We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in the very centre of Siem Reap”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Siem Reap
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Viva Restaurant & Guesthouse
Ranked #137 of 521 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I was very surprised with the excellent service and quality of food and drinks in VIVA restaurant. The restaurant is aimed at Mexican cuisine, but don't miss good quality khmer food and tasty long drinks. Ideal for meeting with friends after daylong visit Angkor sights. And I can not forget: friendly and smiling staff...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

Very good value mexican restaurant, $27usd for 1 starter & 2 main courses plus 2 beers & 2 glasses of red wine. The service was excellent & the staff friendly, which is opposite to comments made by other Trip Advisor reviewers. My wife had chicken fajitas & I had a beef burrito, both of which were very tasty. Our nacho/cheese/jalepeno starter was also good. For Cambodia this was a good experience of mexican food but I am sure that the purists will always find fault if they are used to eating in Texas or Mexico, which we have done but you do have to make an allowance. So well done Viva.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

This restaurant located at busy Pub Street area in Siem Reap, they offer delicious Mexican and Khmer Food in town. Especially Fajita and Cassadila the most popular dishes at this restaurant.

I highly recommend this restaurant for those who plan to visit Siem Reap.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ayu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Great location, good value for money, nice breakfast, near pub street, near old-market, pick-up service from airport, good mexican restaurant downstairs and rooms are nice too .Recepcion staff recomended me a realy nice tuk-tuk driver.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This restaurant has now established itself as one of the fixtures of the Siem Reap dining scene and it seems always to be crowded with tourists from noon to midnight every day. So what is it that keeps the crowds coming back?

The restaurant is set in an old French colonial shop-house, which creates a bit of period charm. It is painted bright orange now, which I doubt it was back in the day, but the old, wooden shutters and street-front colonnade makes up for it, and you still get a sense of old Siem Reap. The cane tables don't hurt either and the kentia palms also add to the tropical ambience. In other words, the place has quite a bit of atmosphere.

The main point though is the food, and this place does very good Mexican food, especially for a restaurant set in provincial Cambodia. It wasn't quite as good as I remembered it from my previous visit but you are unlikely to do better for Mexican anywhere this side of Bangkok. Another small gripe is that the food isn't all that filling. For $5 for a burrito, you will probably have one of the less filling mains around town, but it is a very nice burrito nonetheless. We can also recommend the margaritas, which can be enjoyed from a carafe which serves three. Despite a few minor quibbles, we still enjoy coming here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Bart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We love coming here for weekly Mexican meals... And our Khmer staff enjoys the local dishes they offer as well! Prices are some of the best in town! Service is fantastic and we have always had our special requests (no japalenos etc) taken care of!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank MM5353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We did not stay at the guesthouse, just had our lunch here. We are defenitely not coming back. Although we know we are not in Mexico the food should be better in our opinion. The chicken of the taco was like rubber. Think they tried to hide it by covering it with just coriander and onion, but only made it worse. We have met lots of friendly and smiling people, but here the waitresses didn't seem to know how to smile at all..

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jasper1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.4 mi away
Shinta Mani Shack
Shinta Mani Shack
#9 of 378 in Siem Reap
2,283 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lotus Blanc Resort
Lotus Blanc Resort
#38 of 378 in Siem Reap
2,587 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#43 of 378 in Siem Reap
5,459 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kiri Boutique Hotel
Kiri Boutique Hotel
#155 of 378 in Siem Reap
520 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#60 of 378 in Siem Reap
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Restaurant & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Restaurant & Guesthouse

Address: Old Market Area near Pub Street, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 521 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guesthouse is located in the center of Siem Reap, on the corner of the old market (Psar Chas) and only 50 meters from the Pup Street. Our Guesthouse is owned and managed by Cambodian and Western People, together with an nice and friendly staff. We have tastefully, modern decorated rooms. This spacious room comes with a wide range of amenities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing