We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Temple Hotel
Ranked #21 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We booked this hotel because of all the good reviews on Trip Advisor and Agoda and we were NOT disappointed!! This hotel is excellent! An amazing, helpful and frilendly staff. Actually the best we`ve ever experienced!
The room was spacious and lovely decorated.
The restaurant had very good food and the pool was excellent after a long day at Angkor Wat.
We also booked different tour-trips at the hotel and got the best Tuk-tuk driver for 3 days. He was so helpful and friendly. When we wanted to go to Kulen Mountain, a different destination than we had agreed on, the friendly staff told us that we could not go there by tuk-tuk and that we than would need a car and a driver. Our tuk-tuk driver just called a friend, disconnected his tuk-tuk and drove us there on the back og his and his friends motorbike (about 1 1/2 hour each way). A lovely trip!!!!
The last nigh at the hotel the manager offered us a free dinner in the hotel restaurant. We got 5 differedt dishes and only managed to eat half of all taht good food. We are definitively gonna stay here again of we go back som day!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Livat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,694)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,591 - 2,597 of 3,694 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

We booked The Golden Temple Hotel because of its reviews and location - close to the old and night markets as well as the busy Pub street area, and we were not disappointed.

We booked direct with the hotel to take advantage of the VIP service which is the way to go. Our driver was waiting to collect us, in a Tuk Tuk which was comfortable and quick. On arrival we were warmly welcomed with cool facecloths, a drink and snacks.

We had booked a Pool View room and it was worth the extra with a nice balcony to sit on. The room was spacious and had everything we could ask for - TV, DVD, kettle, fridge with water replenished daily, fresh fruit daily etc. it also had good aircon which helped with high temps. Our room was on the first floor - ask for a room upstairs as the ground floor rooms look directly onto the poolside.

The VIP service includes 1 x picnic, 1 hr massage and 1 x dinne or lunch. We went for the Khmer BBQ which was excellent. They serve wine at reasonable prices.

We booked a car for a day via reception to visit the temples. The driver was excellent and took us to all the main sites and waited. He always had a cool bottle of water waiting on our return - all included in the price.

The Pool area is great with big sun beds and towels. They also bring you tea, snacks and fresh pineapple.

The key thing about this hotel is the staff. They cannot do enought to make your stay a pleasure. Richard, one of the managers gave us use of a room all day for free when we were departing on a evening flight. All reception staff were excellent and Ana always came to see us when we came back in. Where else can you get that service.

I can strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KennyG57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We booked this hotel because of the fantastic reviews on Trip Advisor. All the reviews here are right - the staff at this excellent little hotel excel themselves. Its like staying with a family. They were all fantastic providing a high level of service, however special mention goes to Richard and Rose who would be an asset to any 5-star hotel in the world. All of the staff took an interest in us, went out of their way to help us and just did everything possible to make our stay comfortable, smooth and special.
It was our anniversary and they provided us with wine and flowers to make the stay extra special.

On top of that, the location is excellent, the pool is lovely, the free treats are impressive (massage, a picnic to take to the temples, one full lunch or dinner per room, un-timed internet usage). The restaurant is really cheap and the quality of food is good. The rooms are well presented and clean, ours was ground floor poolside which for us was perfect.

Great location close to the old market and attractions

Special mention to our driver for two days Tehan who took us to the temples and was a great driver in the midst of all the chaos on the roads around Siem Reap he also is an asset to the team at the hotel

You couldnt stay anywhere better!!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the poolside are more pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Durhamlass14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel Feb 2012 and absolutely loved it!
Pros:
1. AMAZING STAFF: Wow, you cannot beat them! They were so helpful, kind and treated you extremely well! It was incredible!!! They made us feel welcomed and arranged everything for us! They genuinely cared about you and how your day was! They were the best!!!
2. BEAUTIFUL HOTEL: They had a great pool and super cute atmosphere.
3. The hotel restaurant had yummy food.
4. The spa was great.. especially after all the walking you do at Angkor Wat.
5. Good location! Its a small city, so you really cannot beat any location.

Cons:
1. We were on the 4th floor and they did not have an elevator. But it was a good workout. lol!

We had such an amazing time and would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Stay on the the first three floors. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank new2traveling4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and totally enjoyed our stay. Staff are very warm & friendly, and we were treated like VIP's. We got the VIP package by booking direct with the hotel and it included: free airport round transport, free 1 hr massage for 2, one free dinner, free daily excellent & ample breakfast (choice of eggs or omelette, banana or pineapple pancake; fried rice, noodles w/ vegetables & beef; variety of sliced fresh fruits)); daily supply of fruits in our room, free internet access. The lobby has plenty of seating arrangement, very nice swimming pool with plenty of chair lounges & cabanas. Everything is tastefully & artfully done...food presentations, decor, hotel is painted bright cheerful orange color, statues and artwoks & pieces all thruout. Constant flow of teas and snacks(banana chips, sliced of fresh fruits or peanuts) when you're hanging out by the pool. Upon check out, they give us parting gifts of Tshirts & water bottle holders and requested to take photos with us.

We have minor complaints: tight space in our room, bathroom very small and weird shower set up. You just draw curtains when you shower, in a small area right next to the toilet and makes the whole floor wet.

I have pleasant, lingering memories of our stay here. I miss this place and kept comparing other hotels we stayed in Vietnam, with only one comparing very close. If ever we go back to Siem Reap, we'll definitely staying here again.

Room Tip: Stay in a poolview room, preferably on 2nd or 3rd floor. Our poolview room is on the ground floor, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank youngatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel on the strength of the TA reviews and I must say we were fully satisfied. First the location - Very close to the Old Market and most of the in-city attractions, but just that little away to be far from the madding crowd. Couldn't have asked for a better compromise. Next the service - All over Siem Reap we found the service to be great but here it was simply superb. We had a nice room on the 2nd floor; the massages were great and so was the food.

The only improvement I would have suggested would have been an elevator, but that is already under installation.

I recommend it to all visitors to Siem Reap.

Room Tip: Choose the first floor away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shankar_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I cannot rave about this hotel enough. I've never been to a hotel where I've been so impressed with the staff. To say they bend over backwards for you is an understatement. We came to this hotel with our two small children and they loved and doted on them like they were their own!! They set up a bed for them in our room with NO charge, would hold my squirmy baby for me while I ate my breakfast, and were so genuine about wanting to help it blew me away. They would rearrange the breakfast for my picky 3 year old and were always taking time to help us out with him as well. On top of it all, the rooms and the breakfast are AWESOME and it is in a fantastic location....within a 2 minute walk to the Old Market and restaurants. They also moved us to another room our last day we were there because our flight left late at night so that we could rest before we left instead of having to check out early. UNHEARD OF!!! The only ONE complaint I have about this hotel is that it is a little noisy, but this is no reason to not stay here as everything else makes up for that. (FREE ONE hour massage, free dinner and free picnic lunch being 3 more reasons to stay here) This place is EXCEPTIONAL and I highly recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krista W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.8 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#10 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,644 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Temple Retreat
Golden Temple Retreat
#3 of 361 in Siem Reap
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#36 of 361 in Siem Reap
5,307 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
0.7 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Temple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Temple Hotel

Address: Makara Road, or Angkor High School Road, Siem Reap 17254, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: £52 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Temple Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a luscious temple garden, Golden Temple Hotel is enchanting, peaceful, elegant and luxurious. The Golden Temple experience is about stylish relaxation, modern comfort, and the enjoyment a range of activities beyond the discovery of the incredible Temples of Angkor. The hotel has a full restaurant service, with both Khmer and Western cuisine, a comprehensive massage service offering diverse massage techniques, an outdoor hot steam area, and a large pool. Laid around the swimming pool are temple features. Shaded hammock alcoves and gazebos that add a touch of romance and privacy to the relaxed settings. At Golden Temple Hotel, visitors have all the comforts of modern amenities while enjoying traditional Khmer hospitality. All rooms and outdoor areas of the hotel have complimentary WiFi access and there is a complimentary internet bay with the latest software and communications. Travel to the hotel on arrival and later to any point in Siem Reap and the Temples of the Angkor Archaeological Park is by the hotel's own specailly vetted and trained tuk tuk, car and mini bus drivers. Golden Temple is conveniently located within walking distance of central Siem Reap and the Old Market (Psar Chas) shopping and restaurant areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golden Temple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing