We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with very friendly staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Temple Hotel
Ranked #19 of 354 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Excellent hotel with very friendly staff!”
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed in Golden Temple Hotel and loved it. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are great (minor detail, we prefer extra sheets on the bed), the breakfast is excellent and the staff is the best.

The staff of Golden Temple hotel is very friendly and they are really willing to help you.

Nice is that the services you book at the hotel are priced very reasonably. At other hotels this is not the case most of the time. So you can bring your laundry and book a tour at the hotel with no worries. You get a fair price!

If you book a tour by tuk tuk, ask for Mr. Sophal as your driver. He is the best!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teunos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,174
    355
    51
    16
    7
See reviews for
600
1,864
263
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (986)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai Region, China
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This is a really nice little hotel offering great value for money.

The decor is stylish with lots of polished wood and local objets d'art. There's a good-sized swimming pool with comfy loungers and hammocks beside it - a bit of road noise but otherwise very peaceful.

All the staff are smiling and helpful and most speak good English. We were welcomed on arrival with iced tea, sticky rice (very tasty) and a complimentary hour-long massage which was very good. The staff also helped us arrange a tuk-tuk, driver and English-speaking guide for visiting the temples - good prices and saves a lot of hassle. Both driver and guide were lovely and took us to some great places for lunch too.

We had a deluxe pool view room which was large and comfortable, with air con. You get a DVD guide to Angkor in your room which is worth watching if only for the increasingly hilarious subtitling! My only gripe would be the bathroom which was quite small with the shower in the middle of sink and toilet - you have to pull a shower curtain either side of you to screen them off. But it's fine for a few days.

You get a free breakfast each day as well - a pity it's American-style pancakes or hot breakfast rather than local, but it's fine and again adds to the value. However, we did find the food generally quite disappointing and a bit bland - there are better options in Siem Reap. The town is about ten minutes' walk or a couple of dollars in a tuk-tuk; if it was late at night and I was on my own, I would personally get a tuk-tuk rather than walk as some of the road is a bit dark and deserted - but that's being super-careful.

All in all, it's a really nice little place for a really good price - just eat out!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cuppa_queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Excellent staff so freindly and helpful made our trip one to remember ,,location great easy walking distance to markets, shops ,bars and restaraunts ,all trips booked from hotel were great ,breakfast tasty and quick ,pool and surounds a pleasure to come back to after a long day taking in the amazing temples..

Room Tip: pool entry rooms excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stitches67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon,England
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights before returning to England. This hotel is superb. decor, rooms, layout and style are superb. It has a great swimming pool, and is very close to the old market part of town so good for walking.

Best of all though is the service. The staff are immaculately dressed and have immaculate manners whilst also being friendly and personable. Within minutes of arriving, hot and dusty - we were sat down to a great welcome snack and drink whilst our rooms were readied. Shortly after as we lounged in the lovely pool, green tea and peanuts arrived at the poolside, and later fresh pineapple and watermelon - all free. You also get a free massage during your visit.

The breakfast is substantial and freshly made, and the cookery course that our twochildren and two frineds (ages 8,11,11 and 14) was great fun and productive! The food they made was amazing and plentiful, the lesson wnet on for 3 hours instead of the 2 we paid for, and the kids went away with a free T shirt. All of this for just $10.

Can't recommend Golden Temple Hotel high enough, and if lucky enough to get back to Siem Reap a third time we will definitely be staying here.

Room Tip: Overlooking poolside room - but not on ground floor. These do not get much privacy from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gold coast
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed here for 3 days in july on our 1st trip to Cambodia in a Double with Pool View Room. Once we arrived we received a drink and snack and our coupons for a complementary massage. The room was beautiful with everything we needed and the pool was great after a long day at the temples. The reception, restaurant and cleaning staff were so polite and helpful it made our stay there so good. The customer service was excellent and the staff were always willing to help out. The massages were so good we had one everyday! The tuk tuk tours arranged with the hotels were great. Our driver Mr Ol was very lovely and polite. We recommend him! We'll be coming back for another trip soon and will definitely be staying at Golden Temple Hotel.

Room Tip: Get the Double with Pool View Room - its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cat_halls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Genuine warm smiles ,superb service,cheap meals and tours,free t shirts, snacks,massages ,and pick up from airport,Lovely amenities.Best hotel ever.

Room Tip: ASk for poolside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Highly recommend. A must stay, clean, good service, friendly, comfortable rooms. Free DVD player in the room, which worked out great since I had a case of DVD's with me. Loved it, Loved it, Loved it!!! My only complaint, though minor and definitely not a deal breaker was the shower set-up, a little weird. Had a great six night stay! They even allowed me to have a very late check-out because my flight was at 11:50pm at no extra charge. Now that's customer service!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VNSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#7 of 354 in Siem Reap
1,534 reviews
0.8 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#42 of 354 in Siem Reap
5,018 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Temple Retreat
Golden Temple Retreat
#4 of 354 in Siem Reap
219 reviews
0.7 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Shinta Mani Shack
Shinta Mani Shack
#10 of 354 in Siem Reap
2,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Temple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Temple Hotel

Property: Golden Temple Hotel
Address: Makara Road, or Angkor High School Road, Siem Reap 17254, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 354 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Temple Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a luscious temple garden, Golden Temple Hotel is enchanting, peaceful, elegant and luxurious. The Golden Temple experience is about stylish relaxation, modern comfort, and the enjoyment a range of activities beyond the discovery of the incredible Temples of Angkor. The hotel has a full restaurant service, with both Khmer and Western cuisine, a comprehensive massage service offering diverse massage techniques, an outdoor hot steam area, and a large pool. Laid around the swimming pool are temple features. Shaded hammock alcoves and gazebos that add a touch of romance and privacy to the relaxed settings. At Golden Temple Hotel, visitors have all the comforts of modern amenities while enjoying traditional Khmer hospitality. All rooms and outdoor areas of the hotel have complimentary WiFi access and there is a complimentary internet bay with the latest software and communications. Travel to the hotel on arrival and later to any point in Siem Reap and the Temples of the Angkor Archaeological Park is by the hotel's own specailly vetted and trained tuk tuk, car and mini bus drivers. Golden Temple is conveniently located within walking distance of central Siem Reap and the Old Market (Psar Chas) shopping and restaurant areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Temple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing