We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly clean guesthouse in a quiet hidden backyard”
Review of Sam So Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sam So Guesthouse
Ranked #71 of 493 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly clean guesthouse in a quiet hidden backyard”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This friendly quiet guesthouse off Wat Bo street offers clean spacious rooms with a choice of meals for breakfast. Free pickup at the airport can be arranged. Of course the Tuktuk driver is interested in additional bookings during your stay but this is just OK.

Bikes can be hired right away to explore the area of Angkor. Free pickup at the airport can be arranged. Of course the Tuktuk driver is interested in additional bookings during your stay but this is just OK.

We did all the temples by bike a strenous but unforgetable expierence.

For really clean clothes check out the laundry near the sumo ringer advertise if you get out on Wat bo street just turn right. Very nice and friendly is also the " Mango fruit desserts nearby".

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aukena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    75
    20
    7
    3
See reviews for
22
89
76
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
390 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Absolutely unbeatable value $12.15 double fan room with breakfast! We cannot speak highly
enough of our stay at Sam So. The hotel is located in Wat Bo village, the other side of the river from the old market and Pub Street area - it is a 10 minute walk, we never got a tuk-tuk. Take the side road to the right of the temple (Wat Preah Prohm Roth) to cut through directly to Pub Street. We were provided with free transport from the airport. They take your details on booking through Agoda, but we also emailed just to be on the safe side. The driver has your
name card at arrivals. We had a double fan room on the ground floor for 16 nights, with cable
TV, good wi-fi, wet room with electric shower and complimentary toiletries (shampoo sachets, soap, toothbrush/toothpaste). Breakfast was served outside in a seating area opposite reception. For breakfast, we chose ham and veg omelette every day, this came with two pieces of toast with jam / butter and a banana and alternately mango or dragon fruit. What more could you want? Other than omelette I remember other options were fried eggs or sandwiches. Help yourself also to free tea and coffee. The breakfast hut also provides a great opportunity for you to chat with other guests and share travel tips. As there are families living around this area you get to see a close knit community at work and play. Mrs So is extremely helpful with arranging any tours and can advise an itinerary for Angkor depending on the length of your stay. We booked a tuk-tuk driver with her for three days for an unusual itinerary as we had visited Siem Reap before and therefore wanted to see 'less visited' temples. We also arranged our ongoing mini-van to Phnom Penh at the guesthouse. Despite some of the comments on here, we found that Mrs So was happy to negotiate on the price of trips if you think the price too high. We took advantage of the laundry service too. We prefer a family guesthouse as you are made to feel welcome and at home and get a more authentic view of the Cambodian culture. Along with all of the guests, the family invited us to their daughter's 5th birthday party, which we attended. The So's hospitality and generosity was overwhelming as we were treated to Khmer curry, battered fish, chicken's feet, cockles and other delights including water, soft drinks and beer. As soon as you had eaten some, the plates were filled again. Look no further than Sam So for you next enjoyable stay in Siem Reap!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2014

You couldn't find friendlier hosts if you tried! Teowee and Sam So will welcome you in their family run, clean, quiet guest house, with attention to every detail: from preparing your breakfast "to go" for sunrise watching at temples, to booking your tours and buses, they will offer information and recommendations.
Just a block away from the riverside it's a 5 minute walk to downtown old market.
We had a wonderful stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verena_Schifman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Everyone talks about how friendly the people are here, and it's true, they try very hard. However, I feel that someone should report on the rooms as well, and I feel that they were not really satisfactory.

Pros:
- Really quiet environment (exceptions: the concrete drill during breakfast (8am) one morning, the neighbours' radio (7am), people at reception (11pm) - though I was in the room next to it, 101)
- Decent bed and sheets
- Breakfast is alright: Egg, two pieces of white toast, jam and butter, half a mango and a small banana, coffee (soluble)/tea.

Cons:
- The shower leaks the entire time, and you can hear this..the entire time. Think about whether you're a person that gets irritated by this or not.
- This also meant that I had wet feet every time I went into the bathroom, and often wet trouser ends as well.
- The shower head only worked for 50% (the inner 'rays' came out).
- The shower is directly above the toilet, so prepare for a wet seat.
- The room smells funny, not sure how to describe it, but then again you do get used to it after a while.
- There is no built-in fan, only bedside fans available.
- There is no bedside light.
- The wifi in my room wasn't great, though not horrendously bad either.
- Breakfast takes a minimum of 15 minutes to make, and once even 25 minutes (and I was the only one there).
- There is no communal room, so not great for meeting people.

All in all I found this guesthouse average, and I had hoped for more given the price, but then again it is Siem Reap, and I did appreciate the quietness.

They do pick-ups (from the pier, etc.). When you book tuktuks through them though it is quite pricey ($6 to go to the airport, which is about 20mins away).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wazoozaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Basic, big and clean rooms. Just 10 minutes walk from the nightmarket en the Pubstreet. Best about this guesthouse is the friendly and helpful owner. She helped us with everything and she books tours, tuktuks and buses for a reasonable price. So there is no need to shop around.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

The hostel located in a quiet street 15 min walking from the pub street. The rooms are nice and clean, the staff is very welcoming and friendly. The breakfast is good, and there is a free tea and coffe table for you to use.Thank you sam so for your hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlgaandEilon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveling
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

The best thing about this clean, comfortable guesthouse is the welcome from everyone here. After the frustrating border crossing and transportation scams at Poipet I wasn't in the best of moods, but arriving here changed that.

Sam So is a well-priced guesthouse, the rooms are clean, breakfast's good, wifi has decent coverage, and the location is just a 10 minute walk from pub street. I stayed longer than planned.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank laurencew86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.7 mi away
Mingalar Inn
Mingalar Inn
#171 of 356 in Siem Reap
426 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sam So Boutique Villa
Sam So Boutique Villa
#85 of 493 in Siem Reap
27 reviews
0.2 mi away
Babel Guesthouse
Babel Guesthouse
#6 of 493 in Siem Reap
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Schein Guesthouse & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Happy Guest House
Happy Guest House
#25 of 493 in Siem Reap
707 reviews
0.3 mi away
Angkor Breeze
Angkor Breeze
#70 of 493 in Siem Reap
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam So Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam So Guesthouse

Property: Sam So Guesthouse
Address: Wat Bo Rd #0164, Wat Bo village, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 493 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sam So Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sam So Guesthouse is located in the center of Siem Reap city, Cambodia. It is a very nice place to stay, great atmosphere. Located about 15 minutes from Siem Reap International Airport, Sam So Guesthouse is about a 10-minute walk to the Old Market, the Night Market and Pub Street, as well as a scenic 10-minute drive to the world famous Angkor Wat. It has 19 rooms. Every room has private bathroom (with hot water), mini-fridge, cable TV, and free Internet service (with a wireless connection) and free pick-up from airport, bus station and pier. Free Breakfast with tea and coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sam So Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing