We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful dancing, average food”

Angkor Village Apsara Theatre
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Step back in time at the only air conditioned theatre in town. Dancers, singers and musicians will bring ancient Khmer culture to life in spectacular surroundings while you enjoy the very best in Cambodian cuisine.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Beautiful dancing, average food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

This was part of our tour, and we had low expectations. The seating was low and uncomfortable, though we were located right by the stage which was good. We arrived a bit late so our meal was rushed, the food was edible but not great. At the end of the evening we had to have a long conversation about the bill, but we paid what we expected in the end.
The dancing was exquisite, and the programme notes very useful in figuring out what was happening. Later in our trip we learned more about how dance has come back in Cambodia after Pol Pot, and that knowledge made the dance even more impressive in retrospect. It was privilege to see the Ramayana danced by such dedicated performers, which more than made up for the poor meal.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Retired_engineer_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    48
    42
    20
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Liked the dancing, food disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Decent enough performance. A few of the dancers were quite good, and a few were still in training. But overall an entertaining show in a lovely setting. The food wasn't that great. Bland and oily, in my opinion, and didn't sit well in the tummy, so to speak. If it was just a dancing show and a bit cheaper I'd feel better about recommending it.

Helpful?
4 Thank Bonekasalju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quite ok.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We had heard a lot about the Apsara Dance. We opted to watch the show and skip the dinner with it. Since we were not in a group they seated us at the back. We could barely make out anything over the din of the diners and the distance.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank SAhmedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
Level Contributor
513 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“ok food, ok show”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

If you come with a tour operator, a show like that is bound to be in your program.
So you can expect average tourists fare and that's what you get here.
The food was much better than expected and the service worked like it should have.
The dance-show was ok, you get a introduction for what asian dance is about. I don't think one can expect top notch performance in a place like this.
All in all, if you never seen Asian Dance before, it's worth while going.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jochen-v-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Center
Level Contributor
122 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Apsara Dancing Show”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

This is a very amateurish presentation of Apsara dancers. The dancers were not good and could certainly not bend their fingers or bodies like the one we saw in Phnom Penh. It felt like a school dance. Some of the tops of the dancers had runs all over the stretch fabric and you could see the safety pins that they used to fasten some of the dances' belts. The food at the buffet was average, nothing to write home about. Everything here was mediocre. You're better off spending your evening elsewhere.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Angkor Village Apsara Theatre also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Angkor Village Apsara Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing