We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Temple Hotel
Ranked #26 of 384 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Since the reception by our great host Vichi till departure we had the five star treatment, rooms are really nice and we loved the pool's scenery.

Locations is great, minutes walk from down town and from night market.

Food in the restaurant is really good, it's in a small terrace with a view to the pool.

We had a great time after a yards day of sight seeing in Angkor it was the perfect place to come back to chill.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,867)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,024 - 3,030 of 3,867 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2011

We were enchanted by the beautiful design and service of this small, full service hotel. The pool area is such a blissful retreat that many guests were choosing to spend the day there instead of viewing the temples. Laundry and food was even less expensive than elsewhere in town. We loved the little frogs in the garden as well as the statues and greenery. Eating breakfast in a poolside pavilion is a real treat. The staff was so incredibly nice that at the end of three days we were hugging and exchanging gifts with the staff. This must be the best place in Siem Reap!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

The hotel is has a great location. The Old Market, with a variety of shops, stalls, and places to eat, is a short and easy walk way, on the other side of the river, and you can stroll along the river itself for a pleasant walk. The hotel is new, opened in Nov 2010 but has traditional decor etc. It has character, unlike a chain hotel. The pool and pool area is kind of tight but sufficient - they packed a lot into a small space, and it works. I ate breakfasts and dinners in the hotel restaurant. Breakfasts were good (3 choices).... but I have to say the cook didn't seem to know eggs very well. Dinners were good meals at reasonable prices - I ate there every night rather than walk to town after touring all day.

The staff was just great. Very nice, very helpful, very friendly. Open and warm. Smiles. Almost family like. Just give in to it. Maybe this is true of all Cambodians, but it is certainly true of everybody at the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmp142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

As first time visitors to Cambodia the Golden Temple and its staff do Cambodia proud. Myself and wife were looked after from arrival at the airport to depature, wonderful food, massages room service and setting in down town Siem Riep.
Will definatly be back and as hoteliers ourselves I can think of no greater complement than the list of ideas that the Golden Temple use to meet and greet guest, which we will be copying ourselves. :-)))

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pipong19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed in Golden Temple Hotel and loved it. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are great (minor detail, we prefer extra sheets on the bed), the breakfast is excellent and the staff is the best.

The staff of Golden Temple hotel is very friendly and they are really willing to help you.

Nice is that the services you book at the hotel are priced very reasonably. At other hotels this is not the case most of the time. So you can bring your laundry and book a tour at the hotel with no worries. You get a fair price!

If you book a tour by tuk tuk, ask for Mr. Sophal as your driver. He is the best!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teunos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This is a really nice little hotel offering great value for money.

The decor is stylish with lots of polished wood and local objets d'art. There's a good-sized swimming pool with comfy loungers and hammocks beside it - a bit of road noise but otherwise very peaceful.

All the staff are smiling and helpful and most speak good English. We were welcomed on arrival with iced tea, sticky rice (very tasty) and a complimentary hour-long massage which was very good. The staff also helped us arrange a tuk-tuk, driver and English-speaking guide for visiting the temples - good prices and saves a lot of hassle. Both driver and guide were lovely and took us to some great places for lunch too.

We had a deluxe pool view room which was large and comfortable, with air con. You get a DVD guide to Angkor in your room which is worth watching if only for the increasingly hilarious subtitling! My only gripe would be the bathroom which was quite small with the shower in the middle of sink and toilet - you have to pull a shower curtain either side of you to screen them off. But it's fine for a few days.

You get a free breakfast each day as well - a pity it's American-style pancakes or hot breakfast rather than local, but it's fine and again adds to the value. However, we did find the food generally quite disappointing and a bit bland - there are better options in Siem Reap. The town is about ten minutes' walk or a couple of dollars in a tuk-tuk; if it was late at night and I was on my own, I would personally get a tuk-tuk rather than walk as some of the road is a bit dark and deserted - but that's being super-careful.

All in all, it's a really nice little place for a really good price - just eat out!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cuppa_queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Excellent staff so freindly and helpful made our trip one to remember ,,location great easy walking distance to markets, shops ,bars and restaraunts ,all trips booked from hotel were great ,breakfast tasty and quick ,pool and surounds a pleasure to come back to after a long day taking in the amazing temples..

Room Tip: pool entry rooms excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stitches67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#7 of 384 in Siem Reap
1,803 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Temple Retreat
Golden Temple Retreat
#5 of 384 in Siem Reap
510 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
#6 of 384 in Siem Reap
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
2 mi away
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Sojourn Boutique Villas
#32 of 384 in Siem Reap
898 reviews
0.7 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Temple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Temple Hotel

Address: Makara Road, or Angkor High School Road, Siem Reap 17254, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 384 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: £46 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Temple Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At only eight kilometres from Angkor Wat, 10 from the airport, and just one kilometre from downtown Siem Reap, the Golden Temple Hotel is conveniently located on busy 7 Makara Street. The Hotel with it's colourful décor blended with high quality furnishings and cultural artwork and design are a firm favourite of couples and young families alike. Like the other Golden Temple properties, the Hotel provides relaxing spa, pool, bar and good quality restaurant. The restaurant serves both Western and local gastronomic delights. All rooms are air-conditioned and offer flat-screen TVs with satellite channels and many modern comforts. Each room has en-suite shower room with quality fittings. Recognising the importance of guest service, the team constantly work to improve language skills, proactivity, cultural awareness and interpersonal skills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golden Temple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing