We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay when visitng Angkor Wat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Siddharta Boutique Hotel
Ranked #57 of 345 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great place to stay when visitng Angkor Wat!”
Reviewed 8 October 2011

I stayed three nights here while visiting Angkor Wat and Siem Reap. I originally tried to get a room at the Pavillon d’Orient, but they were fully booked. They referred me to the Siddharta Boutique Hotel, and I am very glad they did. The hotel is very nice, clean, quiet, and relaxing. The staff is extremely nice, helpful, and speaks good English. The front desk greets you upon check-in with cool towels and tea, and provides maps, local info, and sightseeing/tour guide options. The entire property seems fairly new, well maintained, and well appointed.

Since I was traveling with a group of three, they had the room set up perfectly with one regular bed and one king-sized bed. The room was spacious, the mattresses were comfortable, and the A/C worked well. They have a good selection of cable channels in English and other languages, and the room has a nice flat-screen TV. There was construction going on next door that was audible during the day, but it wasn't too bad (it was quiet at all times while we were sleeping) and certainly isn't the fault of the hotel .

Outside each room is nice sitting area that overlooks the pool area, which is is nicely landscaped. The pool is salt-water and was the perfect temperature. There are plenty of chairs and towels, and the staff is happy to bring drinks out to you. The upstairs restaurant is nice and the food is good. Daily breakfast was included, offering cooked-to-order omelets or fried rice (plus other standard continental breakfast items). The spa services were adequate for my needs and seem reasonably priced.

The hotel is located on a side-street off the main road between Siem Reap and Angkor Wat. I thought the location was ideal, being central to both places but far enough off the main street to be quiet. Having our driver made getting to Pub Street or other locations in town a quick and easy process.

Our rate included pick-up and drop-off service, plus a daily tuk tuk driver. Our tuk tuk driver was Mr. Sothea Yan, and I highly recommend him. He is very nice, polite, speaks good English (he is self-taught), was always ready to pick us up, and was quick to offer bottles of water and cool towels. He was extremely flexible with our needs, and was always where he should be, when should be. I don't know if the hotel directly employs any drivers, but Sothea represents the hotel very well and they should use him frequently for their guests.

Upon checking out, the manager personally greeted us and asked about our stay. The hotel seems to take customer satisfaction very seriously, and I'm sure if anyone ever has any issues or suggestions they will be more the willing to address them. In short, a great place to stay at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flightlevel270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    768
    244
    20
    1
    2
See reviews for
277
443
69
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I stayed 3 nights on vacation at the honeymoon suite and the experience surpass my expectations. The location at a side street which made it the perfect location to come back to after a long day out but at the same time it was very fast and easy to get to the main sites - shopping, restaurants are only a few minute away. The building is surrounding an internal court with a swimming pool. Its an intimate feeling that helps you relax. The reception is welcoming and the staff so nice and ready to help. Professional, courteous and friendly service. Any request or any question was dealt with quickly. The room was large, decorated in good taste, clean and comfortable. The food was good and the spa wonderful. I highly recommend it if you're looking for an intimate smaller and unique place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orlyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarrahdale, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

I stayed here when i first arrived in siem reap on a 2 weeks trip, I booked the honeymoon suite as i wanted to spoil myself just a little.
I had the use of a tuktuk with driver for the length of my stay and also received a Khmer massage for free.
I had booked a guide for only 1 day while in Cambodia and he kept asking me if i wanted "honey" another word for sex and took me up to beng mealea then he took me to an expensive restaurant for lunch, at least it was expensive compared to everywhere else in siem reap, i noticed alot of hired guides would take there clients here and it felt to me like a major tourist trap, i had later on found out by some local trustworthy people that i was right it was a tourist trap and that they do it to get some form of commission and they get a free meal according to what you buy, it left a bad taste in my mouth, afterwards we went to another temple and went into town to buy a phone as it was $3 per minute to call back to australia from the hotel.
Brought the phone then went back to the hotel paid the guide and kinda felt a bit ripped off by it but you learn quickly.
There was no hot water in the room just cold i didn't complain about it or mention it to anyone because of the humidity in siem reap so it wasn't to much of a problem however paying extra money for the honeymoon suite i would have thought it would have come with it.
The pool was beautiful but only open certain hours i think until 8 pm at night which if you have been out all day that would be the ideal time for a swim after dinner.
The food i had almost every night while staying there and found it good but several dishes tasted same same.
I was asked by the desk how my stay was and my tour guide??? I didn't know what to say to them as i felt embarrassed by his behavior and also didn't want to see him get fired as he was already married and had 3 kids and given that i was going to be there for another week and a half in siem reap i didnt want any sort of nastiness directed towards me.

The positives where the pool the room the food and the staff in general it had a nice tropical feel to the place.

Room Tip: Beautiful Honeymoon suite just ask for hot water if you want it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank j_f_remedialmassage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vutha h, General Manager at Siddharta Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2011
Dear Client,

Thank for writing a review about your stay.

First of all, we are very sorry to hear that you have not fully enjoyed your stay with us.
All the problems you have mentioned in your review should have been easily fixed if you had reported to the reception during your stay.

Concerning the guide you booked through us, we are very surprised to hear your complaint.
The accusation of sexual harassment is very strong and we are deeply concerned about it. You say that you did not want to tell receptionist when he asked you about the guide but then you write it on a website read by thousand of travelers and all professional. We can tell you that this guide, as you mentioned, a father of 3, is very affected by those accusations as well as his wife.
We have been working with him since many years and it is the very first time that we hear complaint about his behavior and services. This guide always have very good reviews from tourists as well as excellent review on travel forums such as tripadvisor. We can assure you that he never has reputation of someone looking after women, specially when on duty.
We think that what happen with you could be based on a cultural misunderstanding.

We have been involved in tourism industry in Angkor since more than 10 years now and we always fight against commission system. First, contrary to what you said, you did not go to Beng Mealea with the guide but to Beanteay Srey. 100% of restaurant in Angkor complex as well as those in front of Beanteay Srey are feeding guides and driver for free. What you call a “trap” is a custom in Angkor complex and will happen with all guides and driver. As you may understand, restaurants as well as souvenir shops in main tourists attractions and remote area such as Angkor and Beanteay Srey are more expensive than other located in town. And you are right to say that restaurants in Beanteay srey are more expensive than those located in Siem Reap, 35 km from there.

Contrary to what you write, we take this opportunity to advise the tripadvisor travellers that calling oversea (include to Oz) from our hotel does not cost 3 USD a minute but 0.70 cents. To show you that your guide is not a “after commission runner”, he found you a second hand phone with a SIM card for 10 USD only which is very cheap even in Cambodia...
We as boutique hotel, always teach tuk-tuk drivers and professional tour guides to help their clients instead of trying to cheat them. So did your guide.
To close this matter, we will continue to work with this guide but as we took you complaint very seriously we decide not to let him go with a single female traveler anymore.

Concerning the hot water in the shower, depending on occupancy it is right that sometimes customer may have to wait for a while for hot water to come. The building is brand new and this problem is getting fixed right now. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Pool does not have any gate that we can closed it at 8.00. We never ask people not to swim during the night. We just ask them to do it without noise when comes the night in order not to disturb guests who need to rest. Once again, if you did talk to the reception about this matter they could have tell you.

Best regards,

Vutha HOUR/Mr.
Siddharta Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We enjoyed the small beautiful tropical garden and clean pool. Everybody was extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful. The room was very clean. Breakfast with fruit, eggs and fried rice. Breakfast can be taken at any time during the day which is great if you go to Angkor Wat for sunrise and come back later to enjoy the breakfast in the rooftop restaurant.
We enjoyed the Spa very much offering a choice of massages (ca. USD 24 for a 2 hrs massage).
The hotel is not within walking distance to the center of Siem Reap therefore it is extremely helpful to be able to avail of the tuk-tuk driver from sunrise to 10 pm. Our driver Pal was very friendly and we can highly recommend him.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor: with a small veranda and 2 long chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuneMUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damascus, Syria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

My stay in Siddharta Boutique Hotel was amazing from start to end. First and foremost the staff of the hotel is possibly the most incredible I have ever met on travels around the world - always smiling and great sense of humour, knowledgable on everything you could thing of asking and they give fantastic advice on how to spend your time in Siem Reap - accommodated just to your wishes for your holiday. They will give you great tips on everything from how to tackle the many beautiful temples according to your wishes and time, as well as to where to find the best shopping in Siem Reap. So forget about all the guide books, their advice is much more up-to-date and will guide you around to the many incredible designers and handicraft shops there are in Siem Reap - especially the great ones, which you do not find in the guidebook.

The rooms in Siddharta are spacious, beautiful and well-equipped with the extra touches of speakers for music, beautiful wall pictures and great bathrooms. The terraces of the ground floor deluxe rooms are a great place to spend the afternoon or evening relaxing on the daybeds or in the beautiful hanging chair after a long day walking in the amazing Angkor temples. Also the free tuc-tuc service, availble if you book certain rooms/days are a fantastic complimentary edition to the accommodation. I spent some great days with Mr. Phal finding temples and quirky boutiques.

I spendt a perfect five days at the Siddharta Boutique Hotel and I would highly recommend it to anyone travelling to Siem Reap :)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We just finished our stay in this lovely hotel. The staff were so nice and really friendly. The rooms are lovely and the hotel is in a good location, nice and quiet area. The breakfast is very good and once again served by staff always with a lovely smile on their faces. We ate in the restaurant one night of our stay as well and it was also good food, reasonably priced to the restaurants in town. Would recommend using the tuk tuk drivers the hotel can organise to use for the day, they are available from sunrise to sunset and are lovely people and at $15 for the day this is a excellent price. It was nice to come back to a friendly face awaiting us after visiting the temples, with a nice cold bottle of water. Ask for Phan You, he was a lovely driver. Overall this is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in travelling around the world, they even had a surprise birthday cake in our room for my partner on his birthday! It makes such a difference staying in a hotel where all the staff are so friendly and genuinely appreciate your stay. I would also recommend a day trip to Beng Malea, this temple is amazing.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tazzagazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We had a great time, the hotel is new, super clean, spacious rooms, very good complimentary breakfast in the terrace. The complimentary tuck-tuck is just fantastic to get from the hotel to the temples to restaurants, downtown, etc.
The hotel is in a very quiet neighborhood.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAURAELENA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
#60 of 345 in Siem Reap
642 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
#61 of 345 in Siem Reap
550 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#48 of 345 in Siem Reap
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Cyclo d’Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Chronicle Residence & Spa
Chronicle Residence & Spa
#42 of 345 in Siem Reap
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siddharta Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siddharta Boutique Hotel

Property: Siddharta Boutique Hotel
Address: Jean Commailles Road, Siem Reap 17253, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 345 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Siddharta Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Siddharta Boutique Hotel located in the midway between the center of Siem Reap and the Angkor temples, in a quiet and green area, the Siddhartha hotel is warmly welcoming you in an intimate and refined setting. This brand new charming structure, twenty-eight rooms only, while simplicity and elegance meet the colonial and secular Cambodian style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Siddharta Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing