We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay at an unbelieveable [inexpensive] price”
Review of Angkor Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Ranked #91 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We chose this hotel after reading positive reports on this site, after our experience in the Philippines early in the year this decision was made with some caution. We were not disappointed on this occasion. Location is just outside the busy tourist area but close enough to walk to Pub Street and the restaurants [if you don't want to spend the $1 on a Tuk Tuk]. The hotel is clean, convenient and comfortable. Staff at Angkok Pearl were wonderful overall but a special mention should go to Mr Theoung and Ms Maly at reception and Ms Sok Heng and Ms Soro the housekeepers on the 3rd floor. We had taken the special offer on the web but because of a better offer after we arrived we stayed in one of the suites [$30]. When we return to Siem Reap we will seek accomodation here.

Room Tip: Ask and then inspect - staff don't mind
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard4801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,445)
There are newer reviews for Angkor Pearl Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,087 - 1,093 of 1,445 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed at the Angkor Pearl hotel at the end of last month. The angkor pearl is a great hotel. The staff is all very friendly, helpful, and there for you if you need anything. The room was very clean and spacious. It was in walking distance to pub street, and lots of other restaurants and stores. The hotel restaurant was also very good, as it had about 6 different options that you could choose from, and was for a very reasonable price. The hotel as a whole was a great value for the money, and truly made our trip to Siem Reap special.

The highlight of our trip was the driver that we were connected with through the hotel. After reading numerous reviews on here for Sam Tuktuk, we decided that we wanted to have him as our driver during our time in Siem Reap. We emailed him and were very fortunate to find out that he was available for the dates needed. Sam picked us up from the airport in his car (complimentary) and drove us to the hotel. The nice thing about Sam's services is that he gives his guests the choice between using his car or his tuktuk. After we arrived at the hotel, Sam sat with us and helped us plan our itinerary for the next few days. He gave us some suggestions as to what he would recommend as far as an Angkor Wat itinerary, but he was very caring and listened to our input, and gave us prices upfront so that we would know what to expect for our adventure. We agreed to meet the next morning to start our adventure. We utilized Sam's tuktuk for our adventures. Sam is a very safe and cautious driver, and I felt very comfortable riding around in his tuktuk. His tuktuk was in excellent condition and was very roomy. Sam took us around to everywhere that we wanted to see, and was excellent about stopping whenever we asked to take a picture. On our way to Banteay Srei, Sam took us on a less traveled route, that allowed us to take in an amazing view of some gorgeous rice fields. It was apparent that Sam put alot of care into ensuring that his guests were getting the experience that they wanted. At each of the temples, Sam was able to give us some basic background info about the temple. His English was excellent, as he also use to live in the U.S., so he speaks very well. My husband and I are both into getting to know about the local culture, and so one of the highlights of our time with Sam was when he took us to his home village, where his wife had prepared us a home cooked meal and we could meet his family. This experience was so enlightening, and it was truly a special moment to see how life in Cambodia is away from the touristy spots. Sam made our trip to Cambodia so memborable and enjoyable, and I would definitely recommend him to anyone looking for a great driver. He can be requested directly via contacting the hotel, or you can find him on facebook under "Sam Tuktuk".

Overall, the experience at the Angkor Pearl was amazing. We would without hesitation stay there again :)

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank _steph91986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

My wife and I chose the Angkor Pearl as we had read such excellent reviews. We were not disappointed! The staff were incredibly helpful at all times. We were let into our room well before the official check in time. The room was spacious, very clean and well equipped, with excellent wi-fi. We chose to eat in the hotel in the evening and the food was good and reasonably priced. For the price we paid, we cannot find fault with the hotel in any way.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank collarbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

If you're looking for somewhere reasonably priced in a great location and great rooms then look no further than the Angkor Pearl Hotel. Everything about his place oozes charm - the rooms are excellent, beds extremely comfortable, though like most places in Cambodia - rock hard pillows! Great shower, good, fast internet connection and plenty of TV channels.

Good location - approx 10 minutes walk from Pub Street or $1US in a tuk-tuk.

This place is bargain prices for an extremely good, well run hotel. I highly recommend this place to anyone looking to spend more than one night in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craig0williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

My partner and I stayed here from 26 May 2011 to 28 May 2011. We picked the hotel after reading rave reviews in trip advisor and agoda. The key selling point of the hotel is the close location to pub street. Although you will need to walk for about 10-15 minutes distance. You will appreciate this as I heard hotels which are located close to Pub Street can get noisy at night.

Tucked in a quiet back alley of busy street, this hotel’s exterior may not be appealing to all. However, upon stepping inside, you will feel comfortable by the cosy setting and warm service by the staff. Checkin is fast and the staff took time to explain some service they provide. The rooms are cleans, complete with toiletries and slippers. It even comes with free wifi service.

The only thing I do not like so much is:
1. The hotel has no elevators. But fortunately, I am staying at level 2, so a little climbing is okay.
2. Hotel laundry service time could be reduced to below 12 hours instead of 24 hours.

Overall, I have enjoyed my stay at the hotel. For the price of 19USD per night, it is certainly a steal.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank touristmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Right from the beginning when we booked this hotel through Agoda, and then again to extend our stay, the service and attentiveness of the hotel staff was exemplary. I have seldom stayed anywhere else which put so much effort into sorting things out for you. We had a couple of minor issues with a lightbulb and safe not working which were sorted out immediately after reporting and a basket of fruit left in our room on the house.

We also managed to get the extended booking cheaper than with Agoda. Whilst this isn't usual for agoda, I took advantage of the hotel's tripadvisor offer. We ended up staying almost a week and enjoyed it very much. Peter Phuong at the hotel was most helpful and sorted out any query, issue, enquiry immediately.

The rooms are of a better than 3 star quality, very clean with excellent mattresses. It's about 10-15 minutes walk to pub street or $1 in a tuk-tuk which wait outside. This means you are not in the midst of the loud strip which goes on til late. There is a good western style supermarket less than 5 minutes away and lots of local restaurants in a street parallel some of which are worth trying.

Highly recommended!

Shelley
http://shelleytravel.wordpress.com/

Room Tip: Towards the back and on the first floor.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eat1Drink2Travel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Overall hotel environment is cozy, with kind and nice staffs await for your request. I liked especially the services provided by our tuk tuk driver, Mr Chea. On one raining morning, he slept in his tuk tuk for us because we wanted to catch the sunrise at Angkor Wat. However, we postponed it to the following day. The manager of the hotel is always been very helpful and attentive too. I definitely will recommend to any of my friends who are going to Cambodia to stay at this great hotel.

Room Tip: Free WiFi in room
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank louislem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#88 of 361 in Siem Reap
869 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#39 of 361 in Siem Reap
492 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#48 of 361 in Siem Reap
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Okay 1 Villa
Okay 1 Villa
#152 of 361 in Siem Reap
501 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kiri Boutique Hotel
Kiri Boutique Hotel
#141 of 361 in Siem Reap
511 reviews
0.0 mi away
Parklane Hotel
Parklane Hotel
#138 of 361 in Siem Reap
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkor Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Pearl Hotel

Address: Tapoul Village, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: £14 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Angkor Pearl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Team New Services New facilities New ways to Make you smile Oct. 2011. New and improved Angkor Pearl ensuring the best value in Cambodian Hotels run and managed by Cambodian-Americans. At Angkor Pearl Hotel, we pride ourselves on quality of service on a genuinely high level and an emphasis on catering to our guest’s every need with courtesy and warmth. Angkor Pearl Hotel is Cambodian owned, operated, and managed by Cambodian Americans since February of 2010. The story behind the pearl dates back years when Cambodia gained independence from France and King Sihanouk called the Capitol "The Pearl of Asia." Hence, we call ourselves The Pearl of Siem Reap. The Angkor Pearl Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Siem Reap. A brisk 10 minute walk lead you to the center market where you can shop for food, clothes, souvenirs, and many more. Getting to the Temples is just as easy. A scenic 15 minute drive will take you back in time to the Khmer civilization where you will discover all of Angkor’s natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Angkor Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing