We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice new place to stay in Siem Reap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Frangipani Villa Hotel, Siem Reap
Ranked #114 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice new place to stay in Siem Reap”
Reviewed 6 September 2011

The Frangipani Villa Hotel is located on Wat Bo road not far away from the tourist center of Siem Reap, the old market (approx. 8 minutes by foot). Located in a fairly new property in Siem Reap, this hotel has all the major amenities that a travel is looking for: nice rooms, a rich breakfast, pool on the backside, cafe on the front.

I was greeted by very friendly staff, all locals, as the owner is proud to report in his information pages. Also, the hotel has an own "hotel policy" that draws a line against the common downsides of Asian travel (drugs, prostitution etc.) - I really appreciate that.

The rooms of the house are not big, but nice and modern furnished with some small architectural ideas (such as semi-opaque glas slots between bedroom and bathroom). While the overall architecture is cool (not the usual over-decoration one often finds in tourist hotels in Cambodia), I always felt at home when I came back from my day trips. Maybe a *little* more decoration would suite the floors well, but that's my personal comment. The AC was not too strong in my room, but with a little patience, the room became cool and refreshing - no problem with sleeping allthough it was warm and humid outside.

The staff was very freindly during my whole visit. Several arrangements were taken just as I asked for (e.g. booking of a transfer to Phnom Penh complete with pick-up service and all) and almost every staff member had a friendly word for me when we met. Some of the staff at breakfast started small conversation with guests, mentioning plans and remarks from the last days - very attentive and charming.

The garden (front and back) is newly arranged and needs some more time to grow. But with Banana and other fast-growing plants this should change rapidly. BWT: No spa, no fitness center, but a pool that scores some spa points ;-) Also (for the addicts) wireless LAN is free and with a good and fast connector.

Room Tip: The rooms to the back (pool) which I would recommend - but the house a little set back from the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWinckler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    332
    92
    17
    15
See reviews for
141
338
101
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Siem Reap, Cambodia
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2011

we stay here for second time, because we like this place so much. but what we not happy is we made a mistake on our booking with our stay even we try to explain to the hotel but it is seem nothing listen to us. good bye Frangipani,

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rathana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

This is a lovely little boutique hotel with absolutely marvelous staff, and I will be more than happy to stay here if I ever go back to Siem Reap again.

To start with, they were very prompt in responding to my email queries about tour packages and early check-in. Our flight landed in Siem Reap at 8am and check-in time was noon – but they promised that they would try their best to give us a room in the morning itself. And true to their word, we were provided an early check-in at no additional cost, and to top it up, we were given a room upgrade (we had booked a city view deluxe room and were upgraded to a pool view deluxe room).

The hotel itself is small and lovely. It’s done up in blue and white, and has a very cool, pleasant, relaxing atmosphere. We were welcomed with much-needed cold towels and cool drinks to perk us up after a long journey. The check-in process was very quick, and we were soon escorted to our room.

Our room was small, but absolutely charming. It had a lovely four poster bed with white drapes – just like its shown in the pictures. The usual hotel amenities – television, writing desk, safe, tea/coffee maker, minibar, slippers – are all provided. The bathroom was very clean, but a little cramped.

The complimentary breakfast – with both Asian and Western dishes – was adequate. The hotel restaurant is alright – they didn’t seem to have much choice, so we had dinner there only once, and the food was okay. But Siem Reap town has lots of interesting restaurants, cafes and pubs, so we were happy to eat out every day.

The hotel also has a pool which one really appreciates after a long day in the heat and humidity. After spending the whole day climbing the temples, it feels good to just relax in the pool. Oh, and they also have a public Jacuzzi!

One of the nicest things about the hotel is that they offer complimentary laundry facilities – one shirt and one pant per guest per day. This is especially useful for guests who are traveling for long periods of time. Even otherwise, it felt good to get the laundry done at the hotel and not go back home with a pile of dirty, smelly clothes.

The hotel seems to take its environment friendly policies quite seriously. They replace towels only once in three days, unless you specifically ask them to change your towel. They put shampoo and moisturizer in refillable bottles to cut down plastic usage. Also, they do not provide toothbrushes or combs – again to cut down on use of plastic. Another very nice gesture is that they provide you with two bottles of mineral water a day – and you can refill these waters from the water purifier in the restaurant, thus cutting down on purchase of plastic water bottles.

The hotel isn’t located in Pub Street, but in a quiet, almost residential area of Siem Reap, which we were happy about – because we got to observe glimpses of local life when walking in the streets around the hotel. However, it’s very close to Pub Street: a 10 minute walk, or $1 if you take a tuk-tuk (there are always some waiting outside the hotel).
The hotel also provides free cycles to ride into town.

The only downside is that the hotel doesn’t have a lift/elevator. The staff carry your luggage up/down for you; but when you’re back after a long day at the temples and your feet are killing you, its sometimes frustrating to have to walk up and down two floors another 2-3 times (to the pool and back; to dinner and back).

Finally, a word about the staff – they were some of the sweetest, friendliest staff I have encountered in many months of travel across Asia. They always have a smile on their faces. I already mentioned their prompt response to my emails, arranging for an early check-in etc. I must add that on the day we checked-out, we had to leave very early (5.30am) to catch our flight, and the staff very thoughtfully packed us fruits to eat on the way to the airport! The hotel says that they hire locals, and ask you to be patient if they don’t understand your requests immediately – but I had no problem with communication and understanding them!

All in all, a gem of a hotel in Siem Reap, and one I wouldn’t hesitate to strongly recommend.

Room Tip: Take the pool view rooms, preferably on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RummyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergamo, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

I’m very satisfied about the Frangipani Hotel, the room was nice, quiet and clean, very appreciable.

Breakfast offers a wide choice and the hotel has the swimmingpool.

The position is perfect, 10 minutes walk from the center or, if you prefer, 5 minutes by tuk tuk. There are a lot of tuk tuk outside the hotel, is not difficult to find this transport and many tuk tuk-drivers know Frangipani Hotel, so is not necessary to remember the address.

Hotel employees were very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We found this hotel through Tripadvisor and booked through Agoda (they had a deal on at the time). It surpassed our expectations! We had a superior room which was spacious and clean and had everything we needed (and some things we didn't - like a TV). I think the best thing about this hotel though (and the reason I'd recommend it to anyone passing through Siem Reap) was the swimming pool! Siem Reap gets really hot and we generally went to the Angkor ruins in the mornings so were tired, hot and dusty by the time we got back to the hotel. We'd then have a lovely swim and spend the afternoon by the pool before heading off to town in the evenings. The other great thing is that other than the pool and the restaurant, there are also other places to relax, such as the covered bar area out front and the reception area which has some couches and chairs. So you don't feel confined to your room like you do in some hotels and guesthouses.
In addition to this we found the staff to be extremely friendly and eager to help whenever we had any queries.
The only gripe I did have was the nearby dogs who barked all night - this obviously isn't the fault of the hotel but if you're a light sleeper it can be a real pain.
In terms of location, this isn't in the old market area but its not a long walk, it took us about 10 minutes. There are always tuk-tuks about though if you don't feel like walking. I would definitely recommend this and would stay there again if I ever found myself back in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muggles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed here mid August for 5 nights. We thought it was great value- loved the location, an easy walk into the old market and some interesting places in the area including Peace Cafe and Green Star restaurant. Our room was perfectly adequate with effective air conditioning. The staff went out of their way to be friendly and ensure our stay was comfortable. One of the managers even changed our room to a lower floor when he thought we were finding the stairs a bit tiring. Breakfast was excellent considering the room cost. I like the way they had chicken and pork porridge as well as various other dishes. They changed the options every day. I also liked the tastes of local cakes and sticky rice they provided for breakfast. They also provided chilled filtered water in the restaurant so you could refill the bottles when you needed them. We were staying in the new villa and so some of the fixtures and fittings were still being finished. They have done a great job at providing areas to sit and the foyers of both parts are lovely with some really nice pieces of art and decoration. The staff really made this a very pleasant place to stay. Thank you to all especially Sokha, Assistant Manager.

Room Tip: lower floors less stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freedombird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Nice hotel with a friendly team at reception and in the restaurant. Good location as can walk or $1 Tuk Tuk to town centre, markets, pub St etc. Limited buffet breakfast included was satisfactory for the price. Pool area was small and busy at times but very pleasant.
Shower was not the best and towels were paper thin otherwise room was ok though stairs to upper floors may be a problem for some.
Don't book a guide for Angkor Wat through reception ours did not follow the outlined itinerary and was dull as dishwater.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megandragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
#134 of 356 in Siem Reap
715 reviews
0.2 mi away
City River Hotel
City River Hotel
#95 of 356 in Siem Reap
860 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Central Boutique Angkor Hotel
Central Boutique Angkor Hotel
#85 of 356 in Siem Reap
854 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#41 of 356 in Siem Reap
486 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frangipani Villa Hotel, Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frangipani Villa Hotel, Siem Reap

Property: Frangipani Villa Hotel, Siem Reap
Address: 0603, Street Wat Bo, Salakormreuk Commune, Siem Reap 2000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#74 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#76 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#81 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#82 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Frangipani Villa Hotel, Siem Reap 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frangipani Villa Hotels consist of three boutique hotels providing nice and comfortable accommodations. The accommodations consist of Frangipani Villa-60's and Frangipani Villa-90 in Phnom Penh and Frangipani Villa Hotel in Siem Reap, the city which is full of ancient temples. The Frangipani Villa Hotel property is a more recent property designed in art deco style in combination with traditional Khmer architecture for interior and exterior design and it is a stylish boutique hotel with some contemporary touches. The hotel is located in the heart of Siem Reap, a short tuk tuk ride from the city’s popular Pscar Chas Market to Angkor Wat and providing ready access to other sites. The hotel is also 2 minutes walk from a mini-mart, coffee shop and ATM. The hotel provides a selection of suite, double and twin rooms. Comfortable seating for relaxing at any time of the day or for informal meetings is available on the roof top terrace and near swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Frangipani Villa Hotel, Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frangipani Villa Hotel, Siem Reap Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing