We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place in 2 month trip”
Review of Angkor Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Ranked #92 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Everything about this place was good for me. the location was close enough to walk to the major markets and places to eat or have a beer. breakfast buffet was good every morning. one morning i came late and a lot of the food was gone. they allowed me to order something off the menu at no cost. the rooms were good too. clean and lots of space. and you could not beat the price

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bennyf44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

899 - 905 of 1,446 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2012

I stayed four nights at the Angkor Pearl,the staff made the visit. Mr. Chants, Mrs Sonata, Mr Punlouk and Mr Rong greeted me everyday in my comings and goings with my name and warm friendly smiles. The hotel was meticulously clean from top to bottom. The location was good but having come from a different hotel in Siem Reap it wasnt as ideal. The only bad thing was breakfast, the food was terrible but offered with a smile!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaceyh402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This hotel is just the best for service and friendliness of staff.

The situation of the hotel is very convenient to go shopping and a good stepping off place to look at the local highlights from.

The rooms are large and comfortable and very clean. The staff all seem to remember your name and you are really made to feel like part of the family. Computers are available in the foyer area for your use during your stay.

While there we used Sam Tuk Tuk - who works from this hotel - to get us around and he too was fantastic. See our separate review on his website Sam Tuk Tuk & Tours-Day Tours. Get to him via a Google search.

Anyone looking for top accommodation at a bargain price just can't go wrong here. The only detraction is that there is no elevator although the bell boys don't mind getting your gear upstairs for you!! Book and enjoy.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarRoadstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This is a fantastic place to stay without spending all your dollars......food at the hotel is well priced and fantastic and breakfast is included also.Fresh bedding,towels etc every day and very very clean.During my 9 night stay here i have become to know the staff very well and all i can say is they are AWESOME.The tuk tuk drivers that are on stand by at the hotel are lovely and i would definetaly recommend using them as your driver to the temples etc for your stay, one good thing is if you have any probs with the quality of service from the drivers you can always complain to the hotel staff and be assured they would rectify the problem however the ones in pub st and around would probably try to charge above the decent amount for the tours etc.I think staying so long here has made the staff seem more like family and will be missed dearly.Close distance to pub st , cheap laundry across the road which i used and was great at $1 for 1kg.Dont let having no pool turn you away as i found most hotels with pools will charge a small amount to use their facilities for the day and some for free .If i return i'll definately be back to this little gem and make sure you take some time to mingle with the staff...a bonus is most speak good english and remember tipping here a little for us goes a long way to the locals no matter your budget.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shareerobin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

This is a really charming hotel in a great city. We were greeted by name, with a smile, and provided with a cold flannel and a complimentary fruit punch. The rooms are beautifully decorated, I would say to western 4* standard, and imprcleccably clean.

There are always tuktuks outside the hotel, and despite some optimistic haggling by the good natured and smiley drivers, they will happily take you to/from pub street area for $1. Otherwise it's just a 15 minute stroll in the more tolerable evening heat.

The restaurant is well priced and serves nicely prepared westen and local food, although you may be tempted to pub street for more choice. There are also two free internet PCs in the bar area and free wifi thoughout. Buffet breakfast is pleasant, with freshly cooked eggs of your choice available on request.

The best bit about the hotel however are the amazingly friendly staff. Both the male and female receptionist were always available to greet you with a smile, and the bar staff can't do enough for you, bringing free iced water when you use the PCs.

Cambodia is a lovely welcoming country, and the Angkor Pearl Hotel opitamises the warm spirit of the country.

Siem Reap is a great town, and we could have stayed longer than the 5 nights. Aside from the Wats there is plenty to do, and we can recommend the cooking classes at La Tigre de Papier and Sunset Quad Biking, both great fun and excellent value for money.

As a suggestion, don't pay over the odds for a shared bus, get a tuktuk to see the Angkor Wat area at your own speed. We paid $15 for the day, and $20 for the sunrise tour, but we have heard you can haggle this down as low as $12.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angry_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of May. We emailed the hotel and Sam to be our driver. Our flight was delayed for about 3 hours due to the weather condition. Sam was very patient and timely responded when I texted him about the delay. We arrived in the late evening and front desk staff are all very helpful. They also helped us book an air ticket from Siem Reap to Phnom Penh. They understand your request and respond timely. The room is big enough for two people and has plenty of space for storage. Air conditioning worked well. The bathroom is clean and neat. The location of the hotel is close enough to the night market and pub street but quiet. Sam took us for two days and his friend Bum took us for the 3rd day. Sam speaks very good English and also brief us about the history and local culture before we visit the temples. He also kindly prepared iced cold water and tissue for us when we come out from the heat. He's also a very cautious driver and always waiting for us on time. He can also spot us when we look for him in the crowd. We did hear some complaints from other tourists about their drivers being late and missing the ideal time to visit the temples. This never happened to us. It's all been nicely arranged. Bum is just as nice as Sam but with less English and a little shy. But that doesn't stop him from being an excellent driver and get everything ready for us. Sam's email is samtuktuk@yahoo.com. We definietly recommend you to contact him in advance. It could save so much time and trouble.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank palmpil0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Stayed here in January 2012. This was a very nice hotel, and for the money must be one of the best value hotels I have stayed in. It is well decorated with traditional wood carvings and does not look budget in anyway whatsoever. The breakfast is cooked to order and is included and was very nice (but traditional food). When I first arrived it was about 7pm and the dimly lit street gave the impression you were in the middle of Beirut. The main street is not tarmacked and the street lights very dim. I did expect the worst, however the hotel was great and the area is safe and the people friendly. The main bar street is about 10 minute’s walk but reminded me of Benidorm . Just music blasting and inflated prices.
One word of caution, be careful of the drivers outside the hotel. They are not affiliated with the hotel and will rip you off if you do not agree the price in advance. One driver in particular called Tee (should be tea leaf) charged us $15 for an early morning trip to Angor Watt which lasted 3 hours. You would normally pay $15 for a whole day or $8 for half a day max, so not impressed, but because we assumed it would be the half day price and did not agree it in advanced he choose to rip us off . I would also say that the Taxi from Poipet tried to drop us off at a relay station which is another scam. Stay in the taxi and insist they take you to the hotel otherwise the drivers mate will scam you for an unnecessary tuk tuk ride. The dry cleaners across the road has dodgy scales and weighs well over the actual amount.
Siem Reap is a dump imo but the temple complex is amazing and deserves at least two days of exploration. I would recommend you take half day trips as a full day would just be too exhausting. The hotel however is an absolute bargain.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank universalmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.9 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#40 of 361 in Siem Reap
500 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#85 of 361 in Siem Reap
871 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#49 of 361 in Siem Reap
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Parklane Hotel
Parklane Hotel
#134 of 361 in Siem Reap
695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Okay 1 Villa
Okay 1 Villa
#155 of 361 in Siem Reap
509 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kiri Boutique Hotel
Kiri Boutique Hotel
#141 of 361 in Siem Reap
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkor Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Pearl Hotel

Address: Tapoul Village, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: £18 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Angkor Pearl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Team New Services New facilities New ways to Make you smile Oct. 2011. New and improved Angkor Pearl ensuring the best value in Cambodian Hotels run and managed by Cambodian-Americans. At Angkor Pearl Hotel, we pride ourselves on quality of service on a genuinely high level and an emphasis on catering to our guest’s every need with courtesy and warmth. Angkor Pearl Hotel is Cambodian owned, operated, and managed by Cambodian Americans since February of 2010. The story behind the pearl dates back years when Cambodia gained independence from France and King Sihanouk called the Capitol "The Pearl of Asia." Hence, we call ourselves The Pearl of Siem Reap. The Angkor Pearl Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Siem Reap. A brisk 10 minute walk lead you to the center market where you can shop for food, clothes, souvenirs, and many more. Getting to the Temples is just as easy. A scenic 15 minute drive will take you back in time to the Khmer civilization where you will discover all of Angkor’s natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angkor Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing