We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing sights, but ready yourself for crowds!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angkor Archaeological Park

Angkor Archaeological Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$105.00*
and up
Angkor Temples Small-Group Tour
Ranked #5 of 181 things to do in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Home to Angkor Wat, one of the largest religious complexes in the world, and a stunning array of 9th to 13th century temples built by the kings of the Khmer Empire. The Angkor Archaeological Park is breathtaking, and still the principal draw for every visitor to Siem Reap.
Useful Information: Baby buggy parking, Activities for older children
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
189 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Amazing sights, but ready yourself for crowds!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

This place is amazing, but it is a huge attraction, so be ready for big crowds! We went at 6 am for the sunrise and were surprised how many people were already there. The ticket to the park is $20 per person per day. You can get a 3 day pass for $40. They take your photo and put your photo on the ticket, which makes for a nice souvenir. We walked all around, we just got dropped at the main temple by a tuc tuc driver and had him meet us back at noon. We were lucky the weather was pretty cool when we were there (by Cambodian standards). You can definitely walk around, or another great way to get around is by bike. You can also have a tuc tuc take you, but you see much more if you bike and walk. It is tiring, but was well worth it. We saw 5 temples on our walk and then a few more on another day when we went back. It is truly a beautiful place. However, it would be much more pleasant if they allowed no motorized vehicles int he park, this really takes away from the old charm of the place and makes the air very polluted and also creates more noise with traffic jams and people honking. I really wish they would ban all vehicles and just allow bikjes and bike tuc tuc, would be a much more authentic experience and more pleasant all around, as there are ridiculous amounts of tour buses filled with throngs of tourists and putting otu lots of smoke and pollution into the otherwise beautiful and pristine park. That being said it was amazing and we look forward to visiting again next year. There are also plenty of areas inside to get food and drinks, since likely you will spend most of the day there to see all or most of the temples. There are also lots of people trying to sell you guide books, etc, we didn't buy any and you don't really need it. You can get maps on your phoen to guide you around, that is waht we used and were fine. There are many English speaking guides there if you do want one, and that could be nice as well, not too expensive either.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank kelly123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,807 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,315
    405
    65
    9
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“AN exceptional place on earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

While I had read and known a lot about Angkor through books and pictures, but the true experience of being there was overwhelmingly. Before you die you have to see it!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShireeshSharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Not to be Missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

I chose to review this rather than all of the individual sites. The park encompasses hundreds of different sites, including Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom, Bayon, Ta Prohm, etc. By all means, hire a local experienced guide who can help to interpret and explain what you are seeing. A stop at the National Museum is also helpful. Quite frankly, this site is overwhelming and incredible. We spent 2 entire days here and saw only a handful of the many wonders. Our guide was very good at choosing sites to visit that really impressed us, and at giving us a broad overview of the sites. He was also very knowledgeable about the history of the sites, and knew when and how to avoid the the biggest crush of tourists. This was a "once in a lifetime" experience. And, while you are here, go into Siem Reap. Interact with the locals, eat at a Khmer restaurant. This is a not to be missed experience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank llsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Angkor Wat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

One of the Great historical place to be. This place is amazing, wonder how they built this without machines in the past. Get at least a 3 day pass for your visit. Is impossible to cover the park in one day. The place is always crowded with tourists from around the world. Do wear comfortable shoes, hiking and walking shoes is highly recommendable. Most of the steps are very narrow and steep. Be careful on your way down.

Keep yourself hydrated during your visit. It is very hot and humid. Sometimes you do get lucky, bumping onto off duty officer trying to be your guide. Don't need to be rude, just smile and move along. Just tell him you want to explore on your own. Kids too will ask for money or candy. smile and move along.

Do arrange to see the sunrise at Angkor Wat and sunset and Phnom Bakheng. You are not alone , there are thousands of people doing it with you. Be early to get your perfect spot for photos. For sunset, do bring along a torch light/ headlight. It can be very dark on your way out.

(note: Do get a Tour Guide when visiting the temples in Angkor wat. You can get lost easily as there are shortages of signage. To me, the temples look the same inside. They all look the same. You can go in from East and end up coming out from the West side).

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Powerpuffy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
319 reviews
233 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Number One Reason To Visit Siem Reap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

If you are vacationing in Siem Reap, chances are you came to see the Angkor temples. They truly are a world class attraction; unfortunately, when the entire world feels that way expect to share it with a lot of people. There are three options to visit the park: a $20 one day pass, a $40 three days in a week pass, and a $60 seven days in a month pass. For the casual visitor, the choice is really between a one and three day. Most agree that two days is sufficient to see everything of note.

To save money and avoid spending any more time in the crowds than necessary we chose to pack as much as we could into one day and call it good. We started early and caught the sunrise at Angkor Wat. It was cool, but if sunrises standing packed shoulder to shoulder are not your thing you might want to skip the 0430 wake up. We were biking so, to avoid the crowds as much as possible, we ignored the common clockwise progression around the grand tour and, after seeing Angkor Wat, went counterclockwise around the grand tour with one detour to see Ta Phrom. This worked out relatively well for us and we were able to see most of the temples with minimal crowds.

I mentioned biking. If you are in good physical shape and it is during the cooler part of the year this is a viable option, just make sure to bring plenty of water. We did the entire grand tour plus a couple detours and my poor wife was really starting to run out of steam toward the end of the trek. We brought a little over four liters of water and ran out just before we got to the end of the circuit. There are food and water vendors along the route, however, they will charge you significantly more than fair market value. For the majority of people, I would recommend a Tuk Tuk for transportation. Doing it all in one day we didn't have time for a guide to explain everything to us so we were pretty much going to see the sites, not to learn about Khmer history.

The Angkor Historical Park is an amazing place. Depending on the depth, or desired depth, of your knowledge there are multiple ways to go about seeing it. Most of it can be seen in a day, however, taking a guide, doing some research, visiting the Angkor National Museum, and spending a couple of days will give a deeper understanding of the Khmer culture. Definitely recommend a visit here!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithK906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Angkor Archaeological Park also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Angkor Archaeological Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing