Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#118 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Terrasse des Elephants 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is very conveniently located in the heart of Siem Reap town. Surrounded by galleries, boutiques, restaurants & cafes, the central bus station, the Old Market (Phsar Chas) and the Pub Street, our hotel guests have everything in just 3 mins walking distance. The hotel is a perfect place to start your explorations of one of the world's architectural wonders, the famous temples of Angkor. The hotel is approximately 6km from Siem Reap International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Terrasse des Elephants reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrasse Des Elephants Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing