We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The King Angkor Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The King Angkor Villa
Ranked #299 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Bristol
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A good place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Me and my Boyfriend stayed here for 4 nights and really enjoyed it. The rooms were really good value for money (fan) and the staff were lovely. Right from the start they made us feel at home and went out of their way to speak to us.
We booked the tuk tuk driver Jin to take us to Angkor Wat and he really made it for us. Don't get me wrong the temples were incredible but getting to know Jin was the icing on the cake. He was eager to learn English and we had a fantastic day with him.
I agree the breakfast isn't the best but we got it at no extra charge anyway.
It's a 5 ,minute walk from the night market and 'pub street' but even at the night the streets are well lit and perfectly safe.
Would recommend

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank selina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    31
    17
    11
    11
See reviews for
5
35
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

We stayed here recently. They took us in because the accommodation we had already booked was flooded.

The room was big and the beds comfy. One sheet was stained but it wasn't a big problem as the other single bed was big enough for two.

The staff were really friendly and helpful and always said hello to us. We booked a tour with them to Angkor Wat which was fairly cheap and his English was good so we learnt a little about the history and culture too. He walked round with us, gave us plenty of breaks and was really knowledgable with a sense of humour.

There are only two issues. Firstly breakfast service was slow, as in 45mins slow. Secondly we booked minivan tickets through them. Their tuc tuc driver who took us to where we got the minivan wrote down our names. When we got to Phnom Penh there was a man holding a sign with my fiances name on it. Strange as the hotel we had booked was in my name and they didnt know any details of our arrival. When we politely declined to take a tuc tuc to angkor villas sister hotel in p.p the driver got aggressive asking us why we wouldnt go. His friend even joined in asking us which guesthouse we had booked in to. Problem was resolved by us walking away. I get the impression that lower down staff are friendly and helpful its just when you leave the management are desperate to get you to stay at their sister hotel in p.p hence why they asked for our names. We had booked elsewhere to stay as their sister hotel has had terrible reviews.

I would recommend this place but just be wary of giving your name to their tuc tuc driver if you are leaving for phnom penh by minivan.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

1. overpriced for an english illiterate tuk tuk driver to temple & tonle sap lake for 4 days cost usd50. temple travel itinerary were not clearly written. after hostel receive our full payment, our assigned tuk tuk driver rode of the last tuk tuk motor with another 2 guests while we were having breakfast. causing us to take bicycle to tour ourselves around siem reap town under the hot sun.
2. force to pay usd5 for tuk tuk service to siem reap airport (we were inform its free pick up & drop off before arriving).
3. poor cleanliness. breakfast scramble egg has many black ants. mops are wear off & dirty. room were not clean before we stay in. room easily dusty when open window. the toilet bowl exterior (at the bottom is broken giving a vomiting sight every time using the toilet).
4. room attract ants every day for the slightest sweet food in the room e.g. small candy. crickets invading room every night.
5. staffs are hard to communicate due to poor spoken & understanding of english.
6. staying for 5 nights in this guesthouse is a torture every night after a tiring day at the temple. i am glad not to take the breakfast package as the ants in the eggs are disgusting!
7. the illiterate tuk tuk driver cause the whole temple journey very unpleasant, not informative and lost.

Room Tip: stay hotel. take outside tuk tuk service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleLengLui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

We stayed two nights in the hotel while visiting one day Angkor Wat in between. The rooms were pretty much what you expect to get for that money - somewhat worn out and bathroom in not that good shape. There was no safe deposit box so you had to either carry the valuables with you or lock them in your bag.

The breakfast that was included was pretty simple. We took the tuktuk from hotel for one day after negotiating the price for some time - after which we got it for 11usd to do the angkor wat daytrip.

The location is slightly off the center, but its not that far away to walk to the markets and/or bar street and its more quiet this way.

The hotel staff was friendly and there were also able to book us bus tickets for the following morning from Siem Reap to BKK.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank opi8866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schwaebisch Gmuend, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2010

My evaluation is taking into account that it is a guesthouse and not a 5star Hotel. As a Guesthouse it is really good. They offer nice food, as well as they help with organize your trip to Angkor Wat and the other Wat's by organize safe tucktuck. They also sell Bus tickets to BKK and Lao.
Nice place

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taucherli1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2010

The only good thing about this hotel was its price. At first the staff seemed friendly enough - they wanted us to take one of their tuk-tuks around Angkor, which we did on day one. After that, every time they saw us they were hassling us to go again. Eventually I told one of them that we would come to them if we wanted another tour and that they didn't need to ask us every time we came in or out of the hotel. After that most of the staff wouldn't even say hello to us.

The room was fine; for five dollars we got two (quite comfortable) double beds, a tiny TV with cable and a hot shower (eventually - they had to fix it first and it took five staff-members in our bathroom to do so). The restaurant was overpriced with extremely slow service and bad food - eat out if you do stay here. The location was OK, about ten minutes walk to the centre of town. The free internet was a sham - They have four dos-era computers in the corner of the restaurant, two of which do not work. The staff hover over you while you check your email making it an uncomfortable experience.

Ultimately, I wouldn't stay here again - once the staff realised that they weren't going to be able to milk us for every cent, they turned pretty hostile. There are far better budget options available.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoxingHercules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2010

The upstairs rooms are pretty average and the downstairs ones were really damp and musty, im sure the huge crack in our bathtub upstairs wasnt helping the situation.
When we were leaving my partner found that his flip flops (a brand new pair of Havaianas) which they make you leave outside were missing. When we informed the staff they said that its not a problem and just to take someone elses! Even picking up different guests flipflops to give to us!
Obviously we explained that this wasnt acceptable, and by giving us an other guests shoes meant that they would be faced with the same problem, but they told us it was fine and not to worry!
We asked them for a couple of dollars so we could go to the market and get another pair and then, like one of the other reviewers mentioned, the boss who previously spoke english had now apparently lost the ability to mutter a word. When one of the other staff members couldnt understand why we wouldnt just take another pair he started getting irate and shouting at us. We couldnt believe it.
Anyway, the flip flops could have been taken from any hotel and wasnt the fault of the staff but the fact they were pretty much forcing us to steal another pair and then getting angry when we wouldnt just goes to show that they are dishonest and that the hotel should be avoided.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nsw306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.4 mi away
Tanei Boutique Villa
Tanei Boutique Villa
#136 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Um Theara
Villa Um Theara
#153 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auberge Mont-Royal d'Angkor
Auberge Mont-Royal d'Angkor
#134 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Concept Residence
The Concept Residence
#313 of 339 in Siem Reap
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kingfisher Angkor Hotel
Kingfisher Angkor Hotel
#206 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mekong Angkor Palace Hotel
Mekong Angkor Palace Hotel
#150 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King Angkor Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King Angkor Villa

Property: The King Angkor Villa
Address: 251 Samdech Tep Vong Street | Steng Thmey Village, Svaydandukm District, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #299 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The King Angkor Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Angkor is a best place to stay. It's located in the heart of Siem Reap town where only a few minute walk to Old Market and Pub Street. The building is new with balcony in front. Some rooms are decorated with Khmer Style Art. We have pick up service free of charge when you arrive in Siem Reap town, you just email detail information (bus station, boat ferry, airport). We have restaurant, internet access, package tour and travel agent at the ground. Our rooms are cleanly decorated by the structural Khmer art with a pleasant atmosphere in a large size with big window, private bathroom, balcony (front). We have 35 rooms available which are listed under four different categories. Children under 12 who share a bed with their parents stay free, and we will happily provide cots for babies. Each extra bed in a room is free of charge. Check in is from 7 am and check out is 12 noon. Credit cards are not a problem, we accept Visa, Master Card, JCB and American Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your The King Angkor Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King Angkor Villa Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing