We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So helpful, a real family run place.”
Review of Yellow Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yellow Hostel
Ranked #169 of 493 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So helpful, a real family run place.”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

These guys helped me with everything and we're professional and honest the whole time. Traveling alone it felt good to have them around, almost like an extended Cambodian family. Interested in what I was doing without being pushy, wanted to see my photos and go excited with me about up and coming adventures.
I booked all my tours through these guys. When I did once go out an book without them I ended up ripped off in classic SE Asia style. So I stuck close with my new family.
The room was basic but comfortable and clean, food delicious and service second to none!

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Renae S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    30
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
4
26
21
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

It was my first time in Siem Reap, Cambodia. I flied from Bangkok to Siem Reap and arrive there at 8pm. I booked that hostel by online and they came to pick me up at the air-port to Yellow Hostel by tuk tuk for free. It's very good service. Beautiful room and very clean. One of the woman who work there, is very friendly, she organized for me everything, tours, tickets, other. Yellow Hostel staffs are all very friendly and good at English. I felt like my home. You also can swim in a mini swimming pool. Food very tasty and cheap. I would highly recommend this hostel to another people who have plan to visit Siem Reap, Cambodia.

Room Tip: The air-con and hot water on the first floor is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yamada I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent stay. The pool is awesome! The breakfast decent. The rooms very clean and the staff was so friendly and helpful. I highly recommend. $18 and you have a pool and incl breakfast... Awesome! The family that runs place also help with booking a tuk tuk for the temples and making your breakfast Togo if you'd like, and also booking buses. They were wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pardy801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

This is a nice hostel in a good location. There is a swimming pool and balconies to sit.
Friendly staff can be trusted to arrange tuk tuks and buses at a very resonable price(something I would never usually do).
We stayed for five nights.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlawton21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandalay, Mandalay, Myanmar
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Just been here for a quick vacation to see the Angkor Wat. The hostel is located 5 mins away from the night market where the night life is. Anyways, the hostel is clean, quite old but comfy. The room rates are cheap and good for 3 people. The people are polite and courteous. They even have a mini pool which you can swim.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesideGuzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We spent a month and a half in this hotel while teaching english near Siem Reap.
The staff was really friendly, from the owners to the tuk tuk drivers, cleaners and cooks, always discussing, joking and even drinking with us.
The room we had was big, bright and clean.
The food here is good and the swimming pool in front of the guest house is so refreshing after a hot day in the temples or in the schools.
The center (pub street) is only a 20 min walk from here but you can ask for a cheap tuk tuk. You can also wander along the streets nearby the hotel and find cheap and good restaurants.


To sum it up, we felt like home here, almost like in family and we'll come back for sure!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptiteso84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Villa, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I went there back in Sept 2010. They just opened newly and that's why I chose them as my first stay in Cambodia. I was almost forgot until some of my friend recommended on facebook abt this property lately.


There were several staff very aggressive and speak very loud to you (basically yelling). There was a rude lady refuse to give me back my change (Cambodia money) after I purchased the food there. And yes the food was awful and overpriced with rude kitchen staff as well. Probably they are owners of this property. I was planned to stay there for 3 nights and I found some dead cockroaches under the sink and near the drainage. Then I change my last night stay to somewhere close to the coach station instead because I am leaving to Phnom Penh next day. When I checked out with the rude lady (again), she questioned me why I leave early and why I didn't purchase the coach ticket there (sorry not your damn business). Only some staff are kind and helpful. Other than this, RUDE AND NONSENSE! STAY AWAY FROM THIS PROPERTY!

Room Tip: Find somewhere else, there are plenty down the Pokambor Ave and Airport Ave
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnsmith0878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.3 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#86 of 353 in Siem Reap
856 reviews
0.0 mi away
Okay 1 Villa
Okay 1 Villa
#150 of 353 in Siem Reap
492 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angkor Paradise Hotel
Angkor Paradise Hotel
#100 of 353 in Siem Reap
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bopha Pollen Hotel
Bopha Pollen Hotel
#72 of 493 in Siem Reap
270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schein Guesthouse & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
MotherHome Boutique Hotel
MotherHome Boutique Hotel
#25 of 493 in Siem Reap
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellow Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow Hostel

Property: Yellow Hostel
Address: #363 | Taphul Village, Sangkat Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Yellow Guesthouse)
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 493 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Yellow Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yellow Hostel is a townhouse accommodation in Siem Reap offering budget and affordable accommodation that is enjoying its prime location in the city center surrounding by the Siem Reap's most popular local restaurants and the massage center. We offer the best rate guarantee for the budget travelers, provides free WiFi and one-way pick-up service by Remourque (Formely known as Tuk Tuk). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Yellow Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing