We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return to paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Karavansara Retreat & Residences
Ranked #147 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Return to paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

I don't think you can beat the location of this hotel, a short walk from the center of town just far enough to get away from the noise but close enough that you can walk in and out of town many times a day if you need to. This was my second visit but this time I stayed in the serviced apartments rather than the hotel. The rooms had a balcony overlooking the river which is a very relaxing spot to recover after a hot and sweaty day touring the temples. The apartment was very well equipped including a complete kitchen/dining/living room and separate bedroom. The bathroom is large with a good shower. There is a separate salt water swimming pool on the roof of the apartments but you can still use the main hotel pool. the staff were again very friendly and had taken the trouble to learn our names and use them whenever we were greeted, its the small things that turn an OK stay into a great experience. The menu has been expanded since my last visit and the restaurant was much busier which is a good sign. Difficult to find much to fault, we had to move apartments during our stay but given we booked at the last minute and were told that was the case when we booked I cant blame the hotel for that. Will definitely stay here again when I return to Siem Reap at some point.

Room Tip: If there is more than 2 of you stay in the serviced apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pierre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    100
    28
    3
    9
See reviews for
60
110
55
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

The hotel has two seperate buildings: the residences (self contained accomodation) and retreat (a small hotel section with about 12 rooms). We stayed in the retreat for 3 nights in Fabruary 2012.

We enjoyed our stay as it was a short walk to the main area of town, but far enough away that is was quiet at night. The pool, although small, was a great place to relax. The staff were helpful, breakfast yummy and the hotel was super clean.

Downsides were that we thought it was a bit overpriced (we moved to somewhere almost as nice for about half the price), rooms not very spacious, poor quality toiletries, and although the balcony was advertised as a great place to relax, was actually on a very busy road.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisBMelbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

My family of four spent five weeks in one of the two bedroom apartments and loved it. The apartment was roomy and bright. The rooftop swimming pool is deep without a shallow end so not for nonswimmers, but my teens spent hours up there everyday. The hotel staff were friendly and prompt in answering requests. Mr. Luon, the manager, always met my needs.

The price of the apartment is not cheap, but it is so centrally located that it was worth the price. This hotel was the only one in Siem Reap to answer my request for a rental immediately, and they worked with me for a couple of months ironing out the details.

Housekeeping is an additional cost, and the housekeepers could use a little extra training. They missed small things like crumbs around the toaster. But they were so sweet, it was hard to be anything but grateful for their efforts.

I would recommend trying to get a north facing apartment. All the apartments have a view west toward the river. The length of our apartment was along the southern exposure. The sun heated the place up significantly. Electricity is not included in the bill, so we paid a bit more in airconditioning than if we had been on the opposite side of the building.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moseler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We booked this hotel based on the good reviews. The hotel is well -located very close to the centre, the rooms are very clean and the staff is extremely nice.
The hotel claims to offer an award winning architectural design. As an interior architect I have to say that the design is very basic and has nothing exceptional. Not a problem but if you are looking for a design gem, you may be disappointed.
A disagreement worth mentioning, we booked a tuck-tuck through the hotel . After the first day we did not wish to book with him for another day as the price requested was higher than usual prices. The following day, the driver was waiting outside the hotel and assaulted me as he was unhappy. We reported the incident to the hotel and nothing was done.
The reason we were extremely disappointed and have decided to publish this negative review is more serious. We had noticed that a western male customer was inviting every day young teenage boys into his bedroom. We alerted the hotel staff. They confirmed that this situation was happening regularly and that they were extremely uncomfortable with it. Unfortunately, they could not do anything as the hotel management did not want to bother “a good customer who stays at the hotel regularly”.
We reported the issue to child safe, an ONG that fights against child prostitution and decided to move to another hotel as we could not bear any longer a situation in contradiction with our values.
Child prostitution exists in Cambodia and travellers and local business owners have a role to play to protect children from abuse. It is unacceptable for a hotel owner to ignore such an obvious abnormal situation to make more money.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank fredandchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaravansaraRR, Owner at Karavansara Retreat & Residences, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
We appreciate all reviews of the hotel and take each comment to heart as we consistently work to improve our service. The comments in this review regarding the property and the surrounding area have already been acted upon as the comments were sincere and helpful. However, we would like to express our disappointment and surprise that such serious claims of disgusting and illegal activities have take place at our hotel. These claims are false and completely without substantiation. We have invited the local police to make a complete review and audit of the situation and they have found no evidence of foul play or illegal activities. Again, to our all valued guests, it is unfortunate that some malicious people would have to make such a slanderous and hurtful claim about the Karavansara. We assure everyone that we are here as we always have been. An ethical and community oriented small business in a vibrant community.

Best regards, The owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We had a wonderful 3 day stay at the Karavansara Retreat in Siem Reap, with my husband and daughter. The staff were incredibly friendly, helpful and downright sweet. Beds were comfortable, it wasn't expensive, but was clean, airy, the little pool was perfect, and the location was excellent, away from the busy-ness of Pub street, but within quick walking distance of the markets. The Tuk-tuk driver, Ming, was helpful and again, just sweet. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamfulford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Stayed at Karavansara for 3 nights. i loved the atmosphere created by the team. The room is a decent size, almost feels like a studio apartment. The bed was firm and comfortable, the bathroom is nicely built with seperate toilet. The breakfast isn't buffet style but the set menu is more than i could eat. The pool on the roof looked great!
For families there are larger apartment style accomodation across the street. A great value hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sacharules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Stayed here in Sept 2011 for 3 nights. Initially we had booked to stay at a guesthouse by river but due to the flood warnings, we decided to look for a more comfortable place in case we got flooded. Luckily we found Karavansara as the river did burst it's banks. The road outside the hotel was flooded even though it wasn't next to the river. the hotel stayed dry throughout....couldn't have imagined if we had stayed at the guesthouse.
Location is very good, walking distance to pub street/city centre and a supermarket nearby.
Rooms were large, airy and clean. Free wi-fi was certainly a bonus!
Staff were polite, helpful and accommodating without being overly friendly.
The restaurant serves excellent food and coffee at reasonable price.h

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fatshaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
#120 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#67 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Reflections Art Boutique Hotel
Reflections Art Boutique Hotel
#115 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apsara Residence Hotel
Apsara Residence Hotel
#90 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#105 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karavansara Retreat & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karavansara Retreat & Residences

Property: Karavansara Retreat & Residences
Address: Street 25, Archa Sva Road, Wat Bo Village | Salakamroeuk Commune, Siem Reap 17259, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#52 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karavansara Retreat & Residences 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Karavansara Retreat and Residences is unparalleled — a world cultural heritage site, a beautiful natural environment, award-winning architectural design, exceptional service and a small number of rooms to ensure exclusivity and privacy. The ethos of Karavansara is founded in the sophisticated luxury that is afforded by attention to the smallest details. Come join us for an enriching, enlightening and rewarding 'lifestyle' experience that will make this the holiday you will always cherish. Comfort, convenience, relaxes and delicious are the hallmarks of Karavansara Retreat and Residences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Karavansara Retreat & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karavansara Retreat & Residences Hotel Siem Reap
Karavansara Retreat And Residences

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing