We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, nice staff...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Karavansara Retreat & Residences
Ranked #156 of 340 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect location, nice staff...”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

It's my lucky to have a stay in this hotel can honestly say that it deserves its place as the top 10 hotel in Siem Reap. I can only reiterate the positive comments of the previous reviews about the staff, restaurant and attention to detail generally but feel that the benefit of your own personal tuk tuk driver for the duration of your stay cannot be stressed too much. It’s not only a fabulous way to travel around the temples and surrounding countryside but it’s a far better way to see three generations of one family on a scooter dodging and weaving through the mad traffic in town and just how much stuff you can carry on a bike! The drivers all seemed really friendly and excellent at their jobs and took pride in providing the best possible service available but we definitely think that our driver was the best by far. His English was excellent, he always found us in a crowd and his suggestions for the best time to visit the different temples to avoid the crowds was invaluable.

Room Tip: Near to many restaurant in Pub Street and Old Market area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sokhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    100
    28
    4
    9
See reviews for
60
111
55
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Siem Reap, Cambodia
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2012

The hotel provided a fantastic location from which to view the temples of Angkor and very close to the town. it is centrally located, and is a short walk away from pub street. the staff was very polite and the hotel facilities were top notch! the rooftop pool was very nice and the overall design of the hotel was world class. I recommended it to my friends and they too enjoyed their stay. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Our third time back at this great boutique hotel in Siem Reap!

To start, it's location is ideal. It's adjacent to the first bridge into the Old Quarter area of town - a easy 5 minute walk. Close enough to enjoy the busy center of town anytime without the all night noise.

The hotel staff are exceptional and very courteous. We were always created with a smile, and they go the extra mile to ensure your stay is enjoyable and comfortable. Whenever we had a simple request, it was efficiently and promptly provided for.

Set in a very lush tropical garden setting with nice decor, the lobby and restaurant/lounge are a welcome oasis to enjoy a few hours of downtime after visiting the temples or town, and break from the hot sun. We've eaten a couple of meals in the restaurant and found the food to be not only good, but very fair in pricing. A welcome change from some other hotels in the area. There is also a very inviting salt water pool on the roof which is a very refreshing way to spend the early evening before dinner.

Being a rather new hotel the rooms are modern, well appointed and clean. A big plus for the traveler who wants to check in to work - the internet WiFi is good too. Even a nice in room safe to store some extra camera gear when I didn't want to carry it into town.

I plan to return to Siem Reap this Spring, and this will be my first and only choice when looking for accommodations.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Stayed here in March for 3 nights. So glad we picked this place as I think it is the best location in Siem Reap. 5 min walk to pub street and the alley and FCC. Cool restraunt Bopha around the corner. Right on the river. The rooms are well designed and overall the place has a cool boutique hotel feel which is a paradise to come back to after a day of being surrounded by busloads of package tourists. The rooftop pool is small but perfect for a dip after a long day. The staff are all very sweet sometimes shy but always want to make you happy. Breakfast was great considering your in a 3rd world country, Big selection. The one downside which I believe is so important to ambience is the music in the lobby and restraunt. They play tacky 80's love songs which is amusing but not sexy like the hotel should be. Cafe chillout music would do and is listenable for all ages. I would definitely come here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuxeNomadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I don't think you can beat the location of this hotel, a short walk from the center of town just far enough to get away from the noise but close enough that you can walk in and out of town many times a day if you need to. This was my second visit but this time I stayed in the serviced apartments rather than the hotel. The rooms had a balcony overlooking the river which is a very relaxing spot to recover after a hot and sweaty day touring the temples. The apartment was very well equipped including a complete kitchen/dining/living room and separate bedroom. The bathroom is large with a good shower. There is a separate salt water swimming pool on the roof of the apartments but you can still use the main hotel pool. the staff were again very friendly and had taken the trouble to learn our names and use them whenever we were greeted, its the small things that turn an OK stay into a great experience. The menu has been expanded since my last visit and the restaurant was much busier which is a good sign. Difficult to find much to fault, we had to move apartments during our stay but given we booked at the last minute and were told that was the case when we booked I cant blame the hotel for that. Will definitely stay here again when I return to Siem Reap at some point.

Room Tip: If there is more than 2 of you stay in the serviced apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pierre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

The hotel has two seperate buildings: the residences (self contained accomodation) and retreat (a small hotel section with about 12 rooms). We stayed in the retreat for 3 nights in Fabruary 2012.

We enjoyed our stay as it was a short walk to the main area of town, but far enough away that is was quiet at night. The pool, although small, was a great place to relax. The staff were helpful, breakfast yummy and the hotel was super clean.

Downsides were that we thought it was a bit overpriced (we moved to somewhere almost as nice for about half the price), rooms not very spacious, poor quality toiletries, and although the balcony was advertised as a great place to relax, was actually on a very busy road.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisBMelbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

My family of four spent five weeks in one of the two bedroom apartments and loved it. The apartment was roomy and bright. The rooftop swimming pool is deep without a shallow end so not for nonswimmers, but my teens spent hours up there everyday. The hotel staff were friendly and prompt in answering requests. Mr. Luon, the manager, always met my needs.

The price of the apartment is not cheap, but it is so centrally located that it was worth the price. This hotel was the only one in Siem Reap to answer my request for a rental immediately, and they worked with me for a couple of months ironing out the details.

Housekeeping is an additional cost, and the housekeepers could use a little extra training. They missed small things like crumbs around the toaster. But they were so sweet, it was hard to be anything but grateful for their efforts.

I would recommend trying to get a north facing apartment. All the apartments have a view west toward the river. The length of our apartment was along the southern exposure. The sun heated the place up significantly. Electricity is not included in the bill, so we paid a bit more in airconditioning than if we had been on the opposite side of the building.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moseler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
#122 of 340 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#67 of 340 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Reflections Art Boutique Hotel
Reflections Art Boutique Hotel
#119 of 340 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apsara Residence Hotel
Apsara Residence Hotel
#86 of 340 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#109 of 340 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karavansara Retreat & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karavansara Retreat & Residences

Property: Karavansara Retreat & Residences
Address: Street 25, Archa Sva Road, Wat Bo Village | Salakamroeuk Commune, Siem Reap 17259, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#52 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karavansara Retreat & Residences 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Karavansara Retreat and Residences is unparalleled — a world cultural heritage site, a beautiful natural environment, award-winning architectural design, exceptional service and a small number of rooms to ensure exclusivity and privacy. The ethos of Karavansara is founded in the sophisticated luxury that is afforded by attention to the smallest details. Come join us for an enriching, enlightening and rewarding 'lifestyle' experience that will make this the holiday you will always cherish. Comfort, convenience, relaxes and delicious are the hallmarks of Karavansara Retreat and Residences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Karavansara Retreat & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karavansara Retreat And Residences
Karavansara Retreat & Residences Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing