We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How could it get any better?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Temple Hotel
Ranked #23 of 365 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We found the Golden Temple a near perfect experience. When you arrive you are warmly greeted with a cool, scented towel and iced tea. They then proceed to explain all the free extras they offer: an hour massage, set lunch, breakfast at the temples. It's a little overwhelming.

The pool is beautiful. The breakfast buffet is outstanding. The staff is attentive and very friendly. The tour packages they offer are a bargain.

You are greeted by name every time you return to the hotel.

The rooms are nicely decorated and large. There are lots of god cable stations available. The location is near pub street.

One night the power failed and the hotel cranked up its own generator. With the rest of Siem Reap dark, the Golden Temple was lit up and the AC was going strong.

We had a driver pick us up at the airport and he remained our driver throughout our stay: from pickup to tours to dropping us off for departure. It's a nice touch.

When you leave they give every guest a t-shirt and bed runner/scarf.

We have stayed at nice hotels all over Cambodia and the Golden Temple is at the top of the list. Make your reservations early because this place fills up fast.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool have an interesting view, but the rooms on the other side of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,747)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,698 - 1,704 of 3,747 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

I would gladly give the Golden Temple Hotel and its staff 20 stars if I could, for I have never experienced such a level of hospitality in any hotel, anywhere, ever. First, let me say that the sheer beauty of the hotel, laden with Khmer art, fabrics, colors feels magical. The rooms are large and comfortable and have all the amenities and more compared to a five-star hotel in the U.S. But it's the staff that makes this place truly special. I traveled with my nephew who developed a bladder infection the day before we were to fly back to Bangkok. The staff were genuinely concerned about his health, but what really impressed me, to say the least, is when supervisor Ani called a local clinic, got us a tuk tuk, rode to the clinic with us, and served as our interpreter ... all without hesitation. She also had the hotel kitchen make my nephew a khmer style chicken soup with ginger tea and checked on him periodically. She also helped us extend our stay. We had to move from our double room to a single room, but it was just as large and she had already set up an extra bed for free -- an extra that usually comes with an extra nightly charge. Front-desk receptionist Rose was always cheerful and eager to help, as were all the staff. Throughout our stay we were greeted with cold refreshing towels, bowls of peanuts with chili and lime leaves, plates of fresh fruit, and always big, warm smiles. Planning an excursion anywhere around Siem Reap, whether to the temples, a certain restaurant or other point of interest, or ever the doctor is a breeze. Just tell the front desk and consider it done, and always done with your interests in mind front and center, with enthusiasm and a smile. The complimentary massage and meals included with the stay were enough of a draw in themselves. Departing, we felt as if we were saying goodbye to friends. I can't thank the Gold Temple Hotel staff enough for making our first trip to Cambodia so unforgettably special. I have a feeling I will be back again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kurt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is without doubt the best service I have ever received at a hotel. The staff are incredibly welcoming, attentive and helpful. They learn all the names of the guests and can't do enough to help you, The rooms are a little quirky, but they are a good size and all a little different. We had a great massage in the spa. There is free wifi throughout the hotel and free use of computers. Upon arrival we were met with a plate of goodies and a welcoming drink. We used the hotel tuk tuk driver for 3 days and he was really good. Can't fault this place. It's not 5* in terms of the rooms and facilities but the service and staff are 5*

Room Tip: Go for a pool view room. We had a side facing room and didn't use the balcony as it was close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boozo40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We really loved staying at this place. Comfortable homely rooms, fab location to walk into siem reap, lovely food. We especially liked the bar area which was very relaxing and the really nice introduction staff gave us to the hotel on arrival.
All staff were super friendly and couldn't do enough to help us, even the tuk tuk driver was really lovely!
Wouldn't recommend anywhere else other than this place..you'd be a fool not to book here!!!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mustley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Never have we experienced such attention by such caring and friendly staff. Nothing was too much trouble. We were even taken to the bus station by the manager and another young staff member. From the moment we stepped into the hotel we were treated as honoured guests. We had read excellent reviews of this hotel and they were absolutely true.

Whilst the names of Alice, Flower, Seth and Champey spring readily to mind, all of the others whose names escape us at the moment, were just as outstanding.
This must be a reflection of their training and commitment to their jobs. Well done to the staff, Mr. Rathanak Than and obviously the owner Mr. Lee whom we did not meet but who was very much respected by the staff.

We believe it would be virtually impossible not to be impressed and extremely satisfied if you chose to stay at this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolsAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had a great time here on our honeymoon. We booked two nights and the room rate included breakfast, one lunch and a message for me and my husband. The pool at this place is awesome and the foot message was great. The service was terrific (sometimes a little over the top) but that doesn't bother me. We would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends visiting Siem Reap.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a prime example for why we prefer to stay in a boutique hotel. From the minute you arrive until your sad goodbyes the staff are like family, in particular Alin & Alice at reception who we laughed & exchanged stories with. We stayed in a pool access room which was great being able to walk straight out to the refreshing pool. Complimentary fruit. Green tea & nuts are provided several times a day with a cool facewasher. We had the VIP package which included an excellent 1 hour khmer massage & a BBQ dinner which due to its very small portion unfortunately was the only negative of our stay. Would definately return & highly recommend.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank kiama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#12 of 365 in Siem Reap
1,685 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Temple Retreat
Golden Temple Retreat
#5 of 365 in Siem Reap
376 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
0.8 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#37 of 365 in Siem Reap
5,363 reviews
0.7 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Temple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Temple Hotel

Address: Makara Road, or Angkor High School Road, Siem Reap 17254, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 365 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: £52 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Temple Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a luscious temple garden, Golden Temple Hotel is enchanting, peaceful, elegant and luxurious. The Golden Temple experience is about stylish relaxation, modern comfort, and the enjoyment a range of activities beyond the discovery of the incredible Temples of Angkor. The hotel has a full restaurant service, with both Khmer and Western cuisine, a comprehensive massage service offering diverse massage techniques, an outdoor hot steam area, and a large pool. Laid around the swimming pool are temple features. Shaded hammock alcoves and gazebos that add a touch of romance and privacy to the relaxed settings. At Golden Temple Hotel, visitors have all the comforts of modern amenities while enjoying traditional Khmer hospitality. All rooms and outdoor areas of the hotel have complimentary WiFi access and there is a complimentary internet bay with the latest software and communications. Travel to the hotel on arrival and later to any point in Siem Reap and the Temples of the Angkor Archaeological Park is by the hotel's own specailly vetted and trained tuk tuk, car and mini bus drivers. Golden Temple is conveniently located within walking distance of central Siem Reap and the Old Market (Psar Chas) shopping and restaurant areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golden Temple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing