We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Variety Vietnamese Buffet”

Tonle Chaktomuk Restaurant
Ranked #543 of 869 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Price range: US$8 - US$12
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Cambodian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tonle Chaktomuk is the junction between the upper and lower Mekong, the Bassac and the Tonle Sap rivers. The Chaktomuk is therefore vital to the flow distribution between the four river branches. Development at Chaktomuk has the potential to impact on the entire lower Mekong River including the delta area in Vietnam and Cambodia’s Tonle Sap Great Lake.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Variety Vietnamese Buffet”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The food was good, with great variety of food, even their desserts is having so many to choose from. Has free WIFI connectivity. Service was average but promptly. I like the steam beef entrails very much but definitely not the snails. Many tourists but not too crowded.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Forevermui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    14
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“delicious”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Tonle Chaktomuk is a fantastic restaurant. It's an all you can eat buffet for $5-6.
The food is really nice and there is also dessert. If you like asian food this is the place to go.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“So many dishes”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

You pay a single entry fee and then you can eat all you want at this large buffet restaurant. There are so many different styles of Asian food on offer that it is impossible to try them all on one visit. I particularly enjoyed the chicken with peanut satay, prawn crackers and the sugar-cane juice. My Vietnamese colleagues tucked into the snails and the seafood. To be honest, I prefer more simple eateries but this place is a must-visit if you're in Siem Reap.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank danstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Too many dishes to choose from”
Reviewed 11 December 2011

the food was good. there were so many dishes that we were not able to try all, i liked the amok fish- very different- very tasty. the shaved-ice with the beans and palm sugar was delightful, and not forget the durian ice cream

Helpful?
2 Thank jegaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerringong
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Huge range and a bit overwhelming”
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Not the place for an intimate dinner. Thankfully, with 35 others in the group, intimacy wasn't what I was after. I'm not sure that what was on offer here was either though. They have a huge range of food types - an enormous buffet experience - but unless you're particularly adventurous, much of it will remain untried. What we did try was very nice though and the service was very good. We got to enjoy a shadow puppet show - traditional Khmer style - and it was very good and certainly added to the experience. Not sure I'd do it again though.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goddo555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tonle Chaktomuk Restaurant also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Tonle Chaktomuk Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing