We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hideaway in Siem Reap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Ranked #54 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect hideaway in Siem Reap”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Highly recommend Bunwin Boutique Hotel. It is hidden away down a backstreet, 10 minutes from town, making it a quiet hideaway. The hotel provides free tuktuks to and from town, and a mobile phone to call when you're ready to be picked up. Very convenient. The pool and gardens are very well kept, the staff very attentive. Breakfast is excellent, and served upstairs in a lovely breezy area. The only suggestion is that free water refills should be provided to guests. Bedside lamps, and instructions to open the safe, would also be good additions.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Millsietravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    86
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
92
260
51
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Just returned from a five night stay at Bunwin, and it was a great venue. From the airport pick-up to temple tours they arranged everything for us smoothly. Staff always willing to help and very friendly.

The room was spacious, well air-conditioned and really nicely appointed.

It's a little out of town, but with the hotel willing to drive us in and out for free that wasn't a problem, and meant we were way from the tourist strip.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpatRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed in this boutique hotel for 3 nights during our visit to Angkor. The hotel is located out of the city centre and some 150 m off the main road. The access street is unmade and rough but is tolerable for the short distance. It is small yet quiet (with only 10 rooms) hotel and very competent in terms of their services. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was modern spacious and clean. It is always great to come back to our air-conditioned room after a full day visiting the temples under conditions of extreme heat and humidity. There is a bath tub and wash basin in the bedroom and separate shower to cool you down. The pool is of a decent size and depth.
Upon our arrival, we ordered their Khmer set lunch for two. For only $16, we got a soup, salad starter, two main courses, fruit plate and two Angkor beers. It was delicious and great value for money.
The hotel also offers massage services and the hotel guests can have 35% discount. We tried the aromatic massage with the masseurs coming to our room. It was very good and certainly helped us relax.
We used the hotel's free tuk-tuk service to get around the city and transfer to/from the airport. The hotel staff also helped us arrange a tuk-tuk for our visits to Angkor. It was at a reasonable price ($15/day) and the driver was very friendly. We will definitely recommend that to other guests.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGeekz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights during our 3 weeks in Cambodia. All hotel staff we had dealings with were excellent. Our room was very spacious and spotlessly clean. It was a nice touch to get a bowl of fruit left in the room during the afternoon. The air conditioning worked well. The swimming pool was very pleasant to cool off in. We eat in both nights and couldn't fault our food. The second night we had the Khmer set menu, this was excellent and extremely reasonably priced. The hotel organised our transport and guide for the day when we visited the temples. This was really worthwhile, we had a super guide who seemed to be able to short cut the ticket queues! Thanks to all the Bunwin staff for making our stay so pleasurable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Busy_Girl_HB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

It was a really nice vacation in Siem Reap. The hotel is a boutique hotel that provide any kind of service and all the staff try to do the best to solve all the custumer's problem.
It's not really in the center, but the hotel provides free transportation to down town and back for the whole day, giving to their customers a mobile phone to contact the staff in any moment.
All the area of the hotel it's clean, including the room where the service is provided at any time.
Breakfast is based on three choice for every kind of taste and it's served on the second floor of the lobby

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrDago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We just adored this little gem! It's not in the center of the city, that's why we choose to stay here, only 5 min. away with the hotel tuk-tuk which is free. They dropp you off wherever you want and you call them with their mobile phone whenever you want to be picked up. We loved to stay here, it's was so calm & peacefull. Spacious rooms, nice swimming pool, very good breakfast, staff very friendly. Airport transfer is with tuk-tuk but we like this more than sitting in an air-conditioned car. It's what you like of course. We booked all our temple visits through the hotel in a tuk-tuk, very nice some wind in our hair in this hot season, and were very satisfied with the drivers. It's very hot to visit in March so we did the visits in the morning and afternoon, between 12 and 15h we relaxed at the swimmingpool. We cannot find any complaints about this hotel and can strongly recommand it!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ingridgoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Despite some recent reviews which gave only average scores to Bunwin, I found this little gem one of the overall highlights of my Asia trip. It is a little bit out of Siem Reap, but unless you like to stay right in places like the Boardwalk at Daytona Beach, staying a bit out of town is a plus.

Staff was the one of the most genuinely caring I found in Asia, which included a stay at the 5 star Conrad in Hong Kong. They overcame any occasional minor struggles in English with a caring helpful attitude. Overall, I never found communication a problem. Service was always top notch.

I thought my room compared with a boutique hotel that I'd stayed in Port Douglas, Australia with a similar small pool. My room was clean and stylish and fresh fruit was delivered the first day. Mosquitos were present sometimes but this is a tropical location. Mosquito repellant is highly recommended in this part of Cambodia.

I got back tired one night and ate at the hotel. It is a big plus that the restaurant is open all day and I had a great meal in their beautiful open-air dining room with great service. I had never had a bad or disappointing meal here. Servers always wanted to chat if I wanted, but would leave me alone if I wanted peace.

The short road in is a negative and unfortunately the Bunwin shares it with a Chinese truck company who doesn't do their share to maintain the road. I know this because I asked about it and the Bunwin has offered to pave the road if the truck company will share the cost, but they refuse. This is a small negative to get to this little oasis of a hotel.

You can stay in a noisy downtown hotel or one of the large tourist hotels spread around Siem Reap, but to this little oasis I would return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avlhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.3 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#47 of 356 in Siem Reap
866 reviews
1.6 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#41 of 356 in Siem Reap
484 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Moon Residence & Spa
The Moon Residence & Spa
#34 of 356 in Siem Reap
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Bunwin Residence
Bunwin Residence
#93 of 356 in Siem Reap
227 reviews
1.0 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Treasure Oasis Hotel
Treasure Oasis Hotel
#33 of 356 in Siem Reap
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunwin Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunwin Boutique Hotel

Property: Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Address: National 06, Phum Banteay Chas | Samaki Market zone, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bunwin Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our architecturally designed boutique hotel is located in a quiet area, near the heart of Siem Reap and just a short drive to the International Airport and the alluring Temples of Angkor, Heritage Park. This exclusive retreat has only 2 suites and 8 deluxe, ultra modern poolside rooms, ensuring quality personal service and traditional Khmer hospitality. The rooms have been designed for stylish simplicity with all the latest technologies to allow a relaxing and rejuvenating stay. All rooms have polished concrete flooring, black and white interior tones with a delicate touch of Cambodian artwork. On your door step is our free form swimming pool and bar area, set in a lush tropical garden for you to enjoy a refreshing drink or maybe massage and other treatments. Our executive chef offers a wide selection of mouth-watering dishes through-out the day to ensure our guests complete comfort. Our dedicated team offers a full range of concierge services, complimentary air-port pick-up and transfer, downtown shuttle, free use of laptop with WIFI connection and local mobile phone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bunwin Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing