We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place but strange arrival”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Siem Reap
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bayon Garden Guesthouse
Ranked #261 of 521 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Before we arrived we heard about this place in the "stefan loose" forum. the reviews about the rooms and the owners were only good so we checked the price on their page, saw the pictures and looked forward to come here. we didn't make a reservation because of low season.
We arrived around 7:30am and one of the stuff was cleaning the garden and opened the door for us. she was very friendly, gave us water and told us that the owner is sleeping until 8am so we waited in the garden. when the owner came out of the house at 8am he was very angry with the staff woman about let us wait and not wake him up. he asked us how long we waited, screamed at her again and brought us to the room. he told us that they normally are closed because of low season, we told him we can go somewhere else (because the atmosphere was strange) but he didn't answer - we were also wondering cause there was a sign on the street "ask for low season price" and no hint that they are closed on the website as well as other people staying there...
then we asked for the price and he asked us if we didn't inform us before because its written in the internet - we just wanted to improve the information cause often other places websites were not up to date... we checked in cause we were tired after an overnight bus but normally we would leave the place beeing treated like that.
In the afternoon he walked under our balcony and told us - very friendly - that we just come over to his house if we need anything or have a question.
we did not go to him but we stayed 5 nights and we're sure that it was just the wrong moment to arrive.
the rooms are just great - we took the backpacker room for 8$ low season price and got a huge room with a really nice balcony over the beautyful garden. we never had such a nice bathroom / shower in south east asia before!
wrong moment at the perfect place as you also find everything you need closed to the place.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thore K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayon-garden, Owner at Bayon Garden Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

dear thore k,

thank you for your review, but i think this is all a big misunderstanding. since we have our guesthouse in siem reap i am the fist one who stands up (which is something between 4:30 and 5:00 am) and i am as well the last one who goes to bed (this is often late, because i like to get in conversations with our guests). the thing is just so easy...i've oversleept! for that i am of course very sorry. but you are not right in saying that i scream to my stuff. there is a big difference between screaming and trying to bring your staff on the right track. otherwise how would you or your girlfriend react, when your staff tell the guests things which are not true?

i think we all were tired, because when i ask if you like to room during we walk to the backpackers you've said yes...then in front of the door it was not possible for you to open the door because your turn the knob in the wrong direction. so you don't have a look to the room after i ask you again if you are sure to be in it before. this happens when you are tired. i am not complaining...it is more or less kind of funny.

it is very sad that you two refuse to have a talk in the afternoon. instead of that you write a review which puts myself entirely into the wrong light.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed at the Bayon Garden guesthouse and felt almost like we were at home. Frank and Tanja were very hospitable and very helpful with travel arrangements. They were also very patient with indecisiveness about which room we wanted and our friend coming to stay with us in our room. It was great to just be sitting down in front of the guesthouse and have a little chat with them. We loved the breakfast and the garden.
We would recommend staying in the backpackers room if you don't mind it getting a little warmer in the night but we thought the rooms were nicer and we really enjoyed the gardenview from the balcony.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Bayon Garden was extremely comfortable...good A/C, comfortable bed, hot shower and basically quiet. Frank & Tanya were extremely kind and helpful. The best part was that they connected us with Da, one of the Tuk Tuk drivers they are associated with. We had a wonderful 3 days traveling to all the temples with Da. He shared information about his family, took us to other sites, suggested places to eat and shared meals with us. We were sad to leave!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank minglisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We didn't find the hosts to be that friendly or helpful, bordering on judgmental, but in fairness we were moving through quickly. Room was hot, fan was largely ineffective, but tidy enough. Nice spacious shower (finally some room for a tall human). Quiet and slightly off the beaten track but easy walk to old market part of Siem Reap. Organised a good tour guide for the temples. Reliable.

Room Tip: Try and get air-con
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bailey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayon-garden, Owner at Bayon Garden Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

dear bailey,

to our mind it is not fair to judge about our character. you and michelle book just one night at the backpackers. we take our job very serious and we are friendly to everybody.

when you are complaining that we are not helpful, how is it possible to organize a good tour guide for the temples for you. it was a hard job to find a good one in highseason, because you don't book any guide in advance. so we think this was very helpful...wasn't it?

we although don't understand why you complain about the room. you have booked one double room for one night. for 10 usd you can not expect a room with an aircon. it should be not a surprise that the temperature in cambodia is a little bit higher than in new zeeland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Quality place, overall good value for money. I had a nice quiet room. Location is decent, everything in Siem Reap very closeby. Staff were quite helpful doing some travel arrangements for my visit to the temples.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank downunderinbangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Hospitality of the wife and the husband is just great. They greeted you upon arrival and made you feel a total at home, introducing all the dogs that they have. I went with 2friends and have shared a backpacker room.

Don't think of having a lift up to carry your luggage so travel light. We climbed 3storey up and entered the room.

It was better than we thought. Very spacious and had even a balcony! Towels are cleaned. No awkward smell lingering in the room. There were mosquito net on top of two double king size bed.

However, the room gets extremely hot during day time. The one small pathetic fan installed on top of one of the bed wasn't sufficient to cool the air in the room.

Mosquitos started buzzing in even in the day. Mosquito net have some black particles lingering on the net.

Water tap was on and off working.

We didn't manage to handle the heat until the end of the day, we checked out during the afternoon and changed hotel. We requested for a a/c room after discovering all the above, however it was fully booked.

It was really a good backpacker hotel if you wouldn't mind the heat and Mosquitos. No doubt of the service and hospitality they have for every guest. Customer service was simply excellent.

Room Tip: If decided onto this , please get a air conditioned room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynniewong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayon-garden, Owner at Bayon Garden Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

dear guests,

we are very sorry that you can´t stand the temperature during daytime in a double room with fan and balcony. the room cost 10 usd per night. we are still fully booked, so it is hard for my wife and myself to carry the luggage of every guest. maybe this is more popular in the 5 star hotels with more staff than we have.

we offer at any time our help with getting rid of the mosquitos. maybe next time you just tell us when you need support.

again...we are a guesthouse and you decide to have a room with a fan for 10 usd. i think you can not compare a 10 dollar clean and nice backpackers guesthouse with a big hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

After spending 5 nights in a fan only room at this guesthouse we have a mixed review to offer. First the good stuff. Excellent location within a 5 minute walk of the main tourist area, but on a quiet side street away from all the noise. Our room was very large, with a private balcony, 2 double beds, ensuite bathroom, along with plenty of furniture to store your stuff in. The room was very clean with daily housekeeping. Shower was good with plenty of hot water and good water pressure.

Breakfast was good value, cheap and very filling.

On the negative side, we found the room to be very hot especially in the late afternoon and early evening during this time of year. It was just bearable with the fan. There were no screens on the windows, so in the evening, lots of bugs got into the room. Each bed had a mosquito net, which was fine for sleeping, but not ideal when you were just relaxing in the room. Towels were not changed during the time we were there. I'm sure if we had said something, they would have changed them though. But it wasn't done automatically.

For only $10 a night, it was excellent value, but we would recommend the air conditioned rooms if you can afford it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristinaAndChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0 mi away
Shinta Mani Shack
Shinta Mani Shack
#9 of 378 in Siem Reap
2,283 reviews
0 mi away
Lotus Blanc Resort
Lotus Blanc Resort
#38 of 378 in Siem Reap
2,587 reviews
0 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#43 of 378 in Siem Reap
5,459 reviews
0 mi away
Kiri Boutique Hotel
Kiri Boutique Hotel
#155 of 378 in Siem Reap
520 reviews
0 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#60 of 378 in Siem Reap
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayon Garden Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayon Garden Guesthouse

Address: #0112 G7, Watdamnak Village | Salakamrourk Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #261 of 521 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing