We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel my wife and I ever stayed at. Ever.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Temple Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Golden Temple Hotel
Ranked #12 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best hotel my wife and I ever stayed at. Ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

I can't express how nice it was staying at Golden Temple. We were completely unprepared for the energy and the kindness we received at this amazing hotel. From the moment we arrived, and were offered fruit, tea and juice, we knew it was going to be nice, but we had no idea how deep their appreciation would take us.

Every time we would hang out in common areas (the lobby, the pool) we were greeted warmly, and offered some kind of snack or drink or both. It was incredible.

On our first night, since my wife and I were on our honeymoon, we were given the most amazing room decorations. We had swans made of towels, flower petals all over, and a fresh fruit plate bigger than the two of us could demolish in the 3 days we were there. It was decadent. We were also given a beautiful bottle of wine, with peanuts and banana chips (eat these!)

We had a wonderful time, and we felt like family at this hotel. I highly recommend to anyone who wants a cozy, clean, warm atmosphere, to stay at Golden Temple.

-Dan

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,979
    345
    51
    15
    7
See reviews for
551
1,766
249
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (948)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

When in Siem Reap we stayed at the Golden Temple which was the last of quite a few hotels on our four week trek through Vietnam and Cambodia and were completely blown away by the friendliness of the staff and management. In terms of general atmosphere of the hotel itself and especially the attentiveness of all of the staff, this was the best hotel of the trip. There was nothing they would not do to fulfill our requests, even sending a staff member to the shops to get a particular soft drink they didn't stock. Every time we saw a member of staff there would be a smile and greeting. They worked hard to ensure that ALL the guests needs were catered for, not only us. Everything else was top notch, the cleanliness, the restocking, and the guidance when requested, everything. Even the prices of food and drink were good compared to other hotels we had stayed at. If there was a weakness it would be the restaurant, where the service at times was a bit slow but I am nit-picking, the quality of food was very good, and indeed they have Australian beef on the menu, which after four weeks of local food came as a bit of a relief. We had it twice and it was excellent, and at a very reasonable price too. If you are intending to spend some time in Siem Reap (I would suggest 4 days minimum) stay at this hotel. From the minute you walk across the stepping stones from the street to the reception, taking in the courageous and bold colour scheme, and the extremely warm welcome I'm certain you will receive, you will love staying at this hotel. Congratulations to to the owners/management of this hotel as you have staff that obviously love working there. A win win, for you and the guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

As a frequent traveller for over 20 years having stayed at many hotels around the world, I was totally amazed with a recent stay at the Golden Temple Hotel in Siem Reap-Cambodia.

The hotel is well laid out and on the whole a work of art, the rooms are of a decent size and kept very clean. The location is great, walking distance about 10 minutes to the small city of Siem Reap.

However, what makes this hotel one of the best that I’ve stayed at are the staff, very friendly, courteous, helpful and professional. From the manager Mr Pon to the ladies on reception Rosa, Ms Pheak, Akhin, all the cleaners et all. Great team of people, they couldn’t do enough for us. It was a pleasure to stay at the Golden Temple Hotel in Siem Reap and I look forward to returning one day soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HabibiUAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

I stayed at the Golden Temple for a week and could not be more pleased. The rooms are small but immaculate. Bathrooms also are small but very clean. Location is great, within a short walk to pub street and the other parts of the city. The dedication and friendliness of the staff are unbelievable, among the best that I have ever experienced. The attached restaurant is terrific.High quality and very affordable. I ended up taking all my meals there. The hotel has a list of tours that are excellent and quite reasonable. You cannot go wrong at the Golden Temple.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Piccadilly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

My mum and I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights while visiting Angkor Wat. Our initial impression was great - we arrived at 9am and were offered breakast while we waited for our room. The member of staff who dealt with our check in was extremely friendly, polite and helpful, although it was a slight overload of information. We ended up having to go and get our own cases despite being told they would be brought up as soon as we got into our room.

We stayed in a Twin Superior room, which was a good size with comfortable beds. We were overlooked by the hostel next door (the buildings are very close together) and therefore couldn't make much use of the balcony, and this also meant that we had our curtains closed a lot of the time for privacy. The bathroom is pretty small and the shower is only separated from the rest of the bathroom by a shower curtain. The air con blows directly onto the bed closest, and was difficult to maintain at a comfortable temperature.

The decor of the hotel is very bespoke with lots of bright colours and buddhas, and may be a bit much for some people. It does appear that a lot of time and thought has gone into the theme though, and I did like the theme.

The staff were generally very friendly and attentive, making the guests feel very well looked after, but in some cases this can be a bit OTT. They organised our day at the temples and we had an excellent tuk tuk driver. They didn't entirely deal well with issues - when we checked in, we were given a welcome pack with a lot of freebies (massages, packed lunch for the temple visit, free dinner)... however, when I went to organise the free tuk tuk to the airport I was told that this particularly freebie had been given to us in error. Instead of accepting their mistake and honouring the original deal, they initially said we couldn't have the complimentary service. After some deliberation they eventually agreed to provide the service. The principle of this bothered me far more than the money ($3!) - the initial reaction should have been to accept their mistake but honour the deal.

I was going to give this hotel a 5 but in comparison to other places we stayed in our 2 week trip, the hotel gave across the impression of trying a bit too hard.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LM82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

It's all been said before, this hotel is a real gem and close to the market and pub st. Make sure you book a pool view room; I didn't even though I'd booked a superior deluxe and it was a horrible room overlooking a construction site. I requested a change which occurred the following day...much better. Pool is lovely, breakfast average but the wonderful staff make this place. I would stay again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank ttrreexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

The location is perfect, on a street that leads straight into the pub st precinct (5 min walk) but far enough away that u get a good nights sleep. Breakfast is ok, u get the usual stuff, the noodle soups are fantastic and so is the egg station. The staff are delightful and genuinely nice people who just love to hang out and have a chat. They will help u with whatever u need and really make this place fantastic. Room is good, nothing spectacular but when your in siem reap u don't spend much time in your room anyway.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackieb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#3 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shinta Mani Resort
Shinta Mani Resort
#4 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
0.7 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
0.2 mi away
Viroth's Hotel
Viroth's Hotel
#2 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.7 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#35 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Temple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Temple Hotel

Property: Golden Temple Hotel
Address: 7 Makara road, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Temple Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a luscious temple garden, Golden Temple Hotel is enchanting, peaceful, elegant and luxurious. The Golden Temple experience is about stylish relaxation, modern comfort, and the enjoyment a range of activities beyond the discovery of the incredible Temples of Angkor. The hotel has a full restaurant service, with both Khmer and Western cuisine, a comprehensive massage service offering diverse massage techniques, an outdoor hot steam area, and a large pool. Laid around the swimming pool are temple features. Shaded hammock alcoves and gazebos that add a touch of romance and privacy to the relaxed settings. At Golden Temple Hotel, visitors have all the comforts of modern amenities while enjoying traditional Khmer hospitality. All rooms and outdoor areas of the hotel have complimentary WiFi access and there is a complimentary internet bay with the latest software and communications. Travel to the hotel on arrival and later to any point in Siem Reap and the Temples of the Angkor Archaeological Park is by the hotel's own specailly vetted and trained tuk tuk, car and mini bus drivers. Golden Temple is conveniently located within walking distance of central Siem Reap and the Old Market (Psar Chas) shopping and restaurant areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Temple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing