We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes - Add my voice to the choir singing their praises”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Temple Hotel
Ranked #27 of 386 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

For some unknown reason, when we first arrived, I thought that this hotel was not for me but as each day passed, I came to appreciate and then love this place. When we came to leave, I was truly sad to go. It is definitely 5 star service at a 3 star price and all the staff strive to make everyone happy and their stay enjoyable.
I usually prebook tours and guides, but this time I got the hotel to book the transport and guide and was very satisfied with their prices and the tours themselves. Our guide was Sim Sophath and we were very happy with his knowledge and professionalism and I would be happy to recommend him to others. He never tried to detour via "his cousins place" etc or drop in to shops for the usual kickbacks .
The pool at the hotel is great, the restaurant breakfast appeared limited but was in fact perfectly adequate with an egg station and a reasonable variety of items you could want.
For anyone with problems getting around, be aware that the restaurant is up a reasonably steep flight of stairs. I am sure, however, that if you could not manage the stairs, the staff would be happy to make other arrangements for you for breakfast or other meals.
Would I return and would I recommend it to others? - yes definitely!

Room Tip: The pool rooms had an outlook, otherwise the deluxe looked into next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glennie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,684 - 1,690 of 3,878 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife and I traveled to Cambodia and Thailand for our honeymoon in July and Golden Temple was our first stop. The staff was by far the most friendly group of people we had on our trip and the location of the hotel was perfect to do roughly anything we wanted. Fantastic pool, spa, food and room which made our experience in Cambodia very memorable. I have already recommended this hotel to anyone I know with a trip planned to Cambodia or anyone who may ever make their way there because of how much we loved this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sajohnsin822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is a very good hotel and I would strongly recommend it to you. They have tried, with considerable success, to make the place a bit different. Hence there is an open lobby space and lots of interesting use of colour throughout the hotel.

The restaurant is pleasant and serves very good food. The inclusive breakfast was fine and featured a good selection of local and international food. There is a well resourced spa, which was good value (customers also get a free treatment during their stay). We took the hotel's Kymer cooking course - $10/person and a really good experience. Would recommending taking it - informative, fun and good value.


The rooms are large and continue the colour scheme. We had a room on the side of the hotel, which had a balcony with a view of the next door building about 4m away. Not ideal but not a deal killer wither from my perspective as even the more expensive rooms overlook the pool. There is not picturesque aspect to the hotel - it is on a busy street - so I'm not sure the view is an issue. The rooms are clean and well appointed. If I have a gripe it is that the mattress quality was poor and both the bed linen and towels were cheap and 'tired'- by fixing these relatively simple issues this hotel could really be outstanding.

The hotel is well located for the Angkor Temples and for the recreational parts of Siem Reap - staff always on hand to get you to and from using reliable tuk-tuk drivers.

It is evident from the moment you check in that they are really keen on giving you a good experience. Nothing is too much trouble, they are keen and attentive and work hard to smooth out the little problems of the day. There is no question that the staff are motivated, proud of what they do and are hard working and earnest. They will organise all of the activities associated with Temple visits etc, which considering the scale of the sites, takes a lot of the hassle away.The staff are this hotel's greatest asset.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Tonstok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel 2 nights with 3 teenagers and wish we could have stayed longer.
This was the best place of our whole asian trip, service outstanding beating 5star hotels.
Reasonable priced Angkor tours.
Nice pool, caring and smiling staff, great food.
Plenty of complimentary services if you book minimum 2 nights directly with the hotel.
Good value for the money.
Great location walking distance from city center and market.
Exceeds our expectations.
Highly recommend.
And they do not overcharge credit card payments.

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms on first floor with garden view which was more of a view on a wall with vegetation on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank anh-thu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We have stayed in many hotels in Asia and found the staff at the golden temple are amongst the best we have seen.
It is 5 star service without the price.
The hotel is not far from the centre of town, under 10 minutes or a few in a tuk tuk which we paid $1 for the trip.
Breakfast was great and the pool was sparkling clean.
Thanks to Annie and Alex who were so friendly and helpful in every way they make you feel very at home and relaxed.
They even gave us a gift when we checked out.
We organised a day tour of the temples with the hotel, they organised the transport and English speaking guide named muney who was very informative on the history of the temples and Cambodia we were even given a packed picnic lunch by the hotel for the tour.
Would recommend this hotel if visiting siem reap.

Room Tip: Go for upper floors facing the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jkmmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We had the golden temple recommended to us by a family member and we surely were not disappointed. It was amazing! The staff incredible... Every one of them! We travelled with two children 9 & 10. All the staff were beautiful with the children. Unfortunately one of the children was sick on arrival at the hotel the help and care that the staff provided for us was second to none! Taking us to a European clinic and then the international hospital and staying with us the whole time to make sure it was all fine. We cannot thank them enough it was so wonderful. All the staff were so concerned and so eager to offer us help in caring for the kids. We loved it here and hope to be coming back!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RubyCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Wonderful, caring staff. So friendly and interested in helping . Alex and Annie were outstanding. They even gave us a mobile phone to call them if we got lost or had any worries. Never had that before anywhere. The massages were great ,free for the first one and then only $10. We had a free Khmer dinner as well. 5star hotel with out the 5 star prices. A very enjoyable stay . Thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#6 of 386 in Siem Reap
1,808 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Temple Retreat
Golden Temple Retreat
#5 of 386 in Siem Reap
520 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
#8 of 386 in Siem Reap
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
2 mi away
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Sojourn Boutique Villas
#34 of 386 in Siem Reap
903 reviews
0.7 mi away
Diamond D'Angkor Boutique
Diamond D'Angkor Boutique
#31 of 386 in Siem Reap
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Temple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Temple Hotel

Address: Makara Road, or Angkor High School Road, Siem Reap 17254, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 386 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: £47 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Temple Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At only eight kilometres from Angkor Wat, 10 from the airport, and just one kilometre from downtown Siem Reap, the Golden Temple Hotel is conveniently located on busy 7 Makara Street. The Hotel with it's colourful décor blended with high quality furnishings and cultural artwork and design are a firm favourite of couples and young families alike. Like the other Golden Temple properties, the Hotel provides relaxing spa, pool, bar and good quality restaurant. The restaurant serves both Western and local gastronomic delights. All rooms are air-conditioned and offer flat-screen TVs with satellite channels and many modern comforts. Each room has en-suite shower room with quality fittings. Recognising the importance of guest service, the team constantly work to improve language skills, proactivity, cultural awareness and interpersonal skills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golden Temple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing