We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it! Loved it! Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Temple Hotel
Ranked #20 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Loved it! Loved it! Loved it!”
Reviewed 10 June 2011

What a great hotel!! The rooms are lovely, the staff were a delight. Breakfast was a feast which is necessary before spending 6 hours hiking around Angkor Wat. We used the pool daily. We really enjoyed ourselves and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candy321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,199
    355
    51
    16
    7
See reviews for
608
1,879
265
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (989)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

The Golden Temple staff goes the extra mile to take care of their guest. From the moment we arrived in Siem Reap Airport to the minute we hoped on our bus to Thailand the staff was there for all of our needs. Some of the things we enjoyed were the airport pickup, welcome drinks and snacks, teas and snacks by the poolside, bicycles, massages, discount at sister restaurant on pub street, cooking classes, amazing breakfast and much more. We were treated with great hospitality and the staff really makes an effort to reach out to their guest. This is probably the only time a hotel took the effort to learn our names. Just when you think the service is amazing and cannot be beat, they will surprise you with more! Do understand that this is not a 5 star hotel so do not expect your pillow-top mattresses and jucuzzi tubs. It is a 3.5-4 star facility with beyond 5 star service. If you are looking for a 5 star facility stay at the Raffles, but come to Golden Temple if you want a staff that really cares about you.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T-A-J-o-e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

The staff at the GTH made our 4 day stay in Siem Reap magical. Great position - close enough to be in amongst the bars and restaurants in minutes, yet far enough away if all you want to do is laze beside the pool or enjoy a massage. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra - get a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janetmathews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We were originally only going to Thailand but added a stay in Cambodia as an afterthought and boy was it a blast! After much researching and comparing on various websites we chose the Golden Temple as it was getting rave reviews and we were happy to find the reviews were all spot on.

The Golden Temple is a charming little hotel, the rooms are lovely, the staff is outstanding and I can safely say it has been one of the best hotels I've stayed in and I've been in many hotels all over the world including Raffles hotels and other luxury hotels.

The staff really goes the extra mile to pamper you and make you feel very special. The complimentary massage is amazing, we ended up booking more massages as their spa is very refreshing and relaxing. The food is good, service is excellent, the hotel is spotless and the pool is lovely.

You won't be disappointed! We had some problems getting back to Thailand but the staff at the Golden Temple took excellent care of us until we were able to leave, amazing people in an amazing country we will definitely be back again! HIGHLY recommended, I cannot speak highly enough of our stay there. Our tuk tuk driver was also excellent - ask for Mr. Sekong when you're there - he drives carefully and will show you all the good places and is very honest.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afrowoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We are travelling around the world, so far our best experience has been at GTH. Implecable service, and attention deserving 5 stars. Super clean, lovely, and basically, an oasis of peace. Lovely rest, and spa. Definitely, stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2thousandsteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We spent our two nights in Siem Reap at the Golden Temple Hotel and overall had a great stay. The staff were very friendly and genuine, especially our last day when they watched our luggage all day and then supplied us with towels, soap, and shoes so that we could shower in the downstairs bathroom before our long trip home. The room was great, quite large and with a very comfortable bed. The breakfast was quite good, and we also had a solid, reasonably priced dinner at the restaurant the first night (we arrived late and wanted to eat quickly). Location is great--just a short walk into the "old market" area with all the shops and restaurants. All the "little things" were also great...really strong wifi in our room, inexpensive laundry service, etc.

The only trouble we had was that it was a little noisy between 10pm and midnight our first night. We never did figure out what the source of the noise was, but it wasn't really an issue our second night, so it seems like an isolated incident. We mentioned it briefly at the front desk the next morning, and they seemed surprised so it certainly didn't seem like it was the norm.

All in all, we had a terrific stay, and we would definitely stay here again if we returned to Siem Reap.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Em32123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

First off, compared to a 5 star hotel in NY, I would rate this hotel more like a 2.5-3/5, but for a Cambodian hotel this place is pretty amazing.

Overall, my husband and I enjoyed our 3 night stay.

We were picked up by the hotel's Tuk-Tuk which was a free service (I emailed ahead of time to set that up). The tuk-tuk ride was fun and we utilized it again on our return to the airport from the hotel ($3 US).

When we arrived at the hotel we were welcomed immediately by the front desk. Checked in fairly quick. A welcome drink/snacks were brought to our room. (Ice in the hotel is safe to drink, don't worry - enjoy the drink!).

Our room was located on the ground floor behind the double doors near the front desk. This was probably their cheapest rooms out of the hotel - we purchased our room at a heavily discounted rate on Expedia. Our view was of the next door youth hostel which for the most part was fairly quiet. The down side: drapes were not blackout drapes so the light from the hostel kept me up that first night. The room was colorful and nicely decorated. The bathroom was a okay - no tub for the shower so be prepared to get water on the floor, but this is pretty typical for most SE Asian places. Downside to the bathroom, smelled a little like sewage in the morning and the light above the shower went out our second day. Cambodia is really humid so it takes a while for things to dry - this could lead to the smell in the bathroom.

Breakfast is free in the morning. We only had it one time because we missed out on it for sunrise at Angkor Wat... which YOU HAVE TO DO!!!!!

Our day of Angkor Thom and Angkor Wat was tourguide-less as my husband and I didn't want to be held to the time schedule of the guide. We did hire a driver, though. Pheap was fantastic! I think he was a little shocked how quickly we were moving through our day. Armed with mosquito spray, sunscreen and powerbars, we started at 5 am for sunrise. We went straight through hitting one temple after another until we finished 7 hours later to get back to the hotel in time for lunch. We did not stop after sunrise for breakfast - which was great because we were the only people at Bayon!

Our free massage was good, but different than most massages you'd find here in the states.

More Pros:
- free wi-fi in rooms
- free bottled water each day
- friendly staff
- hotel sprays regularly for mosquitoes
- within walking distance of the markets and restaurants

Other Cons:
- Unwelcomed visitor of a grasshopper on our bed one morning
- No top sheet on the bed, just a comforter (i believe this to be commonplace in other hotels - as this was the case in Thailand for us)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGallup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#7 of 356 in Siem Reap
1,560 reviews
0.8 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#42 of 356 in Siem Reap
5,081 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Temple Retreat
Golden Temple Retreat
#3 of 356 in Siem Reap
247 reviews
0.7 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Temple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Temple Hotel

Property: Golden Temple Hotel
Address: Makara Road, or Angkor High School Road, Siem Reap 17254, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Temple Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a luscious temple garden, Golden Temple Hotel is enchanting, peaceful, elegant and luxurious. The Golden Temple experience is about stylish relaxation, modern comfort, and the enjoyment a range of activities beyond the discovery of the incredible Temples of Angkor. The hotel has a full restaurant service, with both Khmer and Western cuisine, a comprehensive massage service offering diverse massage techniques, an outdoor hot steam area, and a large pool. Laid around the swimming pool are temple features. Shaded hammock alcoves and gazebos that add a touch of romance and privacy to the relaxed settings. At Golden Temple Hotel, visitors have all the comforts of modern amenities while enjoying traditional Khmer hospitality. All rooms and outdoor areas of the hotel have complimentary WiFi access and there is a complimentary internet bay with the latest software and communications. Travel to the hotel on arrival and later to any point in Siem Reap and the Temples of the Angkor Archaeological Park is by the hotel's own specailly vetted and trained tuk tuk, car and mini bus drivers. Golden Temple is conveniently located within walking distance of central Siem Reap and the Old Market (Psar Chas) shopping and restaurant areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Temple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing