We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mexican”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Siem Reap
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Viva Restaurant & Guesthouse
Ranked #130 of 493 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maleny, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Mexican”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed my meal for a break from Asian cuisine. Draft beer for $1. Ceiling fans, good corner location for people watching at sunset. Cane furniture, nice orange paintwork, free wi-fi, clear menus in English, clean, attentive staff, worked for me.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    59
    18
    2
    5
See reviews for
13
47
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Been coming to Siem Reap for a few years now and I always like coming here. First things first...as a previous reviewer noted - you are ordering Mexican food in a 3rd world Asian country 10,000 miles from Mexico. If you can accept that, your expectations will be in check and you'll enjoy your meal.

The service was pleasant and the food pretty good. Portions were also large enough that I dined on the kids leftovers and enjoyed cheap Anchor Beer during happy hour. If you're craving Mexican food while in Siem Reap, this is the place....salsa pretty good, too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grawburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Food here is worth the money.
I ate here 3 times during my trip to Siem Reap.
All other restaurants didnt make me as happy as this restaurant.
The mexican food here is great and I had the best "Amok" here in Siem Reap.
The amok is one of the must taste dishes here in Cambodia

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miguelladia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitges, Catalonia, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

I had dinner there one night, i took chicken fajitas, not so much chicken more pepper and they were a little bit dry but their margarita is very good.
The restaurant have a good location in the center.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank LeylaMedina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Pretty good,didnt stay at the guesthouse,just ate at the restaurant,situated in the old market area,near pub street.

Food was tasty,you have to remember that this is a restaurant serving Mexican food,in Cambodia,so don't expect the full blown taste as if you were actually in Mexico,we had a starter,2 mains,& drinks,$23,cant complain really,& the staff were friendly with a smile.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelFried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I was very surprised with the excellent service and quality of food and drinks in VIVA restaurant. The restaurant is aimed at Mexican cuisine, but don't miss good quality khmer food and tasty long drinks. Ideal for meeting with friends after daylong visit Angkor sights. And I can not forget: friendly and smiling staff...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Very good value mexican restaurant, $27usd for 1 starter & 2 main courses plus 2 beers & 2 glasses of red wine. The service was excellent & the staff friendly, which is opposite to comments made by other Trip Advisor reviewers. My wife had chicken fajitas & I had a beef burrito, both of which were very tasty. Our nacho/cheese/jalepeno starter was also good. For Cambodia this was a good experience of mexican food but I am sure that the purists will always find fault if they are used to eating in Texas or Mexico, which we have done but you do have to make an allowance. So well done Viva.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel
Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel
#101 of 354 in Siem Reap
903 reviews
0.0 mi away
Neth Socheata Hotel
Neth Socheata Hotel
#91 of 493 in Siem Reap
179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Viva Hotel
Viva Hotel
#349 of 493 in Siem Reap
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
1920 Hotel
1920 Hotel
#24 of 493 in Siem Reap
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sun Sengky Guest House
Sun Sengky Guest House
#282 of 493 in Siem Reap
26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shadow Angkor Residence
Shadow Angkor Residence
#129 of 493 in Siem Reap
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Restaurant & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Restaurant & Guesthouse

Property: Viva Restaurant & Guesthouse
Address: Old Market Area near Pub Street, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 493 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guesthouse is located in the center of Siem Reap, on the corner of the old market (Psar Chas) and only 50 meters from the Pup Street. Our Guesthouse is owned and managed by Cambodian and Western People, together with an nice and friendly staff. We have tastefully, modern decorated rooms. This spacious room comes with a wide range of amenities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing