We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Close to Market & Angkor Wat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Temple Hotel
Ranked #18 of 353 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Close to Market & Angkor Wat”
Reviewed 10 March 2011

This hotel had extremely nice rooms. The pool was serene and the restaurant had delicious meals. My favorite food was the Khmer Amok and the Lotus Flower with Rice Bubble. The staff were more than accommodating! The only thing that was subpar was the Khmer Massage from the hotel spa...having received Thai massage and being certified in it...I found the Khmer massage to be a bit sloppy...it felt like the girl wasn't really paying attention...but that is my opinion. The hotel arranged a tour guide for Angkor Wat and that turned out to be very beneficial...I would have missed many things if he wasn't there. You can get a little overwhelmed with the constant donating...but I asked myself...who really needs it more? The people of Cambodia are so peaceful and made it an enjoyable experience for me. I rode a bicycle around town during the day and at night. You can find so many hand made items at the Old Market and Night Market. I did hear from a man that he was pestered a lot to buy drugs and prostitutes...but I guess as a single female I was blessed not to be exposed to that. I felt safe being on my own, but always stayed aware.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovePranaYoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,167
    355
    51
    16
    7
See reviews for
598
1,859
263
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (984)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South England
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Fantastic staff, you will enjoy being there, do not look elsewhere. As other reviewers have said, its an utter gem. The staff are honest and helpful (I even got a refund of one night via agoda!). Their tuk-tuk & taxi service is as good as you will get (except the precise routes at Angkor Wat - see elsewhere) and as cheap as you will get. They don't seem to take a cut (amazing!). Following my usual assumption that hotels rip you off I hired in town, and paid more for less (a first).
Avoid room 20 - the noise from the adjacent backpacker TV room is bad (38 and 18 may get some too). No lift, but the top floor poolside are the best, with a view over part of the town (rooms 58 to 64). Food is OK, western oriented, not too expensive. Easy to eat better for less in town ($1 max tuk tuk or walk -10mins). But its the honesty, genuine concern and helpfulness of the staff that raises it to a different level. Didn't use the pool or massage but plenty of people did. Usual cambodian problem (even at airport) - hotmail doesn't work.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Welcome drink and free massage... need we say more?!

The Golden Temple exceeded all our expectations and then some, the service was perfect- The staff were informative and offered to organise all the touristy things to be done, if you feel like doing it! The hotel was close enough to the markets and pub street to walk there in a few minutes but just out of the way not to walk out into heavy tourist traffic in the morning. The place is as clean as it looks like on the website!

Definately the best place we stayed in whilst in Asia.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahandq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2011

From the moment we checked in and were invited to do it all from a comfy couch with welcome drinks in hand, we knew it'd be a great stay. Let's start with the services. Guests are treated to a complimentary massage as well and it was so good we signed up for the salt scrub treatment the next day. Then there's the cooking lesson that starts with a trip to the market, followed by three dishes of your choice--per person! Together we made 6 dishes and could only eat a fraction. Combined with the photos of us in matching orange chef hats and aprons next to our beautiful instructor, plus the free t-shirts we got at the end, the $10 price was a steal! All of the staff was so friendly and personable, too. Once, while lounging by the pool, someone from the restaurant offered us a free snack which turned out to be a full-fledged delicious meal. Which reminds me, the food, including the complimentary breakfast, is always delicious and so beautifully presented.

The first room we had was up several flights of stairs but it was a lovely room with a huge bed and charming mosquito netting. Due to our own booking error, we had to change rooms for the last night (and the hotel kept apologizing!) and ended up poolside. This was great, too, but not as private.

The only downside is that there was a lot of noise outside the hotel. There was a wedding party one night which seems to involve piping karaoke throughout the neighborhood and construction, as well, across the street. Nothing the hotel can do about it and these seemed like things that wouldn't happened every day. It's just when you have to wake up at o' dark thirty to see the temples at sunrise and you're hearing 'boom boom boom' as you try to fall asleep, well, you understand. This said, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondeinbeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2011

After 6 hotels in 4 countries around SE Asia, this was our favourite.

The setting is lovely - I wasn't sure what I would think about the bright colours, but it is very peaceful and virbrant at the same time. Nice touches, with buddha statues, fish ponds and so on. The pool area is divine to relax away from the madness of the temples and the staff make it better by plying you with iced tea and fresh fruit as you laze around the pool.

The rooms are beautifull decorted, spotlessly clean and roomy, all with private balconies. The only design fault is an odd shower which sprays across the room and over the toilet!

Lots of lovely small touches make it pleasant - lotus petals on the bed, free (excellent) massage, yummy food (they also do cooking courses there) etc.

We booked a tuk tuk round the temples through reception, who was great (ask for Mr Peyne!)

Regarding rooms, opt for a pool view room - the ones which don't face the pool are at the back of the building, directly facing onto another building, so even through they have private balconies, the balconies aren't really condusive to relaxing on. The poolside rooms on the ground floor are also directly next to the pool, so not that much privacy.

What I liked about this was that a local Khmer family are profiting from the explosion of tourists in Siem Reap, rather than a foreign company. As well as this hotel and the Golden Temple Villa (more of a backpackers, I think), they have a number of restaurants in town and a cooking school, amoung other things.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmainsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2011

We arrived here with 3 kids and it was a hit from the start. The staff were extremely welcoming and friendly and the place looked great - from the fish pond and open reception complete with reclining Buddha to the pool with fountain waterfall surrounded by lounges and day-beds to the artworks and brightly painted walls. The only negative was the noise from the street (we were in a street facing room as we needed a large one) but street noise is what you get in Asia!

The facilities include a massage room (complimentary 1 hour for all including kids), a restaurant with great Khmer food (we even found ourselves offered free tasters around the pool!) and free Wifi and PC's. We booked a Tuk Tuk driver and guide for the temples with reception and these were also very good - in fact our driver also became our babysitter when the kids got "templed out"!

All the kids are begging for us to return every year - one was crying when we had to leave after 4 days. Suffice to say this is one of the best places at which we've stayed.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyAndCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2011

The staff are always smiling, friendly and delightful. We enjoyed our cooking class, the complimentary massage and the warm welcome. The decor, ambiance of the hotel was very peaceful, I miss it and already planning to return. Thank your for the wonderful experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank booboot29073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#7 of 353 in Siem Reap
1,528 reviews
0.8 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#41 of 353 in Siem Reap
5,008 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Temple Retreat
Golden Temple Retreat
#4 of 353 in Siem Reap
213 reviews
0.7 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Shinta Mani Shack
Shinta Mani Shack
#10 of 353 in Siem Reap
2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Temple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Temple Hotel

Property: Golden Temple Hotel
Address: Makara Road, or Angkor High School Road, Siem Reap 17254, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 353 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Temple Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a luscious temple garden, Golden Temple Hotel is enchanting, peaceful, elegant and luxurious. The Golden Temple experience is about stylish relaxation, modern comfort, and the enjoyment a range of activities beyond the discovery of the incredible Temples of Angkor. The hotel has a full restaurant service, with both Khmer and Western cuisine, a comprehensive massage service offering diverse massage techniques, an outdoor hot steam area, and a large pool. Laid around the swimming pool are temple features. Shaded hammock alcoves and gazebos that add a touch of romance and privacy to the relaxed settings. At Golden Temple Hotel, visitors have all the comforts of modern amenities while enjoying traditional Khmer hospitality. All rooms and outdoor areas of the hotel have complimentary WiFi access and there is a complimentary internet bay with the latest software and communications. Travel to the hotel on arrival and later to any point in Siem Reap and the Temples of the Angkor Archaeological Park is by the hotel's own specailly vetted and trained tuk tuk, car and mini bus drivers. Golden Temple is conveniently located within walking distance of central Siem Reap and the Old Market (Psar Chas) shopping and restaurant areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Temple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing