We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff in an authentic setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Temple Hotel
Ranked #21 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2011

I stayed here with my family and enjoyed the experience immensely. The hotel provided private tours to the temples at Angkor on tuk-tuks, with good drivers (who spoke good English), at reasonable rates. We also took advantage of the complimentary massages (and then paid for more...!) and the cooking course, which was excellent.
The hotel is not particularly big, but it has a lovely feel about it- mostly due to the kind staff who went out of their way to make the stay enjoyable for us.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louisa1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,694)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,895 - 2,901 of 3,695 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2011

Wonderful hotel, brilliant room and staff who couldn't be faulted. No language problems in hotel and able to find guides and drivers who spoke good English were prepared to focus on antiquities rather than retail! Choose an room facing pool and you won't be disappointed. Small restaurant produces a good range of dishes all well prepared and presented.
The pool was just what we needed at the end of a day in the temples, big enough to swim in but the whole hotel was relaxed and felt uncrowded for our stay in late July.
Just five minutes walk from the main part of town or a minute by tuk-tuk if it was wet.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms for a good balcony and pleasant view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick_and_Teresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I booked in here after reading the reviews on trip adviser and was not disappointed. The place is great and from the moment you arrive the staff couldn't do enough for you and make you feel very welcome. They will happily help organising tours of the temples and surrounding area or advice on onward travel arrangements. The hotel has some great little touches such as a free massage during your stay and films on Angkor Wat and Cambodia in the room which we found very interesting to watch.

The entrance / reception to the hotel is great with tranquil water features surrounding it. It gives a bit of a wow factor and you can tell what a special place this is from the moment you arrive. The pool is very clam and a great place to relax after a hard day trekking around the temples. The staff will even bring over complementary fruit and tea while you are relaxing or are happy to bring over drinks from the bar. The rooms are nice and a decent size and have everything you would expect from a hotel of this quality.

The location is a little way from town but this is not an issue as it is only a 5-10 min walk or 1 min tuck-tuck.

On check-out we were presented with free t-shirts and water bottle holders which was not expected and provided a great end to the stay and really sums up what this hotel is all about.

Overall this is a great place for a few days Siem Reap.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Rarely do I feel obligated to spread the word about a particular hotel, but Golden Temple strikes me as such. Service was impeccable. The facility was gorgeous. And the [free] massage was the best I experienced in all of Southeast Asia. I'll recommend it to everyone. Thanks, G.T.!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I expected a lot from this hotel having read many of the reviews on TripAdvisor and I was not disappointed. Location is fantastic - about a 5-10 min walk from anywhere in central Siem Reap - just far enough out of town to not be in the thick of it but close enough to make the most of things. The service received puts many five star hotels to shame, the rooms were great - clean, well designed with some thoughtful touches plus a decent shower (we had a ground floor double), food (had lunch and breakfast) was delicious and the pool was so welcome after a hard day at the temples. The traditional khmer massage was also much appreciated and brilliant value! I can't praise this place highly enough - and am going back in a few weeks time - looking forward to it already!
Only suggestion for improvement I could make would be to maybe improve the towels - they were a little thin and to maybe have more than 2 in the room - but I'm really scraping the bottom of the barrel for any negatives - highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FiTravels78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Stayed at Golden Temple Hotel and found the service and facilities very good from computers available for guest use, massage service, great swimming pool and friendly staff on the desk. As a mature couple we found this hotel a good 3 star hotel. What let it down was the linen was well worn, very thin towels and a smell coming from shower drain which perhaps hadn't been flushed for some time. Otherwise we were more than happy and the staff really went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The free transfer to the hotel on the tuc tuc was novel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MM R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed here for four days and were quite pleased with the experience. The grounds are well kept and especially welcoming after a full day of temple touring. All the staff are incredibly nice and will go out of their way to help you. The moment we arrived, we were provided with delicious snacks and an ice cold drink and our bed was decorated with flower petals. Breakfast is fine but nothing special. The location is excellent and only a short walk to all of the bars/restaurants/shopping. Temples are a 10/15 minute ride away. Everything is very inexpensive (by Western standards). Their main massages are $4-$5/hour, tuk-tuk driver is $10-$15/ full day (depending on what you want to do), and meals were also pretty cheap. Cooking class was $10/person and enjoyable. We enjoyed the free massages and booked additional ones.

Probably what we loved the most was the tuk-tuk driver they provided - Mr. Panha is the man! He was always there in the morning to pick us up and waiting outside every temple with a cold bottle of water. We never had to search for him and his English was quite good and made our temple touring a breeze.

Please keep in mind that this is not a 5 star hotel by Western standards in that you're not getting the designer soap/shampoo, 300 thread count sheets, or turndown service but the experience is definitely 5 star.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank klebbeck236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.8 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#10 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,644 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Temple Retreat
Golden Temple Retreat
#3 of 361 in Siem Reap
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#37 of 361 in Siem Reap
5,310 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
0.7 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Temple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Temple Hotel

Address: Makara Road, or Angkor High School Road, Siem Reap 17254, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: £53 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Temple Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a luscious temple garden, Golden Temple Hotel is enchanting, peaceful, elegant and luxurious. The Golden Temple experience is about stylish relaxation, modern comfort, and the enjoyment a range of activities beyond the discovery of the incredible Temples of Angkor. The hotel has a full restaurant service, with both Khmer and Western cuisine, a comprehensive massage service offering diverse massage techniques, an outdoor hot steam area, and a large pool. Laid around the swimming pool are temple features. Shaded hammock alcoves and gazebos that add a touch of romance and privacy to the relaxed settings. At Golden Temple Hotel, visitors have all the comforts of modern amenities while enjoying traditional Khmer hospitality. All rooms and outdoor areas of the hotel have complimentary WiFi access and there is a complimentary internet bay with the latest software and communications. Travel to the hotel on arrival and later to any point in Siem Reap and the Temples of the Angkor Archaeological Park is by the hotel's own specailly vetted and trained tuk tuk, car and mini bus drivers. Golden Temple is conveniently located within walking distance of central Siem Reap and the Old Market (Psar Chas) shopping and restaurant areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Temple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing