We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”
Review of Angkor Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Ranked #92 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We booked the apsara suite for 7 nights. We arrived at Siem Reap past 10 pm and we took a taxi from the airport to the hotel. The hotel lobby was a bit dark and there was only one receptionist (at night), he was friendly and helped us carry our luggage to our room. there are no elevators, the hotel has only 4 floors.

The room that we booked was nice, quite big for 2 person. After an hour of unpacking and settling up for the night we realized that the ac was on and off so we called the receptionist through the phone but he didnt answer so my partner had to go down and asked him to go to our room, the receptionist said that we can transfer to the other apsara suite on the fourth floor, but since we have already unpacked and very tired we decided to stay and opted to transfer tomorrow if the ac still doesn't work. Fortunately the ac worked fine in the morning and for the next 7 days. Free breakfast was included, the food is nice, i love the fried rice, sausage and noodles that was served every morning.

The hotel is near the Angkor museum walking through the park. There are also tuktuks waiting in front of the hotel. But we got our tuktuk driver for the rest of our trip in front of the Angkor museum after we visited the museum. We were lucky to have found him because the other tuktuk driver asked too much. We visited the small and big circuit then we watched the sunset at pre rup then back to the hotel, our tuktuk driver only asked for $15 which was way cheaper than what drivers would ask. The next day we watched the sunrise at angkor wat, then the other temples the whole day, he even gave us free bottled water. :) Our third day at siem reap, we did quad adventure cambodia, half day tour and helicopter ride tour via Helistar over the angkor wat, both are worth a try, very memorable activities. I must say It was always nice to come home to our hotel after a tiring day. Felt very homey :)

On our fourth day we left Siem Reap for Phnom Penh, we left some of our clothes and some valuables at the in room safe. They assured us that our room will be kept for us while we were gone.We went back again the following night at Siem Reap. The room was kept clean and nothing was missing specially in the safe.

The hotel is just minutes away from the pub street and noon night market. Tuktuk for two in the morning and afternoon is $1 and at night goes up to $2. Always bargain. Through our tuktuk driver we found out fair prices of tuktuks and specially the price of bottled water. If you'd ask how much the water is they will always say $1 but the truth is 1 bottled water only cost $0.50. You can also look at the price of tuktuks for going around in the information guide provided in the room.

Overall our stay at Angkor Pearl was very nice except for the noisy hallway and noisy neighbors. We realized that for our first 4 days, sun-wed, very minimal noise, but over the weekend, when the hotel is filled up, it was VERY noisy. I think it's because of the poor noise proofing of the rooms. Our room was located at the very end of the hall but we can hear people talking and laughing from the stairs near the lobby. The food is delicious and very helpful staff.

Room Tip: we booked our Apsara suite at Agoda, with the size of the room it's cheaper compared to the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YaneSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

703 - 709 of 1,446 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2013

I stayed at Angkor Pearl Hotel from 3/1 with my friend. The room was very clean, and there was no insect. Mango was put in a room on the first day; it was free, I ate it and it was very sweet and delicious. When a light in my room broke, I asked the front to change it, and then they did immediately. The free breakfast in the buffet was delicious. Everybody smile and their atmospheres were so nice.

Mr. Thy was our tuktuk driver. We were introduced Mr. Thy from the hotel. He is very honest, kind and polite, and he gave us a lot of travel advice. He took us down at the entrance of the remains, and was waiting for us at the exit, so we could see so many remains very smoothly. I'm very grateful.

When you go to Siem Reap, I recommend that you stay at Angkor Pearl Hotel and ask tuktuk to Mr. Thy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knaoko1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

When the hotel confirmed a price USD19 per a/c twin room with breakfast, I was a bit unsure what to expect.... But most of the things was really great. Big clean room with 2 big and comfy beds, nice dark-wood furniture. Tasty breakfast with good choice and fantastic cambodian coffee. Great location in a very peacefull area, but within walking distance to the crowded tourist area with pubs and street market. Reception staff was friendly and arranged nice tuk-tuk and very good english speaking guide for Angkor Wat sightseeing. Only when the question was out of the daily routine, nice girls were still smiling, but unfortunately could not give any answers...... well, nobodys perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ula2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights for visiting angkor wat. We came via a cab from Phnom Penh and arrived when it was dark. The driver took some time to find this hotel. we paid about usd60 total for 2 nights for a triple room. Room was clean but slightly run-down (maybe 3-star standard) but really good for the price we paid.The staff was very nice and even prepared packet breakfast for us as we had to leave very early to catch the sunrise at angkor wat. Location is quite good as it is only about a 10 minute walk from the night market. If not, you can just take a tuk tuk around for a few bucks. Would recommend this place for budget travellers!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Alicia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

When I booked this hotel, I was wary because the price was so inexpensive. Once I arrived, I was so happy I booked it! This was our 13 year wedding anniversary trip and when we walked in the room, it was full of fresh roses and orchids arranged on the bed, sinks, bathroom. That was a very nice and fun surprise. The room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The air conditioning worked very well and there was even a fridge in the room. The bathroom plumbing was delicate, but that was no surprise being in Cambodia. The staff was VERY helpful when our guide did not arrive the next morning. They made several phone calls for us and helped us out. It isn't right on pub street, but it is only about a half mile walk and we felt quite safe. Also, it is a very short tuk tuk ride. When coming back from the pub street though, make sure your tuk tuk driver knows the hotel. One evening we didn't confirm this and ended up heading toward the airport before we realized he was lost. The breakfast in the mornings was included in the price and was probably the best breakfast we had while we were on our trip. The breakfast was buffet style with lots of choices. The hotel had amazingly good wifi service and also computers for your use in the lobby. The wifi was so good I was able to FaceTime my brother back in Oklahoma, USA and it was like he was in the hotel with me. All the while I was enjoying a cocktail during happy hour in the hotel lobby bar. The hotel offers in room massages and the traditional Khmer massage was wonderful. It was so relaxing and at an affordable price. I had a massage every day we were there. I just can't say enough good things about this hotel. It isn't luxury, but for the price it CANNOT be beat.

Room Tip: I would get a room higher up if you don't mind walking up and downstairs. It is quieter up highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenniaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This hotel is great even though it a bit far from pub street but still can walk around 15 minutes. The service is good, the room is big, the toilet have bathtub and clean. The buffet breakfast is the best of all the hotel i stayed in cambodia. It simple but have every thing you want from bread to mee and fruit. Plus they give you a welcome drink in lobby and fruit(Mango,banana, orange) waiting in your room. The service i get here is much better that other hotel i stayed which is more expensive. Totally be staying here again.

P/s: Use Sam Tuk Tuk if your looking for Tuk Tuk driver. Just google Sam TukTuk. He's the best tuk2 ever.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mira121285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

very good hotel clean and good price.the staff were helpful. very good!!the hotel with free wifi.The breakfast also delicious.but the weather there really hot..and have tuktuk front of hotel.very comfortable for vitsiting.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chakriya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.9 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#40 of 361 in Siem Reap
500 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#85 of 361 in Siem Reap
871 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#49 of 361 in Siem Reap
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Parklane Hotel
Parklane Hotel
#134 of 361 in Siem Reap
695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Okay 1 Villa
Okay 1 Villa
#155 of 361 in Siem Reap
509 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kiri Boutique Hotel
Kiri Boutique Hotel
#141 of 361 in Siem Reap
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkor Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Pearl Hotel

Address: Tapoul Village, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: £18 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Angkor Pearl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Team New Services New facilities New ways to Make you smile Oct. 2011. New and improved Angkor Pearl ensuring the best value in Cambodian Hotels run and managed by Cambodian-Americans. At Angkor Pearl Hotel, we pride ourselves on quality of service on a genuinely high level and an emphasis on catering to our guest’s every need with courtesy and warmth. Angkor Pearl Hotel is Cambodian owned, operated, and managed by Cambodian Americans since February of 2010. The story behind the pearl dates back years when Cambodia gained independence from France and King Sihanouk called the Capitol "The Pearl of Asia." Hence, we call ourselves The Pearl of Siem Reap. The Angkor Pearl Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Siem Reap. A brisk 10 minute walk lead you to the center market where you can shop for food, clothes, souvenirs, and many more. Getting to the Temples is just as easy. A scenic 15 minute drive will take you back in time to the Khmer civilization where you will discover all of Angkor’s natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angkor Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing