We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disorganized & Broken Promises” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Karavansara Retreat & Residences

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Karavansara Retreat & Residences
Ranked #139 of 337 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disorganized & Broken Promises”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

When you plan a trip to see one of the world wonders during high season - you need to really plan in advance. And that's exactly what my friends and I did. We contacted the hotel weeks before our January 1st arrival to coordinate airport transport and an English Speaking tour guide. We were assured in various emails from the hotel staff that everything had been taken care of. Well, it wasn't.

We arrived at the airport - there was no sign of our driver. Instead, we were met with dozens of yelling taxi drivers all trying to get us to get in their car. It was overwhelming.

Once we finally got transport arranged ourselves to the hotel - we arrived only to find that they had also no record that we had arranged a sunrise tour the next morning with a guide who spoke English. The staff made us feel as though we were insane - that we had made the mistakes until I showed them the extensive email exchange with their staff. They assured us they'd make it right.

Well, the next morning - they did not make it right. We got a driver who didn't speak a lick of English. It was 5am and I was asking him to pick us up at 7am to go to the elephant station. Well, he thought elephant mean "eleven" despite a game of charades acting out an elephant and me even drawing one on a napkin. We only got him to understand what we wanted after we were forced to buy a program from one of the people hawking guides who happened to speak English and could translate for us.

Interestingly enough, when we asked to leave the Angkor Wat ruins around 11am to go to lunch at a restaurant we found on LonelyPlanet - our guide mysteriously could speak some English. He was full of recommendations for places to eat and shop - but he refused to take us to the restaurant we wanted. (Clearly he was getting kick backs from these places.) We finally forced his hand to take us where we wanted and we terminated the "tour" (I use this term loosely) once we got back to the hotel. This was not how I wanted to experience Angkor Wat.

The hotel itself I will say is in a good location - a 5 minute walk to shopping and Pub Street. Don't be fooled by pictures - the hotel at one point may have seemed modern and nice - now it looks like it was a horse that was ridden hard and put away wet. It needs a major overhaul. Sheets were dirty. They were absolutely filthy! When we complained, we got new sheets that smelled like they had been washed in bleach, but someone forgot to rinse them before they went in the dryer. Ditto with the towels. I resigned myself to drying myself with my own t-shirts to avoid breaking out in a rash from the chemicals in the towels.

Overall, I'd say skip this place if you can find something nicer. Location can't be beat, but for the price, you can get way better hotels in Siem Reap. What a disappointment!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WorldTravelerSF79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vin K, General Manager at Karavansara Retreat & Residences, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Karavansara Retreat & Residences, and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on TripAdvisor.

As the new General Manager, I wasn't present during your stay, however I can see by your review that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. Please accept my apologies, and rest assured I am taking action on the issues you have raised.

Sincerely,

Vin Kebblewhite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    99
    28
    3
    9
See reviews for
60
109
55
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

karavansara is a charming boutique hotel in central siem reap. it is about 5-10 minutes from places like the night market and pub street. the staff are very helpful - good check-in and advice about sightseeing, restaurants, etc.

the rooms are okay-sized, the beds are comfortable if a little small.
the lounge/restaurant serves very good food and drink if you want a quiet night. much better than pub street, in my opinion.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank psi71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vin K, General Manager at Karavansara Retreat & Residences, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Karavansara Retreat & Residences, and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on TripAdvisor.

I am so pleased that you had an excellent stay with us and we hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,

Vin Kebblewhite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

My husband and I stayed this hotel for a portion of our honeymoon. We loved the location of the hotel. A short 5 min. Walk to pub street. I wouldnt want to be any closer due to noise. The staff were always polite and friendly.

The rooms were spacious and bright. When we arrived they had put us on the main floor, we switched the next day to the second floor - we much preferred this as the room was larger, brighter and we had a balcony in the sun.

There were two great pools one on the rooftop and one Just a short way from our room. Both had great loungers and fresh towels.

Breakfast was delicious! Freshly squeezed juice and great coffee! My husband and I were both obsessed with the yellow noodles on the asian breakfast menu. We ate them every day, and even asked the chef what was in them so we can try to re-create it at home.

I had a massage at the hotel as well. Very reasonably priced and it was fantastic! I highly reccomend after a long day of being at the temples. I had a traditional massage which was quite different from a relaxation or sweedish massage i would have back home. In the traditional massage she got right up on the table and it involved stretching some of he muscles-relaxing and soothing!

We had a small problem with the shower not draining well. We let them know, and someone came to look at it right away. It improved after that, however was not a huge issue in the first place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor. They are brighter and therefore less damp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripaholick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vin K, General Manager at Karavansara Retreat & Residences, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Karavansara Retreat & Residences, and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on TripAdvisor.

I am so pleased that you had an excellent stay with us and that you were able to spend part of your honeymoon at Karavansara.

Kind Regards,

Vin Kebblewhite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

The two fantastic things was: first of all, João, the manager. His sympathy, his knowledge about the city and all around, about Cambodia, and also about all southeast asia. When I arrived in Karavansara hotel we had a plan. Joao advise and design us a new trip and it was amazing (Cambodia, north of Thailand, Laos and north of Vietnam). Thx joao. The second fantastic thing it was the staff. Kind and friendly, always ready to help... all the rest, food, architecture, design, service … was superb.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bibito H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vin K, General Manager at Karavansara Retreat & Residences, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Karavansara Retreat & Residences, and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on TripAdvisor.

I am so pleased that you had an excellent stay with us and that Joao was able to assist you with your holiday plans. We hope to see you again next time you're in Siem Reap.

Kind Regards,

Vin Kebblewhite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed staying at this hotel and would stay here again.
We had a room on the top floor. Rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable.
Breaky was good but limited selection.
Pool was very small but clean.
Location was awesome. Walking distance to town and in a quiet street.
Booking through hotel is cheaper than booking through hotel web deals.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TabHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vin K, General Manager at Karavansara Retreat & Residences, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Karavansara Retreat & Residences, and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on TripAdvisor.

I am so pleased that you had an excellent stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Karavansara when you're next in Siem Reap.

Kind Regards,

Vin Kebblewhite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

we stayed at karavansara for 6 nights, and it was excellent value for money at 60/80 USD a night.

the positives: the location is ideal, short stroll to pub street and the night markets. the staff are very friendly and helpful. breakfast selection quite good for the price you pay - american, continental or asian. since it was new year's eve we brought over champagne and the staff kindly let us have drinks in the restaurant and provided glasses without charging us.

now the negatives: our room was #4, at the ground floor and at the end of the hall. the room was damp. our clothes and shoes felt damp after leaving them in the room overnight. second, the bed sheet was stained. the towels had stains and discoloring. the toilet paper looked like it got wet and then dry and something grew on it. after i asked for new towels, they brought in a "fresh" batched. i feel like the towels were hanging to dry next to a bbq. the bath towels smelled like smoke. the smaller hand towels smelled like it was left damp for a week. i guess smoky towels are better than stained ones. since the room was damp it had a musty smell and it was hard to get a good nights sleep.

our room didn't have a fridge, no hair dryer, and a sink the size of a fishbowl. we reserved 6 rooms in total. i would suggest getting the one or two bedroom apartment as the rooms come with everything.

Room Tip: get the one bedroom or two bedroom suite. try to avoid the ground floor rooms as the sun doesn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vin K, General Manager at Karavansara Retreat & Residences, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Karavansara Retreat & Residences, and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on TripAdvisor.

As the new General Manager, I wasn't present during your stay with us, but I can see from your review that there were several things we could have done to improve your experience. We are taking action on the issues that you have raised; for example we now have hair dryers in all rooms and I am working closely with housekeeping to ensure that the issues with linen and toilet paper do not happen again.

Thanks again for taking the time to send us your feedback, it is greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards,

Vin Kebblewhite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Great service and great staff who are always ready to assist in any way they can. The two bedroom suite that we stayed in for 3 nights was very well furnished and homely that we wished we could stay at least week.The kitchen was well equipped and came with a washing machine. Cooking meals was such a breeze that we decided to do our own breakfast and supper daily.

The location of the hotel is perfect for short 5 mins walk to food places(at Pub Street, Night market and old Market) and similar for souvernirs and all kinds of local produce. The staff can speak good English and are ready to offer suggestions and advice.

The bathrooms are clean and well facilitated with showers, bath etc. We had a choice of using the ceiling fans or air conditioner through the entire suite. We were also fortunately to have the river view from our balcony and could watch the sunset and sunrise from the rooftop swimming pool.

Overall, this is one of the best suite stay for our family throughout our travels around the world.

Room Tip: River side view will be perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Argo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vin K, General Manager at Karavansara Retreat & Residences, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Karavansara Retreat & Residences, and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on TripAdvisor.

I am so pleased that you and your family had an excellent stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Karavansara when you're next in Siem Reap.

Kind Regards,

Vin Kebblewhite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
#118 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#65 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Um Theara
Villa Um Theara
#153 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Reflections Art Boutique Hotel
Reflections Art Boutique Hotel
#116 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bopha Siem Reap Boutique Hotel
Bopha Siem Reap Boutique Hotel
#174 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karavansara Retreat & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karavansara Retreat & Residences

Property: Karavansara Retreat & Residences
Address: Street 25, Archa Sva Road, Wat Bo Village | Salakamroeuk Commune, Siem Reap 17259, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#52 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karavansara Retreat & Residences 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Karavansara Retreat and Residences is unparalleled — a world cultural heritage site, a beautiful natural environment, award-winning architectural design, exceptional service and a small number of rooms to ensure exclusivity and privacy. The ethos of Karavansara is founded in the sophisticated luxury that is afforded by attention to the smallest details. Come join us for an enriching, enlightening and rewarding 'lifestyle' experience that will make this the holiday you will always cherish. Comfort, convenience, relaxes and delicious are the hallmarks of Karavansara Retreat and Residences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Karavansara Retreat & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karavansara Retreat & Residences Hotel Siem Reap
Karavansara Retreat And Residences

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing