We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE! its a SCAM Bait and Switch rooms TERRIBLE service!!”

Green Banana Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Siem Reap
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Green Banana Guesthouse
Ranked #401 of 495 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Gardena, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEWARE! its a SCAM Bait and Switch rooms TERRIBLE service!!”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

BEWARE! its a SCAM!
at the bus stop a very pushy salesman shows you a very nice
room in a brochure. but when you arrive at the hotel they say
no rooms available and so they send you packing to another dump
with no ac! but it was very late and i was tired.
then the following day i booked a tour for angkor. so at the very
1st stop the driver proceeded to lose me! so i had to hire a 2nd
driver to show me around angkor and then a 3rd driver to get back
to my hotel!
the worst service everrrrrrrrr
stay away from these people.
you can find a nicer room for half the price anyways
BEWARE SCAMMERS!!!

Room Tip: wait until you arrive downtown and find a nicer room for half the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    2
    5
    26
See reviews for
2
11
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Had travelled from chaing Mai so by the time we got to the border we were knackered! A really pushy guy talked us into stayin in the green banana, saying we could only stay for two nights but eventually agreed to one! How lucky we were... Got to the room and the smell was the first thing that greeted us followed by the blood stained sheets and curtains. The bathroom was another treat... Somebody else's urine in the toilet rusty hair clips complete with attached hair in the shower! Tv didn't work wifi didn't work and there was no pool! Of all the places I have stayed this is by far the worst!
Also after we arrived a tuk tuk driver just casually let himself into both of our rooms and tried to sell us excursions not even a knock complete invasion of privacy.

So word to the wise AVOID the green banana!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Siem Reap hotels

Antwerp
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We arrived to Siem Reap late in the night, didnt do any reservation of accommodation beforehands therefore we took the first offer from local guide which was the Green Banana Guesthouse - which was obviously a mistake.

We paid 15 dollars for a double room with AC and bathroom (and non-functioning TV). The room was quite horrible including mould, ugly smelling bedsheets and thin towels (also smelly) plus one additional centipede crawling around the room.

The staff was quite friendly, but offered us the worst possible exchange rate when we wanted to change dollars (luckily there were many other possibilities to change money in the neighbourhood) and also too expensive offer of a tuk-tuk driver for the 3 days visit of Angkor area (better price was from tuk-tuk drivers on the street).

The guesthouse has a restaurant too, but not a very good one.

Ah yeah - in the leaflet the guesthouse is promising a pool. Yes, there was a pool located near the restaurant, but you can swim there only if you like mould, dark green dirty water and fish swimming with you! I think nobody swam in that pool for a half of century.

In general, the leaflet of the guesthouse with the nice pictures looked very much different from the reality of this guesthouse!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrena937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We went four People from Koh Chang in Thailand ( same trip available from Bangkok ).

Before changing busses at the border to Cambodia they handed us the brochure of the green banana and we booked a room.

Then we arrived in Siem riep and there was tuk tuks to get us there. Here we meet some Who called himself MR LUCKY and he totally ript us off by charging ten times as much for a tour wich actually only was a tuk tuk ride around Angkor wat.
He introduced himself as staff of the hotel and seemed to be a good friend to the rest of the staff but later when we wanted to get a hold off him too cancel and wanted to borrow a phone they said it was impossible and refused to help us find him.
NO POOL NO WIFI

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecgpeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Stayed here for two nights toilet shower room were rotten no loo seat mould on the walls v v. Stinky ,bed and room had seen better days , no wifi that I noticed , loud music courteously of my neighbour lost me a nights sleep not the guesthouse fault , had a guy at a border cafe try n hound me into paying 800 baht for a room here but declined even though he was insistent , of course he was when I paid 6 dollars a night to stay here , there's 2 computers in the bar here ,staff were ok I wasn't a dope leaving my valuables in the room so had nothing robbed room wasn't cleaned when I was there , got dropped here by a driver from bus station it's a crash pad and a bit of a hole but serves a purpose ! Ps book your coach tickets at the top of the road in the travel agents on the corner it's 4or5 dollars cheaper than doing it here , dancing frog does good beer n food with a friendly Indian guy who runs it just across the road !!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Limeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

A nice guesthouse located a 15 minute walk from ‘Pub Street’. Rooms spread out around the surrounding roads, a short walk for breakfast every morning. Banana hires out bikes which in my opinion are the best way to discover the Angkor Temples. Swimming pool is situated near to reception in the breakfast area, perfect for a dip after a hot day cycling road the magical temples. Patchy wi-fi (norm in Cambodia) but bar staff will give you a cable to plug into your laptop!

Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Richhufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

I can confirm everything that is said here. my room had everywhere fungi and I could only sleep 1 night there, after that I had to move out because else I would get sick! It was so extrem that I couldnt sleep at night. the next thing is that there is no pool only a really dirty pond and the price vary so much (1000 thaibat to 150 thaibat) for the same room! Dont go there, they skam you!

Room Tip: good hotel: VIVA Hotel at the old market!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Lotus Blanc Resort
Lotus Blanc Resort
#38 of 356 in Siem Reap
2,210 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.0 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#42 of 356 in Siem Reap
5,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#20 of 356 in Siem Reap
3,628 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#47 of 356 in Siem Reap
866 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kiri Boutique Hotel
Kiri Boutique Hotel
#142 of 356 in Siem Reap
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Banana Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Banana Guesthouse

Property: Green Banana Guesthouse
Address: #606, Vihear Chen Village | Svay Dangkum Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Hotel Style:
Ranked #401 of 495 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing