We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not honest or fair….no good will”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The King Angkor Villa
Ranked #299 of 342 Hotels in Siem Reap
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not honest or fair….no good will”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Phoned to make a booking while travelling in a taxi from a Province outside Siem Reap. Accommodation options were tight in SR because its Chinese New Year. I was given a price on the phone - $30 a night - but - staff said they couldn't take a phone booking - I'd just have to see if there was a room when I arrived (night falling) ….or send someone to pay for the room. When my friend went straight round to pay, they said the room was now $40!!

Why? Because its 'Chinese New Year' and although we had an agreement for the price - when I arrived (within the hour) there was a 30% increase. And that was that.

No offer to help with the bags, WiFi doesn't work, nor does the TV reception (its a provider problem apparently..)

Table cloths are dirty - but the scrambled eggs were good.

I would not recommend staying here because some of the staff are dodgy and thats just not good for tourists.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    31
    17
    11
    11
See reviews for
5
35
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Landshut, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I liked that it was not in the backpackers area. So if you're looking for a quite place then this is the perfect location. It's not very far from the tourist area and they have tuks tuks and motos outside the hotel which makes it easy to get to many places. It's also very handy that they do bus tickets, tours and also visas. The people that run the place are nice and not too in your face and you feel you can trust them.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jankowski m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

It's situated within walking distance to anywhere so we found to be very helpful!! The tour that was organized by the hotel was good value for money and we saw everything in a day - as there was just us two on the tour we could spend as long or as little as we wanted at each stop!!! Highly recommended - the internet is $1 for an hour but it is fast!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank proffitt e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

English-speaking staff, good tuc tuc and other travel services, clean rooms. Location is a bit outside in a more shabby area, but tuc tuc for 5US$ is available to the sights and nice places in the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sturgill a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

What was the King Angkor Guesthouse is now just The King Boutique . With that said we found the rooms (we booked two with kids) clean and fine with ageing TVs and no mini bar. The staff are helpful and friendly with limited English. The have put in a new pool and are upgrading their wifi (poor coverage where our rooms were 204 &. 205). Ten minute easy walk to the main hub. Overall we would stay here again. Breakfast is eggs done anyway you want.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Graven556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful staff, very good priced accommodation for what it was. Pool was cold and didn't get much sun though. Free breakfast was minimal. DO NOT do your laundry here as they do not know the concept of washing white and colours separately. Very disappointed with the laundry service, as well as being more expensive than other places around town at $1.50 per kilo.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaayze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Was really looking forward to a pool at this hotel..when we arrived and got past all the rubble we were greeted by a dirty pond like area which I'm guessing should have been the pool?!
Staff were friendly enough gave us a drink on arrival. The room and bathroom were okay but there were so many bugs all over the floor and the room wasn't cleaned once.
Alright location took about 5/10 mins to walk to pub street.
Will be a nice place once all the construction has been done but on our stay was abit lacking! Would have been nice to have known before booking it was under construction as may not have been willing to pay as much!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#84 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kandal Village Inn
Kandal Village Inn
#220 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tanei Boutique Villa
Tanei Boutique Villa
#140 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Auberge Mont-Royal d'Angkor
Auberge Mont-Royal d'Angkor
#136 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Reaksmey Chanreas Hotel
Reaksmey Chanreas Hotel
#184 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travellerhome Angkor
Travellerhome Angkor
#190 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King Angkor Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King Angkor Villa

Property: The King Angkor Villa
Address: 251 Samdech Tep Vong Street | Steng Thmey Village, Svaydandukm District, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #299 of 342 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The King Angkor Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Angkor is a best place to stay. It's located in the heart of Siem Reap town where only a few minute walk to Old Market and Pub Street. The building is new with balcony in front. Some rooms are decorated with Khmer Style Art. We have pick up service free of charge when you arrive in Siem Reap town, you just email detail information (bus station, boat ferry, airport). We have restaurant, internet access, package tour and travel agent at the ground. Our rooms are cleanly decorated by the structural Khmer art with a pleasant atmosphere in a large size with big window, private bathroom, balcony (front). We have 35 rooms available which are listed under four different categories. Children under 12 who share a bed with their parents stay free, and we will happily provide cots for babies. Each extra bed in a room is free of charge. Check in is from 7 am and check out is 12 noon. Credit cards are not a problem, we accept Visa, Master Card, JCB and American Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The King Angkor Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King Angkor Villa Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing