We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Karavansara Retreat & Residences
Ranked #162 of 353 Hotels in Siem Reap
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice place!”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Very nice hotel, great location in Siem Reap- you can walk anywhere. Rooms are clean, calm and cosy. Staff is very friendly and helpful.it is definitely great location and starting point for visiting of Angkor Wat temples. They also helped us to organise tours and taxi to our next destination. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paris_FranceJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaravansaraRR, General Manager at Karavansara Retreat & Residences, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thank you for your comment and recommendation. We hope you had fun during the rest of your trip and we're happy to know that you enjoyed all our arrangements. Means a lot to us.

The Karavansara Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    100
    28
    4
    9
See reviews for
60
111
55
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at Karavansara! Location is excellent. Right at the fringe of pub street, convenience store but far enough for a peaceful night sleep. Staff were very polite and helpful. The only downside is that the room doesnt have any fridge. Despite of this, we will definitely come back on our 2nd Cambodian adventure!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yossyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Stayed here for two nights while visiting the Angkor temple complex. Staff was friendly and very helpful, the room was spotlessly clean. The best part about the hotel is the front area, great place to unwind and relax with a drink after a long day of exploring! Quiet area, just across the bridge from Pub Street. They helped me rent a bicycle which was a super way of getting around.
Great place. Price was a bit high compared to other boutique hotels in Cambodia, but it was a welcome relief to come back to a serene and tasteful atmosphere after long, sweaty days so....I didn't really mind.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissBasti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaravansaraRR, General Manager at Karavansara Retreat & Residences, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thank you for the comments.

Our retreat garden is definitely one of the best places to relax after a long and hot day in Angkor.

Our price policy reflects the quality of the property (hardware and software). Depending on the season, prices can be higher or lower but we always try to make sure that our guests get great deals for their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This is a terrific hotel. I will recommend it to everyone young and old. It is a beautifull ,clean, modern hotel, peacefull,private with friendly staff and very polite people.I am an architect by profession and I could not find any faults with it. It is also close to all the shopping markets yet not noisy since it was across the river. The pool which my daughter used all the days that we stayed in is absolutely fabulous. It was a very relaxing time we had there. Thank you Karavansara and I will recommand it to everone.

Room Tip: Upper floor more quite and close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thaljit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaravansaraRR, General Manager at Karavansara Retreat & Residences, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thank you for your time to review our hotel.

Karavansara is an award-winning architectural design and owned by an architect so your comment is very special to us.

The Karavansara Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, USA
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

A cold towel and small glass of watermelon juice as welcome drink. Staff was friendly and willing to strike up a conversation. They did not ask for credit card for upfront incidental deposits but asked for passport to make a photo copy for their record.


This boutique hotel is more like a city apartment concept. The room assigned to me is in the building that attached to the reception/restaurant

The "Garden Courtyard" room is misleading or over-exagerrated. Ten 1 meter square concrete slab,
a bamboo shrub, 2 palm trees in the enclosure is called garden and courtyard. You got to stretch your imagination.

It is way way, way over rated as a 4 star hotel by Agoda. I have stayed in 4 and 5 stars Asian hotels 4 times a year for the last 5 years. I give this hotel a 2 star, not even 2.5 star. For the $35 (plus tax) I paid thru Agoda I am satisfied for the equivalent value- that is why considering what I paid I gave 6 out of 10 point scale. The rate fluatates and can go up way high (>$100 in peak tourist season).
It has no refrigerator, no tea/coffee making in room, no hot water kettle, No bath tub, no toothbrush/tooth paste. There was a21 inch LCD TV hanging on the wall in front of the bed
The room has a shallow 2" deep rectangle sink. This is the first time I ever seen. It is OK but just kind of weird.
Oh yes, the mattress is indeed very hard as reviewed by other customer. It is rock solid hard. I stand on the mattress to get a better feel, it was not wood board but spring underneath it. One of the hardest mattress I ever slept on. Imagine you are sleeping on top of a bath towel on the hardfloor- this is the best anology I could think of.

Breakfast is not buffet style. It comes with an 8oz juice - local sour orange or watermelon juice (or milk) and coffee (4 oz size) and a fruit platter (water melon, pineapple).
Then pick your choices from:
Asian - noodle or congee
Continental = bread with butter and jam OR choice of cereal/yogurt
American - 2 egg with 1/8" thin one 4"x 4" slice of toast
I washed my brand new $30 white shirt under the running water; However, the shirt act as a sieve and
came out all ruined stained. It was stained yellow with the sand/soil settlement from the tap water.

This hotel levy a charge of $20 to $25 if you bring a lady companion for 2 hours fun. So beware.

Tip: a short 2 minute walk across the river is an impressive Buddish temple that you can walk in and take picture. No one will disturb you for entering.

Room Tip: smile to the receptionist and ask for a free room upgrade... the worst thing is that you get turn do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank baketown89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaravansaraRR, General Manager at Karavansara Retreat & Residences, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thank you for your comment and we apologise for the late reply. We do appreciate comments like yours, they help us to improve our service and continuously meet and exceed our guest expectations.

Karavansara Retreat and Residences is a very unique concept in Siem Reap. The hotel is divided into 2 properties. Retreat is an old colonial villa that was transformed into a 11 room boutique hotel and a spa. The Residences side is a new building with 12 modern apartments (1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments). Since the retreat was an old colonial building, all the renovation was done very carefully to try to maintain all the charm of the old villa. Our Garden Courtyard rooms are the smallest rooms we have in the hotel but they still have enough space and comfort as any other room. They come with all the standard amenities that guests are used to find in any hotel. As a boutique hotel, we try to provide a personalised service and make the guest feel special at all times. If there's anything missing in your room to make your stay comfortable, please let us know and we will do our best to accommodate your request.

Karavansara Retreat doesn't offer mini bar in the rooms, only in the Residences. Guest can ask our Food and Beverage team to have their goods stored in our main fridge.

Our name Karavansara is derived from the historic middle eastern term for the section of the Sultan’s palace that was reserved for travellers. The karavansara was a place where travellers could rest and recover from the day's journey as well as share stories of their adventures and experiences across the globe. By not providing food and beverage amenities in the room, we try to encourage guests to join our common spaces and get to know each other.
For those guests who prefer to stay in the comfort of their room, they can always request for in-room-dining or call housekeeping for a water kettle and tea and coffee.

Because of the size of our property and the fact that our restaurant is housed in a traditional wooden khmer house (with more than 100 years old) we don't offer buffet breakfast for safety reasons. We do offer several a la carte options prepared a la minute with the freshest local ingredients.

Water in Siem Reap is not recommended for drinking. Karavansara uses company water (instead of the traditional wells very common in Cambodia) and filter it. But unfortunately that's something that we can't control at this moment.

The hotel doesn't charge any additional charges for bringing other guests into the hotel. Depending on the reservation, if the room is booked only for 1 pax, the price has to be adjusted for double occupancy. As per hotel policy, we don't encourage, support or recommend guests to bring companion to the hotel.

The Karavansara Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level 6 Contributor
629 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Our family of 6 spent 6 nights here at their 3 bedroom, 2 bath apartment with kitchen & family room. It was well maintained & well furnished. It allowed for a family like atmosphere which we would not have gotten with multiple hotel rooms. There was a daily breakfast included with our plan - just across the street at their Taberu restaurant, & breakfast options allowed us to pick from an American breakfast, continental breakfast & Cambodian breakfast - so we could pick & choose between fresh juices, coffee, Khmer noodles, Khmer soup, Khmer fried rice, pancakes, french toast, & various croissants & breads. We ordered various items & shared them. The food came quickly & portions were good. They accommodated us for eggless french toast & vegetarian Khmer items. Internet was on & off, but when present, was good. They had many charging outlets & international adapters were not needed for our US items. Local calls were supposed to be free, but for some reason, the phone did call out, but the front desk connected us to whatever number we wanted to call most of the time - a few times the staff person did not know how to do that. The upstairs room AC broke down once but they promptly fixed it. They included a short massage for my parents which we had to schedule. The location was just behind Peace Cafe & within 5 minutes walk of the main part of Siem Reap's tourist section. We were literally next to the bridge. The bathrooms were nice & spacious. Beds & sofas were comfortable. The refrigerator & washing machine worked fine.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MihirMeghani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed for 3.5 nights*. Love this hotel. Small and intimate. Close to the tourist center (Pub St, Psar Chaa, Sivatha St) accessible by a very short walk, 4-8 minutes. Yet, extremely quiet. It's true that some of the rooms face Street 25, which due to its poor condition is very, very lightly traveled. Staff were incredibly friendly especially Kimren. Furnishings in room are modern and minimalist. I loved the bathroom and thought the firm/hard bed to be very comfortable. Breakfast was pretty good, a selection of Asian and Euro/American types of breakfast. No phone in room, no fridge in room. Website descriptions of the facilities and rooms are a bit overdone -- the "garden courtyard" is really just a shady trip maybe 12m long and 3m wide separating the two buildings with rooms. We paid ~$80/night for the "colonial heritage suite" on the ground floor facing the street.

Would definitely come back.

* (I say 3.5 because we had the very late 23:00 flights out of Siem Reap, the hotel accommodated us for a "very late check out" at half price)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dpitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
City River Hotel
City River Hotel
#93 of 353 in Siem Reap
858 reviews
0.1 mi away
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
#122 of 353 in Siem Reap
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Auberge Mont-Royal d'Angkor
Auberge Mont-Royal d'Angkor
#147 of 353 in Siem Reap
348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#114 of 353 in Siem Reap
540 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Um Theara
Villa Um Theara
#173 of 353 in Siem Reap
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karavansara Retreat & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karavansara Retreat & Residences

Property: Karavansara Retreat & Residences
Address: Street 25, Archa Sva Road, Wat Bo Village | Salakamroeuk Commune, Siem Reap 17259, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#52 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karavansara Retreat & Residences 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Karavansara Retreat and Residences is unparalleled — a world cultural heritage site, a beautiful natural environment, award-winning architectural design, exceptional service and a small number of rooms to ensure exclusivity and privacy. The ethos of Karavansara is founded in the sophisticated luxury that is afforded by attention to the smallest details. Come join us for an enriching, enlightening and rewarding 'lifestyle' experience that will make this the holiday you will always cherish. Comfort, convenience, relaxes and delicious are the hallmarks of Karavansara Retreat and Residences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Karavansara Retreat & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karavansara Retreat & Residences Hotel Siem Reap
Karavansara Retreat And Residences

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing