We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awkward, exhausting location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Ranked #63 of 353 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Awkward, exhausting location”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

This small hotel is situated down an unmade road about 8 minutes from the Old City. I did know this prior to booking but discounted it because of the good reviews. In fact I found it tiresome & uncomfortable to travel several times a day in a tuk tuk, in the heat,dust & on a bumpy road. We were even picked up from the airport in a tuk tuk (sounds exotic but 25 minutes in the heat is not)

The reception area is open-aired, (no aircon and hot) in a lovely tropical garden setting. The staff are very polite & sweet and they offer a nice drink on arrival & fruit in your room for the first day. Their English is so so & they do not offer good suggestions about where to eat and how best to see the wonderful Angkor sites – we have had this type of information all through Vietnam and Laos.

In hind sight, all we can advise is, get a car, not tuk tuk.

Initially, our room air conditioner was faulty and after a few attempts, we were offered another room with a good air conditioner – a plus for the staff. The room itself is large but awkward – the bed is in the middle of the room with a bath to the side and a separate bathroom (shower/toilet) plus phone. Why they put a phone near the toilet in this small establishment that lacks so many other features is beyond me. They need a set of drawers or some block out curtains or comfortable chairs but not a bathroom phone. I note that they planned to replace the curtains but this has not happened. This would also save on air conditioning costs.

It’s a lovely and quiet location & the pool is also gorgeous after a hot day on the temples. The bar by the pool is an added bonus.

Breakfast is okay, but not in an air conditioned area. Again the staff were very nice there and offered a smile each morning.

I was not overly impressed with this hotel because it is too out of the way. Yes, we were given a mobile phone at night so they can come and collect you after dinner but they have limited staff to do this & you are left waiting each night for another 15mins or more in the heat of the night until they find you, which is not easy as they only really understood one location to pick us up which was the ‘Blue Pumpkin’ bakery.

This hotel appeals to the younger traveller or the less fussy & independent traveller. They do not provide the service backup that we would have liked. Sometimes their information was incorrect -i.e. they advised me that I needed to wear ‘neck-wrist- ankle’ clothes to the temples and this clearly was not the case. A T-shirt & long shorts/skirt (to the knee) was just fine.

My main beef is that communication is compromised and it lacked professionalism for the rate they charged – more a US$50 hotel than the $70 we were charged.

Tip for Siem Reap:-
I would strongly suggest that you not go in March as it is extremely hot & unpleasant and this makes it difficult to visit the stone temples which only add to the radiant heat factor.

Room Tip: Check the air conditioner
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OKAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boutique59, Manager at Bunwin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
We pleasure to see your review and read from top to bottom of the review posted, and we regret to learn that you felt uncomfortable with the accommodation.

We have concluded your review and gather the lacks of the hotel to improve including air conditioner, staff improvement in order to provide accurate information and the road. The curtain in each room has been changed. Therefore, the one you saw is new.

It is sometime very reluctant for us to provide mean of transportation from airport to hotel sine the requirement is differed from one to another. That is why we always contact our value customer if we have contact address such e-mail ...to inform the complimentary service pick-up, so mean of transportation can be requested (tuk-tuk or car) whilst communicating with our team.

We realize that guests are not familiar with Siem Reap hence we select Blue Pumpkin area as the appointed location to collect them back. To avoid waiting time, we recommend to call us 15mn in advance due to we need to take little time to drive from hotel and little more for traffic congestion.

The room rate is the most competitive as we have to spend for numerous benefits while accommodating with us. In addition, it is reasonable if we compare to other countries.

We sincerely appreciate for staying with us and taking your time to share your experience.

Bunwin Boutique Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    86
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
85
257
51
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

wonderful staff
good food
every thing clean
nice swimingpool
nice restaurant
everything you want you have because the staff do the best to take you everything.
i will came back to bunwin boutique hotel

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgeshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Our room was very clean, although the spread flowers in the bathtub and sink, altough a beatiful welcoming gesture, were a bit difficult to take away when using those...
Staff very discreet, very helpful. We were offered a local phone, and complimentary tuktuk to go down-town (only a 10-mn drive). 15 USD provided us with a very nice tuktuk driver, who would always welcome us back from a walk to the temples with fresh towels and water. A plus!
Food was delicious: for breakfast we were given choice between local, american and continental food; we had once dinner which was very nice and a good bargain. There's a local market on the main street, close from the hotel, where we had late lunches everyday for 2 USD, beers included.
Poolside was welcomingly quiet (after early mornings visits to the temple area). A little paradise!
Plan to stay at least 4 days in Seam-Reap, a wonderful place.
Overall, an equisite place to stay in !

Room Tip: No fitness center... but a good exercise to climb up and down the stairs up to the last level of tem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLF-Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Stayed at Bunwin hotel for a week in December for about $60 / night. It is during the dry seasons so the roads are incredibly dusty. They were nice enough to provide a free pick-up in an unmarked car from the airport.

The hotel is a boutique so it is somewhat small, in a good way, as there aren't many people at the pool or at breakfast compared to those enormous hotels that cater to the massive tour groups.

The room itself was comfortable, but dark even with all the lights on. There was only one window into the hotel which was shaded so did not let a lot of light in but the room was cleaned daily with towels changed.

The good of the hotel -
- Free breakfast is included, and the inhouse restaurant is open all day at a somewhat reasonable price.
- The pool provides a relaxing environment to chill out after a day at the temples - towels provided - waiters will come by promptly for any orders
- hotel never felt overcrowded
- breakfast included with made to order eggs.
- wifi was available, but pw would change every few days without notice

The not so good:
- The hotel is far from town.While its only about 15 minutes, this gets tiring really fast especially since there is nothing to do at the hotel. You will end up going back and forth every night on very very bumpy roads.
While they do provide a free tuktuk into town with a cellphone, the drivers grasp of english is a little rough which makes finding him a bit tough. The tuktuk drivers in town have some problems finding the hotel and will charge $3.
- Their daily drivers for temples cost higher than most other hotels / drivers - $15 / day
- Rooms and grounds tend to have a lot of mosquito's especially at breakfast and in the rooms

So why only average? The cleanliness attitude of the staff was great, but this is pretty typical in Cambodia, and can be found across many other properties. With the distance and lack of real spa or activities, there are properties closer to town to try.



http://www.travelrang.com

Room Tip: Choose a room towards the back that only faces the pool for sunlight (rooms 1-6)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelrang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boutique59, Manager at Bunwin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you indeed for taking your time to review your accommodation at Bunwin Boutique Hotel and we take note well such constructive comments so that we are able to learn and improve.

The hotel location is little away from town and of course it take five minutes drive, on another hand Siem Reap City is very small, if we compare to other big counties taking about 40 minutes from airport to hotel, to drive around. Bunwin Boutique Hotel is the boutique concept with tranquil location, escape from crowd so that guest can relax after the hard work.

We recommend our complimentary shuttle service to and from down town in order to avoid any extra payment, in addition our drivers are the hotel receptionists hence they speak courteous English and take guest, always.

The Tuk Tuk charge is little bit higher than the road side rate as the hotel has to guarantee service and oblige to pay for government tax.

To prevent from mosquito bite, the hotel adds more mosquito spray schedules from now on.

We thank you once again for choosing our hotel while traveling to Siem Reap, Cambodia and we do hope you would be back to us to see our improvement.

Team of Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Great hotel, lovely room and wonderful staff. We enjoyed our stay at the Bunwin Hotel and highly recommend staying here. The staff was fantastic and made sure that our visit was top notch.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dystone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at the end of our Indochina trip where we had mainly stayed at small hotels and the Bunwin is no disappintment. The staff are most helpful and courteous: nothing is too much trouble. The warm pool is mainly quiet and pretty empty, the rooms are very large, the food is excellent with delicate flavours, Yes, it is out of town, but it is peaceful and quiet and the staff will whisk you to town in minutes in a romok and pick you up and provide you with a mobile phone every time you leave the hotel. And that's how we went to the airport! Great.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pj42uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Hills
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This is an excellent little hotel. There aren't many rooms, so it is incredibly quiet. The staff are amazing, kind and very helpful. The breakfast is included and filled us up for many hours. They gave free transportation back and forth to and from the airport and downtown. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with this hotel (we stayed four nights) and would definitely go back if visiting Siem Reap again. Will recommend to all our traveling friends!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.3 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#48 of 353 in Siem Reap
857 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Moon Residence & Spa
The Moon Residence & Spa
#32 of 353 in Siem Reap
202 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence101
Residence101
#29 of 353 in Siem Reap
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Siddharta Boutique Hotel
Siddharta Boutique Hotel
#59 of 353 in Siem Reap
1,039 reviews
1.5 mi away
Treasure Oasis Hotel
Treasure Oasis Hotel
#33 of 353 in Siem Reap
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunwin Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunwin Boutique Hotel

Property: Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Address: National 06, Phum Banteay Chas | Samaki Market zone, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 353 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bunwin Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our architecturally designed boutique hotel is located in a quiet area, near the heart of Siem Reap and just a short drive to the International Airport and the alluring Temples of Angkor, Heritage Park. This exclusive retreat has only 2 suites and 8 deluxe, ultra modern poolside rooms, ensuring quality personal service and traditional Khmer hospitality. The rooms have been designed for stylish simplicity with all the latest technologies to allow a relaxing and rejuvenating stay. All rooms have polished concrete flooring, black and white interior tones with a delicate touch of Cambodian artwork. On your door step is our free form swimming pool and bar area, set in a lush tropical garden for you to enjoy a refreshing drink or maybe massage and other treatments. Our executive chef offers a wide selection of mouth-watering dishes through-out the day to ensure our guests complete comfort. Our dedicated team offers a full range of concierge services, complimentary air-port pick-up and transfer, downtown shuttle, free use of laptop with WIFI connection and local mobile phone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bunwin Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing