We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cambodia ballooning...”
Review of Angkor Balloon

Angkor Balloon
Ranked #113 of 265 Outdoor Activities in Siem Reap
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Reviewed 5 April 2014

It's fun to go hot air ballooning whenever, wherever. We jumped at the chance to balloon in Siem Reap. The float lasted almost an hour, it was a calm morning although a bit hazy. We floated near one of the smaller temple complexes and got a good look at the Cambodian countryside. We were a little uncomfortable dropping candy to the children who relentlessly chased the balloon. The cost was $125 per person, the crew was organized, professional and we felt safe at all times. All in all, it was a fun way to start a day of touring the Angkor Wat area.

11  Thank klong1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmieVyn, Manager at Angkor Balloon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Thank you for your review, however it appears this is addressed to Angkor Hot Air Balloon and not to us.
Angkor Balloon is a tethered helium balloon which is attached to the ground by a mechanical rope and ascends to 100 meters.
Our Balloon is located only 800 meters from the main entrance of Angkor Wat (West entrance) and you can observe Angkor Wat, Phnom Bakheng and West Baray. In clear-sky conditions you will even observe the Tonle Sap Lake and Phnom Khrom.
Our basket can welcome up to 30 persons comfortably and costs only US$20 per adult, US$10 for children below 12 years old and free of charge for children below 6 yeras old.
Please kindly address this review to the rightful business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"hot air balloon"
in 8 reviews
"tethered balloon"
in 6 reviews
"aerial view"
in 3 reviews
"tonle sap"
in 2 reviews
"temple complex"
in 2 reviews
"windy"
in 6 reviews
"ground"
in 9 reviews
"height"
in 5 reviews
"camera"
in 12 reviews
"elevation"
in 2 reviews
"angkor"
in 17 reviews
"activity"
in 3 reviews
"field"
in 3 reviews
Filter

36 - 40 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

We looked forward to the balloon ride over Angkor. However, it was cancelled at the last moment with no explanation or alternative options given. The weather was perfect, with blue skies and no wind.

7  Thank Dajoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmieVyn, Manager at Angkor Balloon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience at Angkor Balloon.
Since your visit the management of the balloon has changed (Mid March 2018).
We have since put in place better tools to monitor the weather and avoid last minute cancellations.
We also do daily safety checks and routine maintenance to avoid any disappointment.
We hope you can give us another chance on your next visit to Siem Reap.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Spotted the Balloon on our way back from Angkor Wat and thought we'd give it a go.
Theres a little kiosk and reception area to wait in. Fan cooled. Sells drinks and pretty decent smoothies! Also gives you a ground view of arces of green paddocks.

It is a bit pricey, if I remember correctly something like $15 AUS? Maybe, but I do remember being a bit iffy about the cost.

You board the balloon platform and are able to freely move around (if you are brave enough) to get different views. Once the balloon is fully extended to the top (it is attached to thick cables) you can see Angkor Wat and some of the other temples too. Its a lovely view, I really enjoyed it! My sister didn't so much, she felt very unsteady on her feet and refused to move from her achored spot.

I'd definitely recommend it for people interested in photographing the landscrape. I was quite shocked at just how far and wide the green paddocks and farm stretched before hitting the forest that leads to Angkor and the temples.

10  Thank Anneliese21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmieVyn, Manager at Angkor Balloon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Thank you for sharing your positive experience at Angkor Balloon.
We are glad you enjoyed this unique attraction. Angkor Balloon does offer a great view of the area such as Angkor Wat, Phnom Bakheng and West Baray. In clear-sky conditions you will even observe the Tonle Sap Lake and Phnom Khrom.
Since your visit our kiosk has changed and is now operated by Gelato Lab which makes the best home made Italian ice cream.
Thank you for having recommended our activity!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

excellent view of angkor from the top of the balloon! the cost is around 20 per person for about a 10 minute trip. i liked it and really enjoyed the view. i wanted to see angkor from an aerial view but the helicopter ride was too expensive. this was a nice alternative. recommend!

7  Thank jillkoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmieVyn, Manager at Angkor Balloon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Thank you for recommending Angkor Balloon.
We are glad you enjoyed the flight and the unique sights it has to offer such as Angkor Wat, Phnom Bakheng and West Baray. In clear-sky conditions you will even observe the Tonle Sap Lake and Phnom Khrom.
Thank you for your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We chose this to see Angkor from the sky without risking our lives in a light aircraft. It is some distance from Angkor Wat so not for photography unless you have a super long lens. It is better than the regular hot air balloon as they don't fly over Angkor Wat at all. This is a hot air balloon that rises attached to a cable so felt very safe. They are meticulous about weather conditions so if it is windy they won't fly. The day we booked (at 5pm based on other reviews) it had not flown all day but started just before 5 so worth going even if you haven't seen it up in the air all day. We had booked but there was hardly anyone there (probably because of that fact). Takes about 10 mins. It can go up to 200m but only went to 72m for our flight because of weather. Apparently at this time of year it never really goes above 100m so we went for it anyway. Glad we did as it gives a great perspective of how big Angkor and surrounding moat is. Good views of whole area. Worth the $15 each but wouldn't have paid much more than that. Obviously would be much better at 200m but still glad we did it.

14  Thank Ozetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmieVyn, Manager at Angkor Balloon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Thank you for sharing your positive experience of Angkor Balloon.
We are glad you enjoyed the flight and the surroundings.
We now fly only up to 100 meters as it gives more time to stay in stationary position and gives a closer view of Angkor Wat to allow better pictures.
We do take safety very seriously and therefore we adapt our operations to the weather conditions when necessary.
Thank you for your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Angkor Balloon also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Angkor Balloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing