We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service and a great hotel”
Review of Angkor Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Ranked #92 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2012

From the welcome glass of delicious juice, to the complimentary breakfast that we enjoyed each day, even when we needed to eat before regular breakfast hours, to the sincere thank you offered when we left, we had a fantastic stay at the Angkor Pearl, and I highly recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ecaballus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

975 - 981 of 1,446 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2012

I decided to book this hotel after seeing that they won the travelers choice award for best budget hotel in Siem Reap looking at the travelers photos and the professional photos, we decided that it would be a good booking.
We pre-arranged the free airport pickup with the hotel before we left for our vacation and when we arrived at Siem Reap airport there was a friendly smiley Cambodian driver waiting for us there (Thoeun) who took our bags welcomed us to Siem Reap and got us on our merry way to the hotel.
Once along the way to the hotel the Thoeun was constantly checking if we were OK and pointing out different points of interest along the way.
When we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted by Punlok who was the person that I corresponding with via e-mail, I felt it was a nice touch finally being able to put a face to a name.
We were shown to our room, the room was extremely clean and considering the price, extremely big with Aircon, Satellite TV and a safe deposit box to put all your valuables.
After our bags were taken up and us checked in we spoke with the tuk-tuk driver Thoeun about what we wanted to do in the 3 days we had in Siem Reap, he worked out our itinery with us and seemed genuinely concerned about what we wanted to do and not pushy to sell his service. He was extremely helpful and told us he worked only for the hotel and travels in from his village every day to show tourists at the hotel his beautiful city. Even on our last day at the hotel (despite him having family commitments) he insisted on taking us to the airport personally.
I would really recommend him for anyone interested you can check his services on his site www.wix.com/thoeun/tuktuk

We got up the next day early to see the sunrise at Angkor Wat, the hotel provided with a simple packed breakfast of bread and jam but it did the job. The staff always welcomed us and acknowledged us when we arrived back at the hotel and were always checking if everything was OK.
The waiter in the restaurant Mr. Rong was extremely courteous and helped us with our chairs and napkins and made you feel like royalty rather than just a simple hotel guest. The housekeeping staff were quick efficient and friendly always saying hello to you in the morning and always keeping the room spotlessly clean.
All in all Cambodia has a very special place in our heart and when we do return we will definitely be staying at the Angkor Pearl again and be using Thoeun as our tuk-tuk driver again!

Room Tip: request Thoeun as your driver with the hotel directly excellent driver and good value for money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jac321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We felt welcomed since the very start. As soon as we landed, one of the hotel's tuk tuk drivers was already there waiting for us. Thoeun ended up being our driver for the entire stay.

Our check in time was 12 pm but we were able to go to our room about 3 hours earlier free of charge which was excellent after having an early morning flight. While we waited for our room (for less than 15 minutes), Thoeun was telling us all about the the city and asking us what we expected to see. We felt that he was not pushy or forced at all and that he was truly trying to help us to decide on what to do in such short time. My husband and I would really recommend him as he catered to our needs and was very helpful. If you want to contact him, he has a website that you can check: www.wix.com/thoeun/tuktuk.

The employees at the front desk, Mr Punlok, Miss Sonita and Mr Bross, always greeted us and were very attentive. Mr Rong, the employee who works morning shifts at the restaurant, is also always smiling and is incredibly polite, pulling the chairs out for you and even helping you with your napkin! By the way, the food there is really good. For breakfast you have quite a few options and we actually had several meals at the hotel because it was not overpriced and it tasted really good!

Location is excellent, far from noisy bars and still very close to all of the restaurants and local markets (about 10 minutes walk, if that). We did have a safe deposit box in the room, which was a plus, and wireless connection worked in our room. The room is very clean and large for the price that you pay. It feels very cozy because of the beautiful wood work too.

I highly recommend this hotel as it's excellent value for money. When you leave, they also give you a scarf as a present to remind you of your stay in Siem Reap. We will definitely go back to Cambodia, as it was the highlight of our trip, and it's very likely that we will return to the Angkor Pearl Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tat v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Stayed in February 2012 solo and had a great experience. Welcome drink on arrival while they check you in, and the lobby is clean and comfortable. Rooms are a clean, modern and a great value (king bed, fridge, wifi, tv, hot shower for $25). Staff was incredibly helpful and the location is central to Siem Reap and easy walking distance to Pub Street and the river.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

This is a great little hotel in Siam Reap. Walking distance to 'bar street' should you wish to visit (although reminiscent of Benidorm), and plenty of other little restaurants and bars near the hotel. The room was very spacious and clean with a modern bathroom with a powerful shower.
Firm bed (as is fashionable in Aisa) with good clean sheets. The breakfast provided a small but good choice of European and Asian fare. What I really liked about this was that is was freshly prepared to order rather than buffet style.
The reception staff were very helpful and even organised our taxi back to the Thailand border. Be warned that you only get a 15 day visa for Thailand when entering via land rather than via air (when you would get 30 days). The taxi journey organised by the hotel was about 30% cheaper than the taxi organised at the border to Siam Reap.
The only complaint was a tuk tuk driver who picked up from outside the hotel. A young man called 'Tee' who charged well above his quote. The first time we though it was our mistake, but the second time showed a lack of integrity on his part. This however, is out of the control of the hotel.
I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a few nights in Siam Reap. If you can stand to get up at 4.45am - the sun rising over Ankor Wat is something quite special.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_girl_Durham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

from when we were picked up from the airport til when we left i loved this hotel. It was very attractive the rooms were large and comfortable and the staff were wonderful and extremely helpful.
the location isnt the best, it is down a kind of dirt track (as many of the roads in siem reap are) and it is a few dollars in a tuk tuk to the main area where the bars and restuarants are, but if you had been there longer (we were only there two days) im sure there weas a lot to see and do in the surrounding area as well.
we only had breakfast on one day, as the day before we got up before dawn to go to angkor wat, but it is included in the price, and there was quite a good selection - you order off the menu, there is no buffet, and it was very tasty.
This hotel was incredibly good value - it feels like a much more expensive hotel, and i would receommened it to anyone, who is visiting siem reap, which is a really wonderful city.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dell99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

This hotel was recommended to me by a friend and I'm glad I stayed here. The staff were fantastic, extremely helpful and were always smiling! The room was large enough to accommate the four of us and It was very clean and comfortable. The location was good, lots of nearby restaurants and markets. I highly recommend and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.9 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#40 of 361 in Siem Reap
500 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#87 of 361 in Siem Reap
870 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#49 of 361 in Siem Reap
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Parklane Hotel
Parklane Hotel
#138 of 361 in Siem Reap
695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Okay 1 Villa
Okay 1 Villa
#153 of 361 in Siem Reap
507 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kiri Boutique Hotel
Kiri Boutique Hotel
#139 of 361 in Siem Reap
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkor Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Pearl Hotel

Address: Tapoul Village, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: £18 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Angkor Pearl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Team New Services New facilities New ways to Make you smile Oct. 2011. New and improved Angkor Pearl ensuring the best value in Cambodian Hotels run and managed by Cambodian-Americans. At Angkor Pearl Hotel, we pride ourselves on quality of service on a genuinely high level and an emphasis on catering to our guest’s every need with courtesy and warmth. Angkor Pearl Hotel is Cambodian owned, operated, and managed by Cambodian Americans since February of 2010. The story behind the pearl dates back years when Cambodia gained independence from France and King Sihanouk called the Capitol "The Pearl of Asia." Hence, we call ourselves The Pearl of Siem Reap. The Angkor Pearl Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Siem Reap. A brisk 10 minute walk lead you to the center market where you can shop for food, clothes, souvenirs, and many more. Getting to the Temples is just as easy. A scenic 15 minute drive will take you back in time to the Khmer civilization where you will discover all of Angkor’s natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angkor Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing