We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian restaurant in town”
Review of India Gate

India Gate
Ranked #210 of 879 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Price range: US$3 - US$7
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: India gate is best indian restaurant in siem reap best food best srvies
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Indian restaurant in town”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I have been in siem reap for a little over a month, and I have tried 9 different Indian restaurants. This restaurant serves the second best food (the first is very expensive) and it by far the cheapest out of them all. Definitely the place to go and is in a very convenient location.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rurban23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    46
    10
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Low quality”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The restaurant was not clean (I saw some rather large dead bugs on the floor), some of the dishes served (I had the special vegetable tali) were barely warm and the bread tasted stale. Also I'm pretty sure the food here gave me a touch of food poisoning as I felt very uncomfortable after my meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewJCrawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Kinda looked like prison food”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Looked like prison food and tasted like cafeteria food, veg curry was like baby food, rice was stone cold and the beer tasted and smelled like old yeast, has to be the worst Indian food I ever tasted in my life...staff don't really seem to be too interested in doing much, bar watching tv and ignoring customers...The funny thing about this restaurant is that they have a sign above the door that says "best food in Siem Reap" when the truth is more like the worst food in South East Asia....I'd avoid it...

Helpful?
2 Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best indian food and best price in Siem reap”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I can't rave enough about this wonderful little place. We've been in Siem reap for two months now and this place has been our go to place regularly. The kitchen is very clean ( i'm always curious, I have to look), meals are big portions and fresh, staff are friendly and service is fast. what more could you want??. The best part is the food is always good and it's always cheap. You can get a vegetable thali with a garlic naan for $3.00 or chicken for $4. The food does come on a tray but you also get a plate with it. This place is suitable for anyone, we regularly see people in there by themselves, in groups or with kids..

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank megsygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
170 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“awesome indian food”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I can highly recommend the "Tandoori Set" accompanied with one of their delicious mango-banana-shakes. The Tandoori Set was huge. Probably enough for two people.
Ended up paying 7,50 US$ for both, whats a very good price for the quality and quantity you get.
Service was good, too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed India Gate also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to India Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing