We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You HAVE to stay here.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bunwin Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Ranked #33 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“You HAVE to stay here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

In our whole South East Asian travels, the Bunwin was hands-down the best place that we stayed. We always felt great coming back to the hotel at the end of the day, and were really sad to leave.

As others have said, it's situated at the end of a long, dusty road, but it's worth the bumpy ride. Hotel rooms are enormous, with a bath, shower and large TV. We did find hot water to be quite limited - not really an issue, unless to people want to shower one after another. Drinking water was replaced daily, and basic toiletries were provided. Because we stayed for four nights, we also received a complimentary khmer massage, which was fantastic.

The complimentary tuk-tuk is fantastic, and makes getting around the city simple and easy. Give the guys a buzz on the old nokia phone, and they'll be there in ten minuets to pick you up.

Breakfast was great, with a bread basket (including pastries), as well as a small selection of fruit and a choice from a long menu, which includes both western and asian options. We ate at the hotel on two nights, and found the food to be very tasty, though some dishes were quite spicy (which is fine, except we weren't warned at all!). The cocktail list is extensive, cheap, and can't be resisted at happy hour.

It's the staff that really make the place though - warm, genuine and friendly, they were always a pleasure to be around. We would be greeted by name on our return to the hotel, which was awesome, and they were always happy to share a laugh or two at the bar. Some of the best people we met on our entire travels worked at this hotel, and we would come back in a heartbeat. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. You HAVE to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    86
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
80
253
49
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

on the way to the Hotel we thought we are wrong...terrible road to go there. Once you arrived it is an oasis. The staff is wonderful helpful . Every ride to the city they have someone in a Tuck Tuck to take you. The food in the restaurant is simple but good.

Room Tip: You even receive a massage when you stay a few nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

...we decided to extend our stay for one more night. As a thank you the management set up a free 1-hour massage for us. That's what I call service!! (Well, the hotel wasn't fully booked either.)

Charming boutique hotel with hospitable staff, nice rooms and pool. Even though this little island is surrounded by rice paddies and has a (Cambodian) countryside charm, it still is right at the outskirts of Siem Reap.

Free tuk-tuk rides into town (10 min. max.) and proximity provided.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cosmo_Polite2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Bunwin Boutique is great hotel - great value, great hospitality. It's immaculate, plus, the special features make it an incredible value: Bunwin did our laundry for free and drove us everywhere/anywhere in Siem Reap by tuk tuk. The complimentary breakfast is outstanding - much needed fuel for a busy day at the temples.

Bunwin's BEST feature is its staff. From the front desk to the restaurant, everyone was so welcoming and the staff was literally willing to bend over backwards for us. We would recommend Bunwin to anyone.

I also recommend booking guides for the temples through the front desk.

Don't Confuse Bunwin Boutique with Bunwin Residences: we almost accidentally booked the Bunwin residences in Siem Reap rather than the Bunwin boutique hotel. Different location and different amenities.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

We loved having a quiet, restful place to retreat to after touring the Temples. We were here for three days and we appreciated the helpful staff and the tuk-tuk service to the center of town.

Our guide, Wen, gave us great information as he guided us through the various temples.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
244 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a strange back road, but once you get there it is very pleasant. They have tuk tuks to take you into town, which should work well, but we made the mistake of coming back from a different spot, and the driver had trouble finding us. We asked for more tea bags, but they did not turn up. However, the staff were very pleasant and helpful, and the breakfast croissants up to good French standard. We ate there one night, and what we had was good, but they had run out of ice cream.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chapyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon for three nights. Although we booked a standard room they upgraded us to a suite -number 01. The hotel is very charming - well decorated and very relaxing. The service was exemplary. Really friendy and everyone wanted to help make our stay better.

Kimmay at the front desk was wonderful. His English was good and he was so friendly.

The hotel gave a complementary tuk tuk service and gave you a cell phone to get around to call for a ride whenever you needed. This was so helpful to have and very savvy of the Bunwin to offer. The cell phone was very helpful too.

Leaksmy served us at breakfast and at our meals and her sweetness will stay with us. She was so thoughtful and wanting to please. E highlight of our interaction was when we said goodbye and age said (in the most sincere way) "it has been an honor to serve you. May all of your dreams come true. " now that's amazing service!

We were very grateful for the upgrade and the room was very reasonably priced but the room was much darker than the pictures look online. The cold,concrete floors were not inviting. The room was clean but very basic. The towels were low quality and not soft. The sheets were also low quality. The bed was very hard and the pillows were awful - secular barely sleep on them. I think it would be helpful if the hotel could upgrade to nicer sheets, down pillows, and nicer towels.

I'm glad I read the TA reviews which helped manage my expectations with the road which led to the hotel (which was terrible!) but I'm glad we were warned about it.

The hotel food was delicious -some of the best we had in Siem Reap.

Service wad amazing while the room was just OK. If you're looking for a low cost option then this is certainly a good option. I was expecting it to have nicer quality amenities myself but the service was exemplary.

We didn't have time to swim but the pool looked lovely.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Egg2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.3 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#36 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence101
Residence101
#23 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
1.0 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Moon Residence & Spa
The Moon Residence & Spa
#30 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.3 mi away
Popular Residence Hotel
Popular Residence Hotel
#34 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
1.4 mi away
Suorkear Boutique Hotel & Spa
Suorkear Boutique Hotel & Spa
#48 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunwin Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunwin Boutique Hotel

Property: Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Address: National 06, Phum Banteay Chas | Samaki Market zone, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bunwin Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our architecturally designed boutique hotel is located in a quiet area, near the heart of Siem Reap and just a short drive to the International Airport and the alluring Temples of Angkor, Heritage Park. This exclusive retreat has only 2 suites and 8 deluxe, ultra modern poolside rooms, ensuring quality personal service and traditional Khmer hospitality. The rooms have been designed for stylish simplicity with all the latest technologies to allow a relaxing and rejuvenating stay. All rooms have polished concrete flooring, black and white interior tones with a delicate touch of Cambodian artwork. On your door step is our free form swimming pool and bar area, set in a lush tropical garden for you to enjoy a refreshing drink or maybe massage and other treatments. Our executive chef offers a wide selection of mouth-watering dishes through-out the day to ensure our guests complete comfort. Our dedicated team offers a full range of concierge services, complimentary air-port pick-up and transfer, downtown shuttle, free use of laptop with WIFI connection and local mobile phone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bunwin Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing