We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They have never been to Texas”
Review of 8th Street Bar & Grill - CLOSED

8th Street Bar & Grill
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Asian, International
Restaurant details
chennai
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“They have never been to Texas”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Being away from Texas for the past 5 months I was so looking forward to some good bbq brisket and some baby back ribs when I was reading the menu. To my amazement they said they did not serve the ribs till after 6 p.m. but they did have the bbq brisket. The menu described the brisket as a tribute to the Texas hill country BBQ and so we ordered it hoping for a taste of home. What arrived was something you might find in an East coast resteraunt. It was like eating roast beef that had been treated like pulled pork. If you tried to pass this off as brisket in Texas, you would be run out of town. I am not saying it tasted bad as it was fairly tasty but I think you need to produce the product you advertise. The lack of ribs and the poor attempt at Texas BBQ brisket made this a disapointing stop for us in Siem Reap.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jekalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good pizzas on Pub Street”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Very touristy, but a good spot for yummy pizzas if you're looking for a break from Khmer food.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5 star restaurant , 1 Star Price.”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Its an awesome place. Very nice food. The prok rins are just delicioussssssss. This is a very reasonbly priced place. The best in pub street i reckon. Please visit this place

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cwilliam7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Very reasonable price with good food! We went back there 3 times and can't say the same for the rest of the restaurants around. Highly recommended! Nice comfortable ambience too!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ethan-kl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
American Expat
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great drinks, attentive wait staff, delicious food”
Reviewed 5 December 2011

My husband and I have eaten here twice and love the food and atmosphere. You get a nice view of Pub Street, and while we were there we saw a man jump through a hoop of fire and eat fire on a stick--amazing and such a treat for visitors. Yes, we gave him a donation. Anyway, we have had pizzas, hummus, grilled veggie platter, and sandwiches here, and all the food was portioned nicely and cooked to perfection. This is one of the only places that offers sparkling wine by the glass, which is a nice touch.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 8th Street Bar & Grill also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing