We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two fantastic things… all the rest was superb. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Karavansara Retreat & Residences
Ranked #161 of 353 Hotels in Siem Reap
1 review
“Two fantastic things… all the rest was superb. ”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

The two fantastic things was: first of all, João, the manager. His sympathy, his knowledge about the city and all around, about Cambodia, and also about all southeast asia. When I arrived in Karavansara hotel we had a plan. Joao advise and design us a new trip and it was amazing (Cambodia, north of Thailand, Laos and north of Vietnam). Thx joao. The second fantastic thing it was the staff. Kind and friendly, always ready to help... all the rest, food, architecture, design, service … was superb.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bibito H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vin K, General Manager at Karavansara Retreat & Residences, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Karavansara Retreat & Residences, and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on TripAdvisor.

I am so pleased that you had an excellent stay with us and that Joao was able to assist you with your holiday plans. We hope to see you again next time you're in Siem Reap.

Kind Regards,

Vin Kebblewhite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    100
    28
    4
    9
See reviews for
60
111
55
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed staying at this hotel and would stay here again.
We had a room on the top floor. Rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable.
Breaky was good but limited selection.
Pool was very small but clean.
Location was awesome. Walking distance to town and in a quiet street.
Booking through hotel is cheaper than booking through hotel web deals.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TabHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vin K, General Manager at Karavansara Retreat & Residences, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Karavansara Retreat & Residences, and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on TripAdvisor.

I am so pleased that you had an excellent stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Karavansara when you're next in Siem Reap.

Kind Regards,

Vin Kebblewhite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

we stayed at karavansara for 6 nights, and it was excellent value for money at 60/80 USD a night.

the positives: the location is ideal, short stroll to pub street and the night markets. the staff are very friendly and helpful. breakfast selection quite good for the price you pay - american, continental or asian. since it was new year's eve we brought over champagne and the staff kindly let us have drinks in the restaurant and provided glasses without charging us.

now the negatives: our room was #4, at the ground floor and at the end of the hall. the room was damp. our clothes and shoes felt damp after leaving them in the room overnight. second, the bed sheet was stained. the towels had stains and discoloring. the toilet paper looked like it got wet and then dry and something grew on it. after i asked for new towels, they brought in a "fresh" batched. i feel like the towels were hanging to dry next to a bbq. the bath towels smelled like smoke. the smaller hand towels smelled like it was left damp for a week. i guess smoky towels are better than stained ones. since the room was damp it had a musty smell and it was hard to get a good nights sleep.

our room didn't have a fridge, no hair dryer, and a sink the size of a fishbowl. we reserved 6 rooms in total. i would suggest getting the one or two bedroom apartment as the rooms come with everything.

Room Tip: get the one bedroom or two bedroom suite. try to avoid the ground floor rooms as the sun doesn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vin K, General Manager at Karavansara Retreat & Residences, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Karavansara Retreat & Residences, and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on TripAdvisor.

As the new General Manager, I wasn't present during your stay with us, but I can see from your review that there were several things we could have done to improve your experience. We are taking action on the issues that you have raised; for example we now have hair dryers in all rooms and I am working closely with housekeeping to ensure that the issues with linen and toilet paper do not happen again.

Thanks again for taking the time to send us your feedback, it is greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards,

Vin Kebblewhite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Great service and great staff who are always ready to assist in any way they can. The two bedroom suite that we stayed in for 3 nights was very well furnished and homely that we wished we could stay at least week.The kitchen was well equipped and came with a washing machine. Cooking meals was such a breeze that we decided to do our own breakfast and supper daily.

The location of the hotel is perfect for short 5 mins walk to food places(at Pub Street, Night market and old Market) and similar for souvernirs and all kinds of local produce. The staff can speak good English and are ready to offer suggestions and advice.

The bathrooms are clean and well facilitated with showers, bath etc. We had a choice of using the ceiling fans or air conditioner through the entire suite. We were also fortunately to have the river view from our balcony and could watch the sunset and sunrise from the rooftop swimming pool.

Overall, this is one of the best suite stay for our family throughout our travels around the world.

Room Tip: River side view will be perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Argo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vin K, General Manager at Karavansara Retreat & Residences, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Karavansara Retreat & Residences, and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on TripAdvisor.

I am so pleased that you and your family had an excellent stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Karavansara when you're next in Siem Reap.

Kind Regards,

Vin Kebblewhite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The goods:
Great location, only 5 mins walk to pub street. No outside noise, very quiet area. Very friendly staff. Toilet does have a closing door (although it's not visible in the pictures) and is separated from shower :-)

The challenges:
Poor breakfast selection.

Not tried: Swimming pool, but it's large enough for a relax (not swimming).

Conclusion: Happy young couple

Additional info: Recommend company HAPPY ANGKOR WAT TOUR for private guide (cost ~300 USD for 2 people for 3 days, drove us everywhere, had really good English, highly knowledgeable and pleasant)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tkaisr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vin K, General Manager at Karavansara Retreat & Residences, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Karavansara Retreat & Residences, and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on TripAdvisor.

Guest feedback is vital to our success and I will discuss your comments regarding breakfast with our Chef and Restaurant Manager.

We're pleased that you had an excellent stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Karavansara when you're next in Siem Reap.

Kind Regards,

Vin Kebblewhite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014

With our 3 energetic kids, we have moved to more apartment options on our trips. The Karavansara was a great hotel in a perfect location - walkable from downtown but across the bridge. We were here for New Year's, and what a great time we had here! Very well equipped room, and don't miss the (small) pool on the rooftop for a cool swim. This would have been 5 star except for the somewhat limited breakfast options. Highly recommended to all for their stays in fantastic Siem Reap.

Room Tip: Room 2c has a washing machine! Next door construction starts a bit early (0700) if you are a light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoganMcDougal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vin K, General Manager at Karavansara Retreat & Residences, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Karavansara Retreat & Residences, and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on TripAdvisor.

We're pleased that you and your family had an excellent stay with us and enjoyed a festive New Year in Siem Reap.

Guest feedback is vital to our success and I will discuss your comments regarding breakfast with our Chef and Restaurant Manager.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Karavansara when you're next in Siem Reap.

Kind Regards,

Vin Kebblewhite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed for four nights (originally three but extended as the hotel was so nice!) over Christmas 2013 as part of our honeymoon.

The hotel is beautiful and in a great location, easy walking distance from Siem Reap town with no need for a tuk tuk of an evening and Just a short drive (15 mins) from the main Angkor Wat temples.

The staff were amazing and super helpful, we wanted a driver to take us around the temples for two days and they arranged a great man and tuk tuk to collect us at 4.30 for sunrise and drive us around for a couple of days, for only $35!

The food was delicious and the service made you feel like a VIP Guest at all times with the staff happy to help with any queries you had .

I would highly recommend this boutique hotel to anyone looking for something a little special away from the big soulless resorts found elsewhere in Siem Reap!

Thank you all at Karavansara, we hope to visit again :-)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZoeLeavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vin K, General Manager at Karavansara Retreat & Residences, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Karavansara Retreat & Residences, and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on TripAdvisor.

We're pleased that you had such a wonderful stay with us and were able to enjoy Christmas and part of your honeymoon in Siem Reap.

Thanks again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Karavansara.

Kind Regards,

Vin Kebblewhite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
City River Hotel
City River Hotel
#92 of 353 in Siem Reap
857 reviews
0.1 mi away
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
#122 of 353 in Siem Reap
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Auberge Mont-Royal d'Angkor
Auberge Mont-Royal d'Angkor
#148 of 353 in Siem Reap
348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#114 of 353 in Siem Reap
539 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Um Theara
Villa Um Theara
#171 of 353 in Siem Reap
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karavansara Retreat & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karavansara Retreat & Residences

Property: Karavansara Retreat & Residences
Address: Street 25, Archa Sva Road, Wat Bo Village | Salakamroeuk Commune, Siem Reap 17259, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#52 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karavansara Retreat & Residences 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Karavansara Retreat and Residences is unparalleled — a world cultural heritage site, a beautiful natural environment, award-winning architectural design, exceptional service and a small number of rooms to ensure exclusivity and privacy. The ethos of Karavansara is founded in the sophisticated luxury that is afforded by attention to the smallest details. Come join us for an enriching, enlightening and rewarding 'lifestyle' experience that will make this the holiday you will always cherish. Comfort, convenience, relaxes and delicious are the hallmarks of Karavansara Retreat and Residences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Karavansara Retreat & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karavansara Retreat & Residences Hotel Siem Reap
Karavansara Retreat And Residences

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing