We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT STAFF, EXCELLENT ACCOMMODATION”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Ranked #60 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Napier, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“GREAT STAFF, EXCELLENT ACCOMMODATION”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights during our 3 weeks in Cambodia. All hotel staff we had dealings with were excellent. Our room was very spacious and spotlessly clean. It was a nice touch to get a bowl of fruit left in the room during the afternoon. The air conditioning worked well. The swimming pool was very pleasant to cool off in. We eat in both nights and couldn't fault our food. The second night we had the Khmer set menu, this was excellent and extremely reasonably priced. The hotel organised our transport and guide for the day when we visited the temples. This was really worthwhile, we had a super guide who seemed to be able to short cut the ticket queues! Thanks to all the Bunwin staff for making our stay so pleasurable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Busy_Girl_HB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    86
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
87
259
51
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

It was a really nice vacation in Siem Reap. The hotel is a boutique hotel that provide any kind of service and all the staff try to do the best to solve all the custumer's problem.
It's not really in the center, but the hotel provides free transportation to down town and back for the whole day, giving to their customers a mobile phone to contact the staff in any moment.
All the area of the hotel it's clean, including the room where the service is provided at any time.
Breakfast is based on three choice for every kind of taste and it's served on the second floor of the lobby

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrDago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We just adored this little gem! It's not in the center of the city, that's why we choose to stay here, only 5 min. away with the hotel tuk-tuk which is free. They dropp you off wherever you want and you call them with their mobile phone whenever you want to be picked up. We loved to stay here, it's was so calm & peacefull. Spacious rooms, nice swimming pool, very good breakfast, staff very friendly. Airport transfer is with tuk-tuk but we like this more than sitting in an air-conditioned car. It's what you like of course. We booked all our temple visits through the hotel in a tuk-tuk, very nice some wind in our hair in this hot season, and were very satisfied with the drivers. It's very hot to visit in March so we did the visits in the morning and afternoon, between 12 and 15h we relaxed at the swimmingpool. We cannot find any complaints about this hotel and can strongly recommand it!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ingridgoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Despite some recent reviews which gave only average scores to Bunwin, I found this little gem one of the overall highlights of my Asia trip. It is a little bit out of Siem Reap, but unless you like to stay right in places like the Boardwalk at Daytona Beach, staying a bit out of town is a plus.

Staff was the one of the most genuinely caring I found in Asia, which included a stay at the 5 star Conrad in Hong Kong. They overcame any occasional minor struggles in English with a caring helpful attitude. Overall, I never found communication a problem. Service was always top notch.

I thought my room compared with a boutique hotel that I'd stayed in Port Douglas, Australia with a similar small pool. My room was clean and stylish and fresh fruit was delivered the first day. Mosquitos were present sometimes but this is a tropical location. Mosquito repellant is highly recommended in this part of Cambodia.

I got back tired one night and ate at the hotel. It is a big plus that the restaurant is open all day and I had a great meal in their beautiful open-air dining room with great service. I had never had a bad or disappointing meal here. Servers always wanted to chat if I wanted, but would leave me alone if I wanted peace.

The short road in is a negative and unfortunately the Bunwin shares it with a Chinese truck company who doesn't do their share to maintain the road. I know this because I asked about it and the Bunwin has offered to pave the road if the truck company will share the cost, but they refuse. This is a small negative to get to this little oasis of a hotel.

You can stay in a noisy downtown hotel or one of the large tourist hotels spread around Siem Reap, but to this little oasis I would return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avlhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

This small hotel is situated down an unmade road about 8 minutes from the Old City. I did know this prior to booking but discounted it because of the good reviews. In fact I found it tiresome & uncomfortable to travel several times a day in a tuk tuk, in the heat,dust & on a bumpy road. We were even picked up from the airport in a tuk tuk (sounds exotic but 25 minutes in the heat is not)

The reception area is open-aired, (no aircon and hot) in a lovely tropical garden setting. The staff are very polite & sweet and they offer a nice drink on arrival & fruit in your room for the first day. Their English is so so & they do not offer good suggestions about where to eat and how best to see the wonderful Angkor sites – we have had this type of information all through Vietnam and Laos.

In hind sight, all we can advise is, get a car, not tuk tuk.

Initially, our room air conditioner was faulty and after a few attempts, we were offered another room with a good air conditioner – a plus for the staff. The room itself is large but awkward – the bed is in the middle of the room with a bath to the side and a separate bathroom (shower/toilet) plus phone. Why they put a phone near the toilet in this small establishment that lacks so many other features is beyond me. They need a set of drawers or some block out curtains or comfortable chairs but not a bathroom phone. I note that they planned to replace the curtains but this has not happened. This would also save on air conditioning costs.

It’s a lovely and quiet location & the pool is also gorgeous after a hot day on the temples. The bar by the pool is an added bonus.

Breakfast is okay, but not in an air conditioned area. Again the staff were very nice there and offered a smile each morning.

I was not overly impressed with this hotel because it is too out of the way. Yes, we were given a mobile phone at night so they can come and collect you after dinner but they have limited staff to do this & you are left waiting each night for another 15mins or more in the heat of the night until they find you, which is not easy as they only really understood one location to pick us up which was the ‘Blue Pumpkin’ bakery.

This hotel appeals to the younger traveller or the less fussy & independent traveller. They do not provide the service backup that we would have liked. Sometimes their information was incorrect -i.e. they advised me that I needed to wear ‘neck-wrist- ankle’ clothes to the temples and this clearly was not the case. A T-shirt & long shorts/skirt (to the knee) was just fine.

My main beef is that communication is compromised and it lacked professionalism for the rate they charged – more a US$50 hotel than the $70 we were charged.

Tip for Siem Reap:-
I would strongly suggest that you not go in March as it is extremely hot & unpleasant and this makes it difficult to visit the stone temples which only add to the radiant heat factor.

Room Tip: Check the air conditioner
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OKAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boutique59, Manager at Bunwin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
We pleasure to see your review and read from top to bottom of the review posted, and we regret to learn that you felt uncomfortable with the accommodation.

We have concluded your review and gather the lacks of the hotel to improve including air conditioner, staff improvement in order to provide accurate information and the road. The curtain in each room has been changed. Therefore, the one you saw is new.

It is sometime very reluctant for us to provide mean of transportation from airport to hotel sine the requirement is differed from one to another. That is why we always contact our value customer if we have contact address such e-mail ...to inform the complimentary service pick-up, so mean of transportation can be requested (tuk-tuk or car) whilst communicating with our team.

We realize that guests are not familiar with Siem Reap hence we select Blue Pumpkin area as the appointed location to collect them back. To avoid waiting time, we recommend to call us 15mn in advance due to we need to take little time to drive from hotel and little more for traffic congestion.

The room rate is the most competitive as we have to spend for numerous benefits while accommodating with us. In addition, it is reasonable if we compare to other countries.

We sincerely appreciate for staying with us and taking your time to share your experience.

Bunwin Boutique Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

wonderful staff
good food
every thing clean
nice swimingpool
nice restaurant
everything you want you have because the staff do the best to take you everything.
i will came back to bunwin boutique hotel

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgeshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Our room was very clean, although the spread flowers in the bathtub and sink, altough a beatiful welcoming gesture, were a bit difficult to take away when using those...
Staff very discreet, very helpful. We were offered a local phone, and complimentary tuktuk to go down-town (only a 10-mn drive). 15 USD provided us with a very nice tuktuk driver, who would always welcome us back from a walk to the temples with fresh towels and water. A plus!
Food was delicious: for breakfast we were given choice between local, american and continental food; we had once dinner which was very nice and a good bargain. There's a local market on the main street, close from the hotel, where we had late lunches everyday for 2 USD, beers included.
Poolside was welcomingly quiet (after early mornings visits to the temple area). A little paradise!
Plan to stay at least 4 days in Seam-Reap, a wonderful place.
Overall, an equisite place to stay in !

Room Tip: No fitness center... but a good exercise to climb up and down the stairs up to the last level of tem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLF-Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.3 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#49 of 356 in Siem Reap
858 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Moon Residence & Spa
The Moon Residence & Spa
#31 of 356 in Siem Reap
202 reviews
1.0 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Residence101
Residence101
#28 of 356 in Siem Reap
412 reviews
1.5 mi away
Treasure Oasis Hotel
Treasure Oasis Hotel
#33 of 356 in Siem Reap
201 reviews
1.6 mi away
Siddharta Boutique Hotel
Siddharta Boutique Hotel
#59 of 356 in Siem Reap
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunwin Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunwin Boutique Hotel

Property: Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Address: National 06, Phum Banteay Chas | Samaki Market zone, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bunwin Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our architecturally designed boutique hotel is located in a quiet area, near the heart of Siem Reap and just a short drive to the International Airport and the alluring Temples of Angkor, Heritage Park. This exclusive retreat has only 2 suites and 8 deluxe, ultra modern poolside rooms, ensuring quality personal service and traditional Khmer hospitality. The rooms have been designed for stylish simplicity with all the latest technologies to allow a relaxing and rejuvenating stay. All rooms have polished concrete flooring, black and white interior tones with a delicate touch of Cambodian artwork. On your door step is our free form swimming pool and bar area, set in a lush tropical garden for you to enjoy a refreshing drink or maybe massage and other treatments. Our executive chef offers a wide selection of mouth-watering dishes through-out the day to ensure our guests complete comfort. Our dedicated team offers a full range of concierge services, complimentary air-port pick-up and transfer, downtown shuttle, free use of laptop with WIFI connection and local mobile phone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bunwin Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing